We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Alcala
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Good sized kitchenette and a really cute loft bedroom for the kids up a pretty steep staircase. The room was more that adequate for our needs and the staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the free washing machine and dryer. Very handy after a day out sightseeing and packing up our uni student. Nothing was too much trouble for Gary and we appreciated the personal touch! It is on the main drag but we didn't notice any traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_and_Trev0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    45
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
27
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
265 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We found the location to be very handy and convenient to attractions and places to eat. While the room décor is a little dated, that to me is not important is the room is clean, the beds are comfortable, and the price is fair. On all these points, the Alcala comes through. Rooms are very spacious. The staff is friendly, and helpful. The hair dryer in our room did not work having a cut cord. Another one was brought to us promptly. One negative is the WiFi did not work well. Even moving outside on the second floor gave a poor connection well within sight of the front office, where I presume the router was.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I found myself without accommodation in Dunedin recently after a mix-up with bookings at another motel. It was pouring with rain and after walking George Street I came across the Alcala. I wanted somewhere that my uni daughters could also come to and sleep if they wanted time out from flats / halls of residence and that I could cook in. I planned to stay just one night at the Alcala and then move into something more 2013 but after the first night we were so cosy we cancelled the booking and stayed where we were for the full 3 nights. The unit was large and tidy and although dated it had everything we needed plus a very helpful front of office staff. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: I stayed in 21 which was on the top floor corner room . It was light and the only drawback was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16Alex57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takamatua, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a place I have returned to several times over the years. It is handy to town. Very 70s, a bit of a lost era architecturally - pseudo spanish come gothic. Now looking tired. For all that the proprietor is very friendly and went out his way to be of help when I turned up without the booking I thought I had. The room rate was very good value with free wifi for 100Mb. The smell of cooked fish lingered in the room from a previous occupant but I could hardly complain, given the muddle up and the help I received. I was allowed to leave my car there for the morning without cost which was very helpful.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are better and the back (east side) rooms quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Want to step back into the 70's then this is the place. In MAJOR need of an upgrade. Stayed in a family unit. Toilet had round window with blue glass. Toilet was also blue with the cistern and seat being badly scratched. Stairs to mezzenne floor ( 2 singles beds) were dangerous - very steep, carpeted with each narrow step being partially cut out to make them even narrower.. Very dangerous coming down especially if minimal light. Friendly reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRStables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have been staying at the Alcala one night at a time every few months on business trips for the past six years. I have no need to look for anywhere else in to stay in Dunedin. Gary and his staff are always very welcoming and this place is always spotless. Although a little dated (as all motels get as time goes by) the Alcala is comfortable except for the lounge chairs which could do with updating, there is a variety of units available, all of which are spacious. It is just 10 minutes walk to a variety of retaurants and bars so the location is very good. I have no hesitation in recommending the Alcala to other travellers, especially for those on a budget, very good value for money here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzkeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have discovered an excellent family motel unit in Dunedin - sleeps up to 7 people & very suitable for adults. it has a separate bedroom with queen bed plus an upstairs mezzanine area in 2 parts both with 2 single beds. This has proven very helpful with an adult family attending graduation ceremonies (probably not so suitable with younger children with the stairs?) There is a single bed in the lounge as the 7th bed. The kitchen is compact & the only slight negative is the smallish bathroom but that is manageable ...though the toilet is a separate room but only accessible via the bathroom. The unit is tucked right away from the road so nice & quiet. The staff are very helpful & friendly. We would warmly recommend -in fact we have booked it again for another graduation ceremony weekend!

Room Tip: Excellent family unit sleeping 7 is Room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#16 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Alcala

Property: Econo Lodge Alcala
Address: 704 George Street | Dunedin North, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn Alcala)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge Alcala 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Alcala we pride ourselves in offering our guests a welcoming stay and real value for money. Our classic Spanish architecture offers something a little unique in Dunedin, and we are well situated near the University, Otago Museum, Public Hospital and Botanical Gardens. There is a service station, 24hr convenience store, pharmacy and restaurant all within 1 minute's walk from the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing