We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay but, careful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A great stay but, careful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This is a fantastic hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay the care is required because we though in fact we were booking into the other Scenic Circle Hotel - the Southern Cross and didn't realise until we went to book in - a little red faced!
However we were not at all dissappointed, the staff were friendly and the quality of the facilities was terrific - thnak you for a great, one night stay.

Room Tip: Our room on the south side had a great harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Nicki K,

Thank you so much for positive feedback it is very much appreciated, and we look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Kind regards Greg Hewland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    319
    103
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
282
37
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

On the contrary to 70-80's style looking building, the interior and the room was comfortable and clean. The valet parking/guest parking was hefty (more than NZD$10), otherwise you are to park on the streets.
The location was fantastic, within easy reach of everything you need. The hotel charges for the wifi, but if you walk to the ocatagon, you get free wifi curtesy of the Dunedin council.
It was a great one night stay, particularly after a long drive.
Would go there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacaranda0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

we just finished a 4 night stay at this hotel and would recommend it.

cons:
no hotel parking spot at the front door but it wanst an issue. there is street parking spots at the front and if they are not vacant turn left (hotel is on the corner) and there is more street parking plus you can park in their underground garage driveway and ask someone at reception to move the car. valet parking is $12 per night

buffet price is $27pp which i though was a bit much, i rarely find anyone that eats almost $30 worth of food for breakfast so we used the menu (eggs benedict a fav) for an average of $16pp

limited dinner menu. the menu is limited but nice but overall, with loads of other restaurant choices one block over at the Octagon we used the hotel restaurant only when we were super tired after a long day


pros:
super convienent location, we didnt even use the car for 2.5 days as we walked everywhere. within walking distance is the octagon, cadbury world, chinese gardens, churches, railway station, speights brewery and lots of restaurants

restaurant on site. after a very long day of touring, coming back to the hotel for dinner was nice

the staff. from checkin to checkout, we found everyone very friendly and helpful, couldnt fault one person

the room. we had room 706, which going by its bathroom (no bathtub) is wheelchair friendly but the room is HUGE. i have friends with apartments smaller than this room. it does face the street and occasionaly during the night i would hear party goers from a nearby club but nothing too annoying, just a bit of noise and they moved on

overall a great hotel i would use again - many thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: room 706 is wheelchair friendly and HUGE
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denali68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Nice hotel in the middle of the downtown. Very close to the octagon. Wifi available but only for 30 mins, after that you have to pay for it.room was spacious and nice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DetectiveMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

The hotel has excellent location on Princess street which runs to the Octagon,city center.The room is spacious and clean.The reception is very helpful.They have valet parking which is very convenient.Wifi free for 30 minutes in the reception area only.I had breakfast which is fair,they are understaffed.I got a good price on book.com,I heard that other are paying double my price.The bed has soft spring,it not heavenly bed like Starwood hotels or other the same rating in U.S.The bathtub is difficult to get into if you are clumsy little old lady because the rim is high and there is nowhare to hold on!
I will stay here again if I receive a good price as a base to explore the city of Dunedin and surrounding peninsula.

Room Tip: Get a discount on line booking or you will be paying too much.The hotel in not 4 and a half stars as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSt_Louis_U_S_A_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

First impression are always important and unfortunately, the Scenic dunedin city didnt make a good one on us. We stayed for a weekend and on checkin were met by quite a rude...well, not quite rude but certainly unwelcoming and disinterested, front desk staff member. Our room wasnt ready, which is not a terrible thing itself, but he offered no apology and was very matter of fact about it...Bad first impression.

Location was good. Room service nothing special. Lobby was quite dated and seemed a little like an office building rather than a hotel. We found quite a few womens hairs in the room...bathroom and on the beds. Bit gross.

I think next time we will find a different hotel...maybe try the other scenic in dunedin.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thatfatguywhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed in this hotel during the World Cup. To be honest, booking with Expedia showed this to be the only hotel with vacancies, so no element of choice in the selection! The hotel was OK; certainly nothing fancy but functional, clean and spacious enough. We used it as a base - there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and it's a very short walk into the centre of town. The hotel doubled the price for our second night but, given that demand was even higher because it was the day of the game, that's probably fair enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philking64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing