We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So close to everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights, and found the hotel so close to everything.

Unfortunately the receptionist couldn’t check us when we arrived, and when we come back we discovered the delay meant we didn’t get a room with a bath (only a shower), other rooms with a bath were offered, but they rooms weren’t as large or had flat screen TV's.

The room was very nice, large clean and had a flat screen TV – not all the rooms have flat screen TVs.

Oh my goodness the beds are amazing…..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear debandmartin,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Apologies that you couldn't be checked in when you arrived - checkin time is 2.00pm so I am not sure/unable to ascertain from this feedback if you arrived before 2.00pm or not. Apologies also that you did not get a room with a bath - we have a mixture of rooms with shower only, or shower over bath - different guests want different options - but I am unsure from your comments if you had specifically booked a room with a bath - I see from your comments we did offer you a room with a bath, but as you say it did not have a large flatscreen - (all rooms will have by the end of June!!!). Unless you were staying in our trial room with the new big flatscreen, it sounds like you were in one of our new Executive Rooms on the top floor - thank you so much for your kind compliments on the cleanliness of the room and the room in general - and the bedding - yes the goose feather underlays and toppers are certainly attracting a huge amount of great comments.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    315
    103
    22
    14
See reviews for
116
279
37
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just checked in today, 21st April. Room basic but clean and a little dated, wanted a quiet room so we are around the back with a connecting door to the next room which we weren't told about.

On the 4th floor so not the best view. Believe the hotel is a converted office block which is obvious from the windows.

TV set is old and not a flat TV screen (however I have read these are being updated) and just a shower cubicle in the bathroom.

As for the Internet, day light robbery

$10.00 for 24 hours

Special Plans

Upto 4 Devices in same room $20.00 for 24 hours

Cheaper if you just want to use your smartphone or iPad which is $5.00 for 24 hours, not sure why a laptop is more than an iPad!

In relation to the new sleeping system of sleeping on a cloud, yes the bed is extremely soft but not sure if this will be ideal for sleeping, will up date tomorrow

Valet Parking is $11.00 for 24 hours

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennydog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Bennydog0,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Thank you also for acknowledging that you requested a quiet room - and that request was fulfilled. Apologies you were not told about your room having a connecting door - to be honest this is the first time this has ever been mentioned - we have quite a few sets of interconnecting doors - when I say set - I mean one door in one room, and another door in another room - so two fire-rated acoustic doors to deaden sound, with about 6 inches gap between them - impossible for a guest from either room to open door to other room as there are no door handles. Thank you also for acknowledging that you have read our TV's are being updated - yes we have completed the trial room now, and it looks fantastic with a a big 42 inch flatscreen recessed in a large panel, with an Epic Organiser aka Media Hub underneath so that laptops etc can be plugged in and played through the big screen. Materials will now take about a month to arrive and we are looking to complete all rooms by about the end of June. Apologies that you were not happpy with our new reduced internet pricing of $10 per day uncapped MB usage (it was $29.90 up till Dec 2011) - I see your name has Auckland on the end so it is unusual for someone from NZ to be upset with an internet charge of $10 per day - all hotels within the Scenic Hotel Group have this $10 per day charge (or only $5 per day for ipad or smartphone as you point out), which is far cheaper than many other hotel chains within NZ - usually it seems as though international travellers expect free internet as that is mostly the case oversees with thousands more internet providers than NZ (and millions/billions more people). Hopefully in the near future internet providers in NZ can reduce prices so that all hotels can offer free internet - we look forward to that day. I look forward to your update on how your sleep was with our new triple sheeting bedding system which includes goose-feather underlays and toppers - the feedback so far from guests has been outstanding. Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Room was large but in need of refurbishment.Service was good and most city sights were within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalfont55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Chalfont55,

Thank you for complimenting the size of the room you were in - we are very lucky with the size of our rooms - our standard rooms are large, and our superior rooms are huge - it is the most common good comment we get. Thank you also for acknowledging our inner city location is good for most city sights. In regards to your comment regarding our need for refurbishment, I have some good news in response - right at this very moment we are implementing the triple sheeting bedding system which includes goose feather underlay and toppers - this bedding system is the Scenic signature bedding system and is likened to sleeping on a cloud - it is truly luxurious - we have completed 3 floors and the remaining floors will be completed by the end of April as all the new stock arrives. As well as this we are installing new 42 inch flat screens and media hubs (or Epic Organisers) into all rooms (excluding the Executive rooms which all ready have them) - the new large TV's will be inset into a panel surround. This large project will be completed by the end of June 2012. As well as these two big projects, we are also installing new top of the line commercial corridor carpet which has been especially woven for us - this project is due to start mid April 2012, and finish mid May. Once again thank you for your kind comments.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Only stayed one night; but very comfortable twin room; great location; lots of free parking right outside after 6pm when we arrived. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank life_journey2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear jana_sydney_nsw,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding plenty of free street parking available after 6pm daily, and also of our comfortable room. Thanks again and we look forward to the possibility of hosting you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were touring NZ 18 days and could not find any other hotel of so low standard like this! We were booked 1st Class package from the travel agency. This hotel should be 4.5 stars. In Europe the hotels like this are mostly 2 stars. We stayed only one night, lucky! Our superior room (Superior Run of House Room) located 1st floor, a temperature of room in the afternoon was +35 C, staff in the reception advised to open window looking the busy street. There is no A/C in the rooms! Besides the traffic noise from street, elevator was rattling almost all the night. TV-set was small and old, could not watch from bed. Only positive point was a location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 125Seppo125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear 125Seppo125,

Thank you very much for your feedback. In regards to no air-conditioning in your room, that is indeed the case for all Dunedin Hotels - no Dunedin Hotels have air-conditioning except for our brand new Executive rooms on the top floor - we did experience some unseasonably hot days in February that were well above average temperature for this time of the year. Our housekeeping team draw curtains on the sunny side of the hotel during the day to minimise the suns radiant heat, but during these very hot days it is hard to block out all of the heat - so we do apologise again for that. In regards to the old TV sets, I am happy to advise that we have new 42 inch LCD TV's ready for installation and that will be happening soon. As well as this we are right at this moment installing the new triple-sheeting bedding system with the goose-feather underlay and topper.

Kind regards Greg Hewland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veracruz,Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Good location, the rooms and appearance little old, the service was perfect.
The managers were very helpful .
Hospitality excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Gerardo A,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your kind comments about our service and our Managers. In relation to the appearance of the rooms being a little old, I am happy to advise that we will shortly be installing brand new 42 inch TV's, and also a complete new triple-sheeting bedding system which includes goose-feather underlays and toppers - they are likened to "sleeping on a cloud". Thank you once again and we hope to be able to host you again in the future.

Kind regards

Greg Hewland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I hate writing bad reviews, but felt I had to with this one... Terribly dissapointed with this hotel. Incredibly difficult to find hotel, especially when half of town if cornered off for parade. No parking (unless you count valet at extra cost!) not even to unload bags. Uncaring staff at reception in regards to parking and off-loading baggage. I have two small children, and an awful lot of baggage between my family of four. We were offered no assistance to remove bags from car or to take to room. The valet was rude and impatient. Could not wait to get out of there the next day. Definitely put a downer on the trip. Possibly better suited to business type and child-free guests :(

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank got_the_travel_bug82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear got_the_travel_bug82,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very sorry that half the town was blocked off and this made it difficult for you to locate us on the main street - this situation is out of our control. And again apologies that our valet carparking service did not live up to your expectations - we often get very good comments about our valet carparking service and reasonable cost of $11.50 per day in an inner city location, but it appears that we have let you down in regards to the service on this occasion. There is a 5 minute drop-off zone at the south end of the hotel directly around the corner on Dowling Street for unloading baggage - although if you did not drive to that end of the hotel I can understand that you might not see that - so apologies that was not immediately visible to you.

Kind regards Greg Hewland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#13 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing