We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Motel on York(Dunedin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Dunedin(Dunedin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
308
358
117
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
358
117
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingvalet serviceprinces streetroom was largefree wifiroom servicehotel restaurantdunedin citygood sizecomfortable bedscentral locationwithin walking distancereception staffmini barno air conditioningbars and restaurantsguest laundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights, and found the hotel so close to everything.

Unfortunately the receptionist couldn’t check us when we arrived, and when we come back we discovered the delay meant we didn’t get a room with a bath (only a shower), other rooms with a bath were offered, but they rooms weren’t as large or had flat screen TV's.

The room was very nice, large clean and had a flat screen TV – not all the rooms have flat screen TVs.

Oh my goodness the beds are amazing…..

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debandmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear debandmartin,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Apologies that you couldn't be checked in when you arrived - checkin time is 2.00pm so I am not sure/unable to ascertain from this feedback if you arrived before 2.00pm or not. Apologies also that you did not get a room with a bath - we have a mixture of rooms with shower only, or shower over bath - different guests want different options - but I am unsure from your comments if you had specifically booked a room with a bath - I see from your comments we did offer you a room with a bath, but as you say it did not have a large flatscreen - (all rooms will have by the end of June!!!). Unless you were staying in our trial room with the new big flatscreen, it sounds like you were in one of our new Executive Rooms on the top floor - thank you so much for your kind compliments on the cleanliness of the room and the room in general - and the bedding - yes the goose feather underlays and toppers are certainly attracting a huge amount of great comments.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just checked in today, 21st April. Room basic but clean and a little dated, wanted a quiet room so we are around the back with a connecting door to the next room which we weren't told about.

On the 4th floor so not the best view. Believe the hotel is a converted office block which is obvious from the windows.

TV set is old and not a flat TV screen (however I have read these are being updated) and just a shower cubicle in the bathroom.

As for the Internet, day light robbery

$10.00 for 24 hours

Special Plans

Upto 4 Devices in same room $20.00 for 24 hours

Cheaper if you just want to use your smartphone or iPad which is $5.00 for 24 hours, not sure why a laptop is more than an iPad!

In relation to the new sleeping system of sleeping on a cloud, yes the bed is extremely soft but not sure if this will be ideal for sleeping, will up date tomorrow

Valet Parking is $11.00 for 24 hours

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bennydog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Bennydog0,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Thank you also for acknowledging that you requested a quiet room - and that request was fulfilled. Apologies you were not told about your room having a connecting door - to be honest this is the first time this has ever been mentioned - we have quite a few sets of interconnecting doors - when I say set - I mean one door in one room, and another door in another room - so two fire-rated acoustic doors to deaden sound, with about 6 inches gap between them - impossible for a guest from either room to open door to other room as there are no door handles. Thank you also for acknowledging that you have read our TV's are being updated - yes we have completed the trial room now, and it looks fantastic with a a big 42 inch flatscreen recessed in a large panel, with an Epic Organiser aka Media Hub underneath so that laptops etc can be plugged in and played through the big screen. Materials will now take about a month to arrive and we are looking to complete all rooms by about the end of June. Apologies that you were not happpy with our new reduced internet pricing of $10 per day uncapped MB usage (it was $29.90 up till Dec 2011) - I see your name has Auckland on the end so it is unusual for someone from NZ to be upset with an internet charge of $10 per day - all hotels within the Scenic Hotel Group have this $10 per day charge (or only $5 per day for ipad or smartphone as you point out), which is far cheaper than many other hotel chains within NZ - usually it seems as though international travellers expect free internet as that is mostly the case oversees with thousands more internet providers than NZ (and millions/billions more people). Hopefully in the near future internet providers in NZ can reduce prices so that all hotels can offer free internet - we look forward to that day. I look forward to your update on how your sleep was with our new triple sheeting bedding system which includes goose-feather underlays and toppers - the feedback so far from guests has been outstanding. Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Room was large but in need of refurbishment.Service was good and most city sights were within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chalfont55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Chalfont55,

Thank you for complimenting the size of the room you were in - we are very lucky with the size of our rooms - our standard rooms are large, and our superior rooms are huge - it is the most common good comment we get. Thank you also for acknowledging our inner city location is good for most city sights. In regards to your comment regarding our need for refurbishment, I have some good news in response - right at this very moment we are implementing the triple sheeting bedding system which includes goose feather underlay and toppers - this bedding system is the Scenic signature bedding system and is likened to sleeping on a cloud - it is truly luxurious - we have completed 3 floors and the remaining floors will be completed by the end of April as all the new stock arrives. As well as this we are installing new 42 inch flat screens and media hubs (or Epic Organisers) into all rooms (excluding the Executive rooms which all ready have them) - the new large TV's will be inset into a panel surround. This large project will be completed by the end of June 2012. As well as these two big projects, we are also installing new top of the line commercial corridor carpet which has been especially woven for us - this project is due to start mid April 2012, and finish mid May. Once again thank you for your kind comments.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Only stayed one night; but very comfortable twin room; great location; lots of free parking right outside after 6pm when we arrived. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank life_journey2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2012

Dear jana_sydney_nsw,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding plenty of free street parking available after 6pm daily, and also of our comfortable room. Thanks again and we look forward to the possibility of hosting you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We were touring NZ 18 days and could not find any other hotel of so low standard like this! We were booked 1st Class package from the travel agency. This hotel should be 4.5 stars. In Europe the hotels like this are mostly 2 stars. We stayed only one night, lucky! Our superior room (Superior Run of House Room) located 1st floor, a temperature of room in the afternoon was +35 C, staff in the reception advised to open window looking the busy street. There is no A/C in the rooms! Besides the traffic noise from street, elevator was rattling almost all the night. TV-set was small and old, could not watch from bed. Only positive point was a location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 125Seppo125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear 125Seppo125,

Thank you very much for your feedback. In regards to no air-conditioning in your room, that is indeed the case for all Dunedin Hotels - no Dunedin Hotels have air-conditioning except for our brand new Executive rooms on the top floor - we did experience some unseasonably hot days in February that were well above average temperature for this time of the year. Our housekeeping team draw curtains on the sunny side of the hotel during the day to minimise the suns radiant heat, but during these very hot days it is hard to block out all of the heat - so we do apologise again for that. In regards to the old TV sets, I am happy to advise that we have new 42 inch LCD TV's ready for installation and that will be happening soon. As well as this we are right at this moment installing the new triple-sheeting bedding system with the goose-feather underlay and topper.

Kind regards Greg Hewland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews