We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, exceptional staff”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel whilst attending a conference held at the Art Gallery in Dunedin.
Great central location - lots of fabulous restaurants near by. We arrived late on a Tuesday night - around 9.35pm. When asked, the receptionist invited us to have dinner in the hotel restaurant -warning us that the kitchen closed at 10pm. As it was bitterly cold we didn't feel much like going out for food so we dropped our bags in our room and headed back downstairs. We were the ONLY people in the restaurant and the staff were already setting tables for breakfast. They, however, gave us the warmest of welcomes, assured us that even though it was by now 9.45pm, that we could have anything we wanted from the menu. The food was great, but the very helpful and friendly staff really made our night.
The restaurant staff were equally delightful every morning at breakfast.
Our room was large, with two queen beds and plenty of space. Our only quibble was that the room heating was off when we arrived, and took quite a while to warm the space.
The hotel is only 2 blocks from The Octagon, so really is very central to everything. The room was quiet and the amenities nice.
The hotel has wi-fi which by NZ standards was not too expensive and was quite fast with good connections. There was an option which allowed you to connect up to four devices which was very handy.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca3189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Becca3189,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us in June. I note that you are a senior reviewer and so for you to post a review after a four night stay with us is wonderful. Thank you for all the complimentatry comments regarding our staff politeness and friendliness - we do work very hard to create and employ a friendly team of staff, which naturally flows on to the guests. Thank you also for noting the size of our rooms - in fact it is a comment we receive frequently - so basically our standard rooms are big, and our superior rooms are huge. And thanks also for noting that the entire hotel is wifi, has an option for up to four devices, and is very reasonably priced. We look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    332
    107
    22
    14
See reviews for
125
295
39
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
oamaru
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed one night this weekend on the 6th floor and could honestly not be more thrilled. We had booked three rooms which were all IMMACULATE and lovely and warm when we arrived. Staff were polite and pleasant to deal with and everyone I was with mentioned how great the beds were. Very large unit with two Queen sized beds, flat screen T.V, desk and table perfect for people travelling for work- add to that the fact that your central to town and you can't lose! Would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alioopsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear alioopsey,

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. I note that you are a senior reviewer, and to make note of the three rooms your group occupied all being immaculate, coupled with comments regarding our polite and pleasant staff and central location, we are indeed thankful and look forwrad to hosting you again sometime.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a great modern hotel with affordable wireless internet and a central location. The room was spacious (2 queens), quiet and having room service was fantastic. I am staying here again next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank taitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear taitravel,

Thank you very much for your review noting that that we are a modern hotel in a central location, with affordable wireless ($10 per 24 hours uncapped MB), and that we have spacious rooms backed up by fantastic service - I note that you are a senior reviewer so really appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Thank you again and hopefully we can host you in the near future.

Kind regards.

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The location was great. Being just down the road from the octagon was very handy and it was close to alot of great eateries and the Dunedin casino. There is a resturant next door called th Black Dog Cafe which is a must to have a meal at. Overall very happy with my stay at the Scenic Hotel Dunedin

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Archie1999,

Thank you very much for high rating and acknowledging our great location just down from the Octagon which is in the centre of town - it certainly is an advantage for the hotel to be so close to shops, entertainment and as you put it "great eateries". Once again thank you for your positive response and hopefully we can host you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

For the price of the room ($185 per night), firstly the TV remote had to be replaced because there was no sound, secondly one light over the bed did not work, the heater didn't work, the paper that was pre-arranged to be delivered wasn't!! and we were not told prior to checkout that parking at the establishment was an extra $11.50. When we complained, the $11.50 was wavered but we would not stay again.

Room Tip: Choose one that doesn't have a block wall outlook!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JF0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear JFOs,

Thank you for much for your feedback. We do sincerely apologise that the TV remote for sound didn't work and note that we replaced it quickly. We do also apologise for a light bulb being blown. We have checked the heater and all seems OK - it is controlled by a separate thermostaat on the wall so am not sure if you were aware of that or not? You should definately have had a paper delivered if you had ticked that box on our registration card, and once again apologies that did not happen - that is definately not the norm. We do advertise wherever possible on websites etc about our $11.50 parking charge as we lease carparks to be able to offer carparks for our guests, and it is standard procedure to let everyone also know this upon check-in - so once again apologies that you were not informed of this. It is really not normal for guests to experience so many problems like this - so again sincere apologies.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Have stayed here on a number of business trips and have found the location close to everything i.e. restaurants, our offices, CBD. The rooms are well designed and most importantly quiet

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianMcGinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear BrianMcGinn,

Thank you very much for great feedback. As you are a regular guest with us it is great to hear your positive comments regarding the advantages of our central location, well designed and quiet rooms. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again soon - hopefully our new large flatscreen TV's will be installed by then.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Good location, within walking distance to most things in the City. Service was friendly and professional, and the rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Ren P, Thank you very much for your positive feedback on the cleanliness of our rooms, the large size of our rooms, our staff being friendly and professional, and our great location. We consider these points of great importance and regularly get good associated feedback. Thank you again and hopefully we can host you in the future again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing