We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed at the Scenic Hotel in Dunedin for two nights while at a conference. The welcome we received from the front desk staff was possibly the friendliest I've experienced. Very helpful, consistently.

Our room was fine. We were pretty much just sleeping in it. There is no air conditioning. A control panel on the wall seemed to be ineffective. Other than that, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The toiletries in the bathroom were plentiful and the tea/coffee selection was above what I'd have expected for a room of this type. Even a little plunger for a coffee bag. On a main road there is a bit of noise at night. I'd recommend keeping the window closed or using ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

Location is very convenient and if you're a NZ Les Mills member the Dunedin gym is within 50 metres of the hotel. There is a fitness room in the hotel, but it isn't very well equipped. Parking isn't free and is valet only. I didn't have breakfast as there is a little fridge in the room and a convenience store across the road, I got cereal and snacks and the hotel staff gladly provided me a bowl and spoon for a self-catered breakfast.

One thing to note is that the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross is very close by so don't get confused, especially when coming in late at night.

Room Tip: You may want a room on the side of the hotel away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wazmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Wazmar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you thought our staff were wonderful, and that you received possibly the most friendly welcome at the Front Desk ever during all your travels - the staff will be very happy to hear that! Thanks also for commenting on our plentiful and nice in-room toiletries and tea/coffee selections - these are a Scenic Hotels Brand standard and we are very proud of them. We trust you had safe travels back home and look forward to hosting you again some time.

Kind regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    315
    103
    22
    14
See reviews for
116
279
37
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

I would definitely stay at this hotel again, well worth the money. The hotel is in the heart of Dunedin, this is great as there's so much to see in this cute city. There is an i-Site office across the street and a hop on/off bus starts from there. The hotel itself is great, staff were lovely, rooms were soooooo comfy and clean and the restaurant food is good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catchews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Catchews,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your complimentary comments regarding our great location, lovely staff, clean and comfy rooms and good restaurant food. Once again thank you and we hope to host you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden
Level Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is an excellent hotel in an excellent location a couple of blocks from The Octagon. It has no a/c but fans are available. Windows open. Excellent cheap Indian restaurant on the opposite side on Princes Street. Princes Street is a busy road and you will get traffic noise and emergency vehicle noise. There is also a night club across the road turning out punters until 04.00. We stayed Saturday night. My solution to these problems is to take a good slug of rum before retiring to bed!! I slept through it all. We were on floor 4 but other members of our group were on floor 6 and as well as the aforementioned noise had a visiting rugby team running up and down the corridor banging on doors. As long as you are prepared for noise the hotel will not disappoint you!! Rooms not fronting Princes Street are probably quieter.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear jimbells,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted that you rated us highly at 5/5, and especially for saying that we are an excellent hotel in an excellent location - again thank you. We are very sorry that you experienced some noise problems from outside during the weekend, and also from other guests banging on doors - that is not the usual at our property. We do have double-glazing on the Princes Street side on levels 1-5, and our new Executive floor on level 8, but not on floors 6 and 7 as it was deemed at time of building hotel that these higher floors would not experience as much outside noise as the lower floors. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to hopefully hosting you again sometime.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights.

On our arrival the receptionist seemed irritated by being interrupted from what she was doing by the arrival of actual guests and failed to display even a hint of a smile or a welcome. Later I witnessed the same receptionist talking on the phone to a guest who was apparently having difficulty accessing the Internet. She sounded very irritated and rolled her eyes towards all those present.
The following day I did speak to a different receptionist who managed to be both helpful and to raise a pleasant smile. This was offset however, by a young man of whom we asked for directions and who rather crossly and dismissively directed us to a colleague.

The room was clean and spacious. The decor was bland/tired with fittings made of tacky chipboard covered with silver/grey veneer, reminiscent of the 1980's. the super king bed was comfortable but marred by the presence of a horrible plastic mattress cover which detracts immensely.

The only meals we ate in the dining room were breakfast. The staff were rather unsmiling and had difficulty explaining the breakfast options but keen to get a signature for payment. They needed prompting to replenish milk and some cereal which had run out.

The location of the hotel was excellent, being central and close to restaurants and shops. If ever we return to Dunedin we will probably try another hotel. This hotel does have some good points but I think the staff have training needs.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear John C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us, and thank you for praising our location. I am very alarmed at your description of your experience with staff - especially the receptionist, as we get so many great comments about our friendly and helpful staff. Anyway I would be very apreciative if you could please e-mail the date you checked in so that I may check who was working these shifts and follow up on this - please send e-mail to dunedin.city@scenichotels.co.nz

Thank you also for noting your room was clean and spacious, although your comment about the bland decor with fittings made of tacky chipboard covered with silver/grey veneer has me completely bewildered - all of our fittings are high-grade commercial products, and to my knowledge we have never had any previous comments like this? - and to add to that we get many great comments about our fittings. Thank you also for noting our bed was nice and comfortable but marred by the presence of a plastic undersheet - this is standard hotel procedure for the luxurious goose-feather underlays we have and is a hygiene matter. tahnsk again and hopefully we can host you again some time and yoru experirnce will be a better one.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

we really enjoyed this hotel excellent postion in town
great views on 8th floor
fantastic pillows and comfortable bed
service excellent
clean rooms
we were alos offered a free drink on arrival and liked this
the parking was a bit of a nuisance as someone has to take your car downstairs it appeared to have been overnight outside also

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 704james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear 704james,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for all of your wonderful comments concerning our bedding, clean rooms and excellent service. We are sorry that you found our valet carparking a bit of a nuisance at times - being an inner city hotel we do have a system that enables us to offer this service. Thanks again and we hope to be able to host you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Scenic Hotel lived up to it's name. We were fortunate to have a view overlooking the harbour however, the windows were in a serious need of washing (outside). The bed was comfortable, mini fridge, tea coffee all supplied. Don't be roped into paying for Valet Parking. Parking on the street is free from 6pm to 9 am! Otherwise they charge you $12 for the evening. Internet you need to pay for - now with what they charge for your room, and most hotels around New Zealand there is free wi-fi! Not great that they nickel and dime you (parking, internet, breakfast) Other than that pleasant enough stay. Eat at The Black Dog - good food and right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babsMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Dear babsMississauga,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. We are delighted that overall you rated us highly. We are sorry that our $12 a day valet carparking service was unsatisfactory to you. Many guests choose to use this hassle-free service and also to provide peace of mind for security for their vehicle in our inner-city location. We lease carparking areas in order to be able to provide this service, hence the reason for charging. Our wifi charge of $10 per 24 hours uncapped data is well received by most guests (or $5 for a Smartphone), we are sorry this did not meet your expectations. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

great hotel to stay in, super close to town and all the staff very friendly. room was super clean. breakfast was a real let down..would not recommend the buffet cooked option, lucky they had other options which where great..iit always seems to make me wonder why most cooked buffet breakfasts are so"....different...but great time thanks very much

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear OOsg,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Our housekeeping team will be proud to read that you found the room super clean and the hotel in general very clean, and all staff will be happy to read that you found all staff very friendly. Thanks also for noting our great location. We are sorry that you did not find our buffet breakfast to your satisfaction, however we were pleased that you found our a la carte breakfast a good choice and were happy with those meals. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again in the future sometime.

Kind regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#14 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing