We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Dunedin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Dunedin”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed at the Scenic for 2 nights. Greal location, walking distance to the Octagon where all the restuarants and cafe's are. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The front staff were also for friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtriantafil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear gtriantafil,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were all delighted to read your fantastic comments regarding our great location, very clean rooms, very comfortable bed, and that staff were friendly and helpful - all comments very much appreciated and we hope to host you again sometime. Thanks again and kind regards.

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    331
    106
    22
    14
See reviews for
124
292
38
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here in June for a conference, for 3 nights.
Overall a comfortable, clean, friendly, well priced hotel. Unfortunately I had a room immediately next to the elevators. The hotel was fully booked - so didn't bother to ask about moving. Luckily wasn't SUPER noisy (other guests were pretty quiet) but lifts moving woke me up pretty much every morning starting about 6am.
Very comfy bed. Wifi is $10 for 24 hours or something like that, but was pretty fast. Had buffet breakfast at the hotel 2 mornings. Nice but very expensive (~$25). 3rd morning met a friend just across the street at the Excelsior Cafe (opens at 7am) for a very nice coffee and bowl of porridge for $11 total.
Bathroom was nice - but shower only (no bath).
Staff friendly and helpful - even with all the conference delegates lining up.
Location was good - 2 blocks to the Octagon or so where there are plenty of restaurants.
Heating in room was variable - had it cranked up to 35+ degrees and panel heater shut itself off. So I shut it off and left a note for the cleaning staff. Seemed to be working better on the 2nd day (you will need heat in Winter in Dunedin).There was one extra blanket in the closet which I put on my bed & seemed to be warm enough.
Valet parking was fast, convenient and (I think) very reasonable - $8 or $9 per night. Sweet!
Hotel gym was pretty good. Not massive - but had a good treadmill, erg, bike, stepper, weights and TV. Plenty of towels and water - but get there early if you want the treadmill.
Would happily stay here again - but not in a room right next to the lifts.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not right next to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi&yank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear kiwi&yank,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We were sorry that you experienced some noise by the lifts but were heartened to hear that it was not unbearably bad. Thanks for your complimentary comments regarding our very comfortable beds, good location, good gym and that staff were friendly and helpful. We hope to host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The executive room was excellently appointed. The king-sized bed was so comfortable with a lovely warm feather duvet - well appreciated on a cold winter's night.
The staff were obliging and the warm welcome at an early breakfast was very pleasant - well done Dana.
The restaurant was very attractive and the food was well presented and good value for money.
Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The corner suite on the 7th floor offered fantastic views and sunny aspect. Check out for specials...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Tom C,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found your room excellently appointed, our staff obliging, and that you found our restaurant attractive with good food on offer. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Kind regards.

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gandia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a contemporary hotel in the heart of Dunedin. Very well situated near to the Octagon and many shops. It is rated four star by the local hotel association. The rooms are large, as are the bathrooms and the food on offer in the restaurant is very good. A great base from which to see Dunedin and the local area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Bill T,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read you rated our location, large rooms and good restaurant food. We look forward to hosting you again sometime. Thanks again and kind regards.

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and this was the 2nd visit to this hotel. I ended up with a wheelchair access room - like the other rooms (as we've stayed here previously) but bigger in every way which suited us! In spite of a couple of tasteful furniture pieces in the room it doesn't have a huge amount of atmosphere but that's a lot to do with the large size of the space and enormous ceiling height in the rooms that almost feels a bit cavernous! But having said that the rooms are modern impeccably clean and have every amenity you could want. The bathroom was also large with a great shower, good amenities and plenty of towels. And it was a beautifully comfortable bed and I had the best night's sleep in it!

Unfortunately they have ridiculous internet charges and this is a reason to not stay here.I paid for 2 hours access for $10 I think - my husband tried to also get 2 hour access but it seems there is only one access granted to a room at any time. So there's no use if there are two of you wanting to use the internet at the same time. Internet charges are crazy - a few doors down and you're at The Octagon area which offers free wifi! Why on earth do hotels profiteer when there is so much free internet on offer! Because of the internet issue, we didn't have one meal or one drink at the hotel and instead walked a few doors and had internet access with our food or coffee!

It's a shame about the internet as I think it's a good friendly hotel that would suit most.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear MIWSing,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for complimenting us on the large, impeccably clean room with a great shower and bathroom that you stayed in. Also a great bed - which with the goose-feather underlays and toppers is a Scenic Hotels brand standard - great to hear that you had the best night's sleep in it! We are sorry that our company Internet policies did not meet your expectations - the cost per 24 hours on the standard plan is $10 - or $5 per 24 hours with a Smartphone. There is also a way to have more than one device connected wirelessly at the same time - this is by choosing the "family Plan" when connecting - but it does cost more. Thank you again and hopefully we can host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Scenic Hotel is in a great location - just minutes walk from the Octagon and lots of cafes, bars and restaurants. However the rooms are basic and a little tired - a bit like a motel that is in need of some sprucing up. The service was fast and rooms clean and tidy - plenty of power outlets for device obsessed people like us. Phones, iPads, laptops all had outlets to charge up from. However the internet policy is absurd. Firstly they are within a block of the city free wifi but charge for internet. Then they have a system where only one device per room can be on the wireless. Even offering to pay another fee for a second device was refused - "each room is allowed only one". How crazy is that for a couple traveling on business. The result - we did not have breakfast there - there are cafes just a block away have a great breakfast, cheaper, and have free wireless that we both could connect to and do a little email catch-up.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Anwil51,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you found our location very handy, and that service was fast and rooms were clean and tidy. We are sorry that our company Internet policies did not meet your expectations (just fyi there is a way to have more than 2 devices running wirelessly at the same time - the "Family Plan" needs to be accessed when signing in - but it does cost more). Interesting to read your comments regarding our rooms being tired - many many guests comment that our rooms are modern and contempory so I do just want to point out to readers that of course everyone is welcome to their comments, but in many guest opinions our rooms are not tired. Anyway thanks again for your comments and hopefully we can host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Pleasant hotel, nice bed! They have a feather underlay - simply luxurious it was. Very warm and very comfortable. I would stay in a Scenic Hotel again. Great location and you must try the bar across the road, Tonic, that was good too.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank SecretJobAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear SecretJobAgent,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you rated our location highly and also our bed - actually it is a Scenic Hotels brand standard to have the goose-feather underlays and toppers and many guests comment on them and find them fantastic to sleep on. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing