We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

One night stay ... handy to the city. Room service was great as I worked through the night. Room Service breakfast was on time.

Room was very clean and tidy, and being on L6, I got a beautiful night view of the city. Basic tv channels on tv, which I had on music to keep me company. Bathroom was spotless ... just took me a bit of time to work out how to switch from bath tap to shower head as there were no instructions I could find. Nice to know that common sense prevails.

Bed and pillows great and comfortable. Staff at the front desk were very welcoming.

Valet parking could be a challenge ... there is a 5 mn loading zone where you can park and ask at the desk for valet, but it may be full, and you will need to find a park close by. (I had to go around the block a few times while I waited for a delivery truck to move, and all the street parks were taken). Just something to be aware of

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkStWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear YorkStWanderers,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and thanks so much for all of your complimentary comments - great to hear all is working well with our Room Service meals and systems, and also how clean you found everything. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference in town. It was nice with good facilities but nothing exceptional.
It's location close to the Octagon makes it well located and the staff were all friendly and helpful.
Overall I was happy with my stay and would be happy to return here again.

Room Tip: The valet parking is helpful as long term parking around the hotel can be tricky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieteroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Pieteroo,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your complimentary comments on our friendly and helpful staff and good location. Hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed at the Scenic for 2 nights. Greal location, walking distance to the Octagon where all the restuarants and cafe's are. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The front staff were also for friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtriantafil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear gtriantafil,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were all delighted to read your fantastic comments regarding our great location, very clean rooms, very comfortable bed, and that staff were friendly and helpful - all comments very much appreciated and we hope to host you again sometime. Thanks again and kind regards.

Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed here in June for a conference, for 3 nights.
Overall a comfortable, clean, friendly, well priced hotel. Unfortunately I had a room immediately next to the elevators. The hotel was fully booked - so didn't bother to ask about moving. Luckily wasn't SUPER noisy (other guests were pretty quiet) but lifts moving woke me up pretty much every morning starting about 6am.
Very comfy bed. Wifi is $10 for 24 hours or something like that, but was pretty fast. Had buffet breakfast at the hotel 2 mornings. Nice but very expensive (~$25). 3rd morning met a friend just across the street at the Excelsior Cafe (opens at 7am) for a very nice coffee and bowl of porridge for $11 total.
Bathroom was nice - but shower only (no bath).
Staff friendly and helpful - even with all the conference delegates lining up.
Location was good - 2 blocks to the Octagon or so where there are plenty of restaurants.
Heating in room was variable - had it cranked up to 35+ degrees and panel heater shut itself off. So I shut it off and left a note for the cleaning staff. Seemed to be working better on the 2nd day (you will need heat in Winter in Dunedin).There was one extra blanket in the closet which I put on my bed & seemed to be warm enough.
Valet parking was fast, convenient and (I think) very reasonable - $8 or $9 per night. Sweet!
Hotel gym was pretty good. Not massive - but had a good treadmill, erg, bike, stepper, weights and TV. Plenty of towels and water - but get there early if you want the treadmill.
Would happily stay here again - but not in a room right next to the lifts.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not right next to the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi&yank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear kiwi&yank,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We were sorry that you experienced some noise by the lifts but were heartened to hear that it was not unbearably bad. Thanks for your complimentary comments regarding our very comfortable beds, good location, good gym and that staff were friendly and helpful. We hope to host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The executive room was excellently appointed. The king-sized bed was so comfortable with a lovely warm feather duvet - well appreciated on a cold winter's night.
The staff were obliging and the warm welcome at an early breakfast was very pleasant - well done Dana.
The restaurant was very attractive and the food was well presented and good value for money.
Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The corner suite on the 7th floor offered fantastic views and sunny aspect. Check out for specials...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Tom C,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found your room excellently appointed, our staff obliging, and that you found our restaurant attractive with good food on offer. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Kind regards.

Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a contemporary hotel in the heart of Dunedin. Very well situated near to the Octagon and many shops. It is rated four star by the local hotel association. The rooms are large, as are the bathrooms and the food on offer in the restaurant is very good. A great base from which to see Dunedin and the local area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Bill T,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read you rated our location, large rooms and good restaurant food. We look forward to hosting you again sometime. Thanks again and kind regards.

Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and this was the 2nd visit to this hotel. I ended up with a wheelchair access room - like the other rooms (as we've stayed here previously) but bigger in every way which suited us! In spite of a couple of tasteful furniture pieces in the room it doesn't have a huge amount of atmosphere but that's a lot to do with the large size of the space and enormous ceiling height in the rooms that almost feels a bit cavernous! But having said that the rooms are modern impeccably clean and have every amenity you could want. The bathroom was also large with a great shower, good amenities and plenty of towels. And it was a beautifully comfortable bed and I had the best night's sleep in it!

Unfortunately they have ridiculous internet charges and this is a reason to not stay here.I paid for 2 hours access for $10 I think - my husband tried to also get 2 hour access but it seems there is only one access granted to a room at any time. So there's no use if there are two of you wanting to use the internet at the same time. Internet charges are crazy - a few doors down and you're at The Octagon area which offers free wifi! Why on earth do hotels profiteer when there is so much free internet on offer! Because of the internet issue, we didn't have one meal or one drink at the hotel and instead walked a few doors and had internet access with our food or coffee!

It's a shame about the internet as I think it's a good friendly hotel that would suit most.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear MIWSing,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for complimenting us on the large, impeccably clean room with a great shower and bathroom that you stayed in. Also a great bed - which with the goose-feather underlays and toppers is a Scenic Hotels brand standard - great to hear that you had the best night's sleep in it! We are sorry that our company Internet policies did not meet your expectations - the cost per 24 hours on the standard plan is $10 - or $5 per 24 hours with a Smartphone. There is also a way to have more than one device connected wirelessly at the same time - this is by choosing the "family Plan" when connecting - but it does cost more. Thank you again and hopefully we can host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#36 of 61 in Dunedin
394 reviews
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £86 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing