We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Only stayed one night. Location central. Room very clean and bathroom well fitted out. Bed was very comfortable. Would stay again. Nice towels and plunger bag coffee appreciated in the morning. Reception made it look that it wouldn't be promising, but rooms proved otherwise

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Robynshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you found our hotel clean and comfortable including offering nice towels. Also great that you enjoyed the complimentary plunger coffee we offer in every room. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed our stay at Scenic Dunedin. Very helpful staff. Lovely rooms, fluffy towels. Room service continental brekkie, was excellent value for money and delicisious.
Happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Anne B,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Our staff will be delighted to read that you found them friendly and helpful, and thanks also for mentioning you had a great continental room service breakfast, and that your room was lovely and you enjoyed the fluffy towels - we hope to be able to host you back again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Fantastic hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are big, the beds are very comfy and overall the hotel is very clean and well kept. I enjoyed my stay and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocobean8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Cocobean8,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you found us a fantastic hotel and the staff will be delighted with your comments that you found them very friendly and helpful. We are glad you enjoyed our big rooms, comfy bed and that the hotel was generally very clean and well kept, and hope to host you back again sometime soon.

Thanks and kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Best hotel experience for ages and I stay in hotels all over NZ for several nights each week. Service was excellent, valet parking a treat, room service above expectation, comfy bed, fluffy towels, nice conditioner. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear CarolynRS,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and thanks so much for your very complimentary comments - especially commenting that your stay with us was your best stay in a hotel for ages and that room service was above expectations - certainly a fantastic accolade for us and we thank you again and look forward to hosting you sometime in the future.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Fantastic room, very spacious, clean and comfortable. Helpful front desk. Was there for business so couldn't have asked for more. Good location. Would recommend and come back again. These reviews require too many character mininums!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Phillip C,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your complimentary comments regarding your very spacious room which was clean and comfortable, and helpful front desk staff - all very much appreciated and we hope to be able to host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

One night stay ... handy to the city. Room service was great as I worked through the night. Room Service breakfast was on time.

Room was very clean and tidy, and being on L6, I got a beautiful night view of the city. Basic tv channels on tv, which I had on music to keep me company. Bathroom was spotless ... just took me a bit of time to work out how to switch from bath tap to shower head as there were no instructions I could find. Nice to know that common sense prevails.

Bed and pillows great and comfortable. Staff at the front desk were very welcoming.

Valet parking could be a challenge ... there is a 5 mn loading zone where you can park and ask at the desk for valet, but it may be full, and you will need to find a park close by. (I had to go around the block a few times while I waited for a delivery truck to move, and all the street parks were taken). Just something to be aware of

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkStWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear YorkStWanderers,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and thanks so much for all of your complimentary comments - great to hear all is working well with our Room Service meals and systems, and also how clean you found everything. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference in town. It was nice with good facilities but nothing exceptional.
It's location close to the Octagon makes it well located and the staff were all friendly and helpful.
Overall I was happy with my stay and would be happy to return here again.

Room Tip: The valet parking is helpful as long term parking around the hotel can be tricky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieteroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Pieteroo,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your complimentary comments on our friendly and helpful staff and good location. Hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#21 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#37 of 61 in Dunedin
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £106 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing