We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Motel on York(Dunedin)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Dunedin(Dunedin)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
308
358
117
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
358
117
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingvalet serviceprinces streetroom was largefree wifiroom servicehotel restaurantdunedin citygood sizecomfortable bedscentral locationwithin walking distancereception staffmini barno air conditioningbars and restaurantsguest laundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Within walking distance of Octagon and Speights Brewery (which does a great tour - I'm gluten free so can't drink the beer, but they did a nice gluten free cider). Friendly staff and nice room, no problems with noise or anything. Very comfy bed. Loved it.
Our only problem was trying to hire a car for the day from the central city - proved impossible and we had to take a shuttle to the airport to hire one (which was an extra cost) then drive all the way back to carry on out to the Peninsula for the day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShirleeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear ShirleeP,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay, a nice quiet room with a comfy bed, and that our staff were friendly. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you back again sometime in the future.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a disaster when we got to Dunedin for a work conference, were booked in somewhere else, which had a series of disasters which meant we left an hour later.. this place took a few of us last minute for the same rates as the other place ( we work for a charity) and the place was AMAZING, from the helpful staff to the lovely rooms! The beds were SOOOO comfortable and the place was very luxurious.
Perfect location within walking distance to everywhere! Highly recommend and would most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Maria K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and we were delighted to read that you found our staff to be helpful, the beds comfy, and our location to be perfect - we really appreciate all those positive comments, and hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here for an amazing weekend away in Dunedin. Great hotel - really close to everything! Room was massive!! Staff were always so friendly and the room was pretty clean (I am a bit of a clean freak)... Comfy bed but perhaps too many blankets - we roasted. Otherwise I really couldn't fault this property!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJ807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear DJ807,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was fantastic to read that you found our staff to always be friendly, and that your room was clean and "massive"! Hopefully we can have the opportunity to host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were flying out of NZ this morning, via Dunedin. Needed a place in the city centre last night as we were doing Speights Brewery Tour and wanted dinner afterwards... in short, wanted something in walking distance to Octagon and Brewery. After a great afternoon and meal headed back to room. We had no expectation other than a clean room. Literally, a place to put the head down. The bed was the bomb... most comfortable hotel bed I can ever recall (and that is a pretty big call). It was plain awesome.
The room otherwise was as expected. Good quality chain accommodation, though would be happy to stay here again. Nearly forgot, front office staff last night and this morning were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhenWeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear WhenWeTravel,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was fantastic to read that you rate our bed and bedding as quite possibly the best bed you have ever slept in - a big call indeed!! Actually the goose-feather underlays and toppers are a Scenic Hotels brand standard, and we certainly have many many guests who talk about what a great sleep they get when staying here. Thanks also for mentioning that the front office staff evening and morning were excellent - they will be delighted to read this. All the best and we look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a stylish hotel just up from the Octagon. I stayed 3 nights while at a conference. Check in was smooth and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable, with all the usual facilities, including a huge TV. The bed was very comfortable. It had a spacious bathroom, with great shower pressure. The iron worked well (not always the case in hotels). Breakfast (part of the conference package) was pleasant, with good variety. A fellow conference attendee who was staying at the nearby Scenic Southern Cross Hotel was able to join me for breakfast without having to pay again. Unfortunately, when I joined her the next day for breakfast at her hotel they charged me! Overall, a great stay, and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Craigh,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read all of your complementary comments saying that everything worked well including the iron!! Thanks also for mentioning the comfy bed - in fact it is a Scenic Brand Standard to have the goose-feather underlays and toppers, and guests certainly like them very much on the whole. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews