We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Handy spot”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

At first we were not very impressed by the helpfulness of the reception staff here.

Initially we booked 2 nights but managed to obtain tickets for the rugby All Blacks vs Wallabies so were looking to stay an extra night. We asked reception to see if they had a room for the Saturday night on the Thursday. They didn't have any - fully booked. We then asked again on Friday to be told oh we did have some cancellations but they gave them to Isite the Tourist info place - it was the same member of staff as Thursday. However the hotel redeemed itself and found us a very nice room on the Saturday just as we were thinking of checking out- a last minute cancelation - always pays to ask.

The rooms are large comfortable - be sure to ask for non smoking if you are a non smoker though as our first room was a smoking room.

Handy location - not sure if I'd stay again though.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dbell679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Dbell679,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad that in the end we were able to offer you accommodation for the Rugby Test Match night due to a late cancellation - it sure was a big weekend!! I am sorry that you thought the first room you were allocated was a smoking room and then you changed rooms - in fact all our rooms are non-smoking - so I am assuming that a "naughty" guest before you had smoked in the first room you went into - that is very unusual. Thanks again for your comments and hopefully we can host you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    326
    104
    22
    14
See reviews for
122
288
37
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at the Hotel in September. The location is very central close to the harbour, downtown, shopping, restaurants and much more. The rooms were big & clean. The bathroom was a fair size with both shower & tub. Our room was facing the street but did not have any noise or disturbances. The location is great only walking distance to the harbour, shopping, restaurants, etc. The breakfast was Excellent with hot & cold items such as cereals, hot food like scrambled eggs, bacon, hash browns, etc., salads, fruits, pastries, juices, coffee, tea, etc. They offer 1 hour of free Wi-Fi per day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimbaMasaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Simba888,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read of your complimentary comments regarding our great location and big clean rooms - and especially pleasing to read that you found our breakfast excellent and enjoyed the free 1 hour wifi - thank you again and hopefully we can host you some other time.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Location is perfect for Dunedin, being so close to the Octagon. Hotel has valet parking so we chose to walk everywhere and enjoy the spring weather! Room was spacious and very clean. Staff could not have been more helpful. Made use of the free wifi (1 hour a day) to check opening times for attractions.

Downside? The room was hot and we had to turn the thermostat down to zero and open windows, which meant noise from the street below. Ask for a room on Dowling side instead.

Room Tip: Get a room on the Dowling side of the hotel - it's quieter and the view is much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenchurch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Fenchurch40,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thank you also for all your very complementary comments - especially that you enjoyed our valet carparking service (at $12 per day) enabling you to walk almost everywhere due to our location, and also that you noted our staff were very helpful. It was great to read that you enjoyed our one hour free wifi as well. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you some other time.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very nice hotel' located near the octagon' the center of the city. By foot can get most of the attractions of the city. Nice room big and good bathroom also. Staff very cooperative.Only problem to park the car' but they have a valle park near the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Moshe47,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was lovely to read that you found our location to be good, room nice and big and that staff were very cooperative - they will be delighted to read this. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again sometime.

Kind regards.

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very helpful and 'happy' staff, which is nice and refreshing after a long day and just want to check in. Room clean and tidy with nice products in the bathroom to use! LOve the fluffy duvets and feather and down mattress protector. Breakfast, lots to choose from and staff pleasant. Very comfy all round,,,great view of the DN harbour too.

Room Tip: Away from the lift ...down the hall is better...and rooms facing the harbour, away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha-Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Samantha-Dawn S,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. The staff will be absolutely delighted to read that you found them all very happy and helpful. Thank you also for mentioning that the room was clean and tidy and that you enjoyed a good breakfast with pleasant staff. All the best and we would very much like to host you again sometime.

Kind regards.

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Initially felt this was great, room was clean, spacious and comfortable bed. On closer inspection there was stuff on the floor (like it hadn't been vacuumed) and the TV had quite a bit of dust on the top. All ok, but the noise was horrible. Room was right next to the lifts and across from a room marked staff only. Until 4am it was fine, then the lifts were quite noisy (not sure if this was perhaps when overnight staff come on?) and the door marked staff only started slamming.

Would stay again but would definitely request a room far away from the lifts.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverhearted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear silverhearted,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was fantastic to read that you found our rooms clean and spacious with a comfy bed, and we are sorry that you experienced some elevator noise during the night. Hopefully we can put that right by hosting you again sometime.

Thanks again and kind regards.

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuwatu- Wanganui New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great nights sleep before heading off on our rail trail through Central Otago. We booked in at about 9pm the same night and only paid $120, arrived at 10pm and ordered some after hours room service and slept well. Breakfast was filling and a great selection. Awesome location, clean rooms, fantastic price even when we booked an hour before arriving!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Katie H,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found our breakfast yummy and at a great price + that our rooms were clean and the hotel is in an awesome location. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing