We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Nearby Hotels
US$375
US$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartments at St Clair(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Street Motel Apartments(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
US$232
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunedin Palms Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
308
358
118
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
358
118
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingvalet serviceprinces streetroom was largefree wifiroom servicehotel restaurantdunedin citygood sizecomfortable bedscentral locationwithin walking distancereception staffmini barno air conditioningbars and restaurantsguest laundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 822 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is centrally located, 1 minute away from the i-Site.
Our rooms boasted a super comfy bed and a large TV screen (which was embedded on the wall).
The bathroom was standard, although we liked the complimentary toiletries.

We only stayed one night. We did not eat at the restaurant downstairs because it was overpriced.

The front office person allowed a late check-in (11am), which was very kind.

Overall, it was a good place to rest after a tiring but exciting day out in the Peninsula.
On the other hand, we felt the price ($160) was a little too high for Dunedin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acarb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear acarb83,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed our handy inner city location, super comfy bed, bathroom toiletries and large TV. Also great to hear that you had a good day out on the Otago Peninsula enjoying the fantastic wildlife on offer, and hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 1 night at Scenic Hotel during our 15 day NZ trip. The hotel is centrally located to main attractions of Dunedin city. Our visit to dunedin was primarily for Cadbury factory tour, which is ten minutes walking distance from hotel. Lot of restaurants and bar located within 5 minutes distance of this hotel.
Rooms are quite comfortable and big for the price. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasterBlasterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear MasterBlasterMu...

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you found our location and comfortable large rooms to your liking, and that you really enjoyed your stay with us - hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards.

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very comfortable room with a terrace. Inexpensive car park was very convenient. Din't get to use room service. There was coffee & tea provided in the room.
Weird Lobby area though.... Stayed three days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear spc07,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your lovely comments regarding our valet carparking service and your Executive Room which had a private terrace/balcony. Hopefully we can host you when you visit our fine city some other time in the future.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed for three nights. I was in Dunedin for a conference and my husband and son joined me for the second and third nights.This meant that we needed to switch rooms to a triple, after my first night. The bags were transferred easily and waiting for me in the room, the second night. The rooms were clean, the showers excellent and the beds very comfortable, Having openable windows in the room was great too for a good night's sleep. We all tried out the roomservice: myself on the first evening and the boys the second night. This arrived promptly, was hot and delicious. Exactly as described. The valet parking system was convenient and efficient and the location, near the Octogan, is fantastic for visiting Dunedin and getting about to all the sights and venues we needed to. Nice, friendly service and quick check-in/check-out. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macclass53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear macclass53,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thank you also for all of your great comments especially regarding our Room Service food, staff, and valet carparking service ($12 per day), and that you would stay again - we look forward to hosting you sometime in the future.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights in room overlooking main road but it was quiet - Fri/Sat nights.
Having been on tour for nearly 3 weeks it was nice to be able to reduce my breakfast without feeling I was wasting money! The hotel does a tea and toast option called a 'Quickstart Breakfast' where you can have just tea/coffee and juice with pastries/bread and preserve for just $8.50 or the 'continental' including fruit, cereals, yoghourt for $19.50 and the 'full' including hot items, the choice were excellent.
There is a credit card surcharge of 1.5% when paying your bill.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear GeoffW44,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us - we really appreciated you commenting favourably on the many breakfast choices we have, and look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards. Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews