We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable modern hotel in city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
“Comfortable modern hotel in city center”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Enjoyed staying in this hotel right near to everything. Front desk was extremely courteous and considerate at all times. Most luxurious bed to sleep in. Spotlessly clean. Nice work area and extra large flat screen TV.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uskiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear uskiwi1,

Thanks so very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and thanks so much for all of your wonderful comments. The front desk staff will be very happy to read your complementary remarks, as will the housekeeping team regarding your spotlessly clean room. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    331
    106
    22
    14
See reviews for
124
292
38
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel is great except for the noise from the street. Friday and Saturday night the noise didn't stop until 3.00am. It is such a shame because the beds, rooms and service are excellent. Time to invest in double glazing Scenic :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellington67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Wellington67,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you rated us highly for our great beds and location, and are very sorry that you experienced some noise problems on the Friday and Saturday nights you stayed with us - this does not happen all the time, but sometimes as a central hotel it does happen - particularly on Friday and Saturday nights. I am not sure of what room you stayed in, but just fyi we do have double glazing on the street side on levels 1 - 5 + our new Executive Floor (8th floor), but do not have double glazing on the higher 6th and 7th floors street side - but we are working on that. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is centrally located, 1 minute away from the i-Site.
Our rooms boasted a super comfy bed and a large TV screen (which was embedded on the wall).
The bathroom was standard, although we liked the complimentary toiletries.

We only stayed one night. We did not eat at the restaurant downstairs because it was overpriced.

The front office person allowed a late check-in (11am), which was very kind.

Overall, it was a good place to rest after a tiring but exciting day out in the Peninsula.
On the other hand, we felt the price ($160) was a little too high for Dunedin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acarb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear acarb83,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed our handy inner city location, super comfy bed, bathroom toiletries and large TV. Also great to hear that you had a good day out on the Otago Peninsula enjoying the fantastic wildlife on offer, and hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 1 night at Scenic Hotel during our 15 day NZ trip. The hotel is centrally located to main attractions of Dunedin city. Our visit to dunedin was primarily for Cadbury factory tour, which is ten minutes walking distance from hotel. Lot of restaurants and bar located within 5 minutes distance of this hotel.
Rooms are quite comfortable and big for the price. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterBlasterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear MasterBlasterMu...

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you found our location and comfortable large rooms to your liking, and that you really enjoyed your stay with us - hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards.

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very comfortable room with a terrace. Inexpensive car park was very convenient. Din't get to use room service. There was coffee & tea provided in the room.
Weird Lobby area though.... Stayed three days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear spc07,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your lovely comments regarding our valet carparking service and your Executive Room which had a private terrace/balcony. Hopefully we can host you when you visit our fine city some other time in the future.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed for three nights. I was in Dunedin for a conference and my husband and son joined me for the second and third nights.This meant that we needed to switch rooms to a triple, after my first night. The bags were transferred easily and waiting for me in the room, the second night. The rooms were clean, the showers excellent and the beds very comfortable, Having openable windows in the room was great too for a good night's sleep. We all tried out the roomservice: myself on the first evening and the boys the second night. This arrived promptly, was hot and delicious. Exactly as described. The valet parking system was convenient and efficient and the location, near the Octogan, is fantastic for visiting Dunedin and getting about to all the sights and venues we needed to. Nice, friendly service and quick check-in/check-out. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macclass53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear macclass53,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thank you also for all of your great comments especially regarding our Room Service food, staff, and valet carparking service ($12 per day), and that you would stay again - we look forward to hosting you sometime in the future.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights in room overlooking main road but it was quiet - Fri/Sat nights.
Having been on tour for nearly 3 weeks it was nice to be able to reduce my breakfast without feeling I was wasting money! The hotel does a tea and toast option called a 'Quickstart Breakfast' where you can have just tea/coffee and juice with pastries/bread and preserve for just $8.50 or the 'continental' including fruit, cereals, yoghourt for $19.50 and the 'full' including hot items, the choice were excellent.
There is a credit card surcharge of 1.5% when paying your bill.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear GeoffW44,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us - we really appreciated you commenting favourably on the many breakfast choices we have, and look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#41 of 61 in Dunedin
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing