We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faulty towers & very mediocre.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Victorian
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Faulty towers & very mediocre.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Right from our arrival we encountered issues with this hotel. Firstly, although they offer a "valet" service, there is no place to stop your car (when the 5 minute parking zone is full) or unload your bags in a turn-out area like many other city hotels offer. We had to circle the block several times before asking someone to move their car! We had to park on the street and unload our bags ourselves, then walk into reception and hand over our key. This should not be called a valet service.
The reception staff member was not warm and simply seemed tired/bored when she checked us in. Our room boasted "modern" decor, but apart from the carpet, linen and television, essentially it is a 1970s building with a aesthetic face-lift. The bathroom is dated and the air quality/circulation is horrendous. Don't expect a comfortable sleep. We even found a hair (I won't mention what type) on one of our towels and the reception staff on duty asked us to "complete a feedback form" rather than handling it at the time. Our refrigerator was not working, which, to the hotel maintenance staff's credit, was resolved quickly with a replacement fridge.
But if you're as unlucky as we were, you might be located right near the elevator and housekeeping closet, which gets opened and closed several times early each morning with no courtesy offered by housekeeping staff. I did make the manager aware of these issues when I completed the "form", but when I eventually received a response, it was full of the expected excuses and my response was not acknowledged.

Room Tip: If you're happy to resign to a mediocre hotel, the location of this hotel is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayMaker859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear HolidayMaker859,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for acknowledging our good carpets, linen, television and excellent location. Apologies that the rest of the room facilities etc did not meet your satisfaction. Again we are extremely sorry that you found an interwoven hair in one of your bathroom towels - this is a highly unusual occurence and all I can say in response is that this is definately not the "norm". We are also sorry that you were not able to immediately find a park in the surrounding area of the hotel - we have recently been through tghe process with the local council and had the bus stop outside the hotel on Dowling Street changed to be a dual P5 car/bus stop to help alleviate this problem. Thanks for letting us know the front desk staff member response to you - this is not our policy and we have taken this on board. We do have fully compliant air circulation/air changes with an inlet and outlet in every room running 24 hours - however on particularly hot days the rooms can get warm, and unfortunately for Health & Safety reasons (eg children climbing out of windows), the windows are only able to be opened a certain distance. Again we are sincerely sorry that overall your stay with us did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    321
    104
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
285
37
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Checking in was simple. The rooms were spacious and clean. Between the comfortable bed and the large television, it was easy to unwind. The hotel is within walking distance of most attractions. The buffet style meals made it possible for people to try something new; as a result, I discovered a new-found addiction to Pavlova. The staff was beyond courteous.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_Traveler_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Colorado_Traveler,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your wonderful comments and ratings regarding a simple check-in, comfy bed, large TV, location and staff were beyond courteous - we really appreciate it. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again some time in the future.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. The size of the rooms was good, I really appreciated the selection of pillows on the bed, a big issue for me. The bathroom was well lit and had a good selection of bath and body products. The 1 hour free wireless internet is also a reason for me to return. The room service meal I ordered was perfectly cooked and tasty. I will use this hotel for business trips in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee8091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Lee8091,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciated all the great comments especially about our excellent pillow selection and perfectly cooked and tasty room service meal - also that you enjoyed our 1 hour free wireless internet. Thanks also for saying that you will use us for future business trips that is just fantastic, and we look forward to hosting you sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I am so happy with my stay at the scenic hotel, they meet my every need. I emailed ahead about some personal requests I had and I got an email straight back to say that they would meet these requests. How many Hotels do you know that go out of their way to make your stay better. Well done to Greg Hewland General Manager who made it all happen and his wonderful team

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Rochelle C,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us, and thank you for your kind and humbling comments - as always it is a team effort and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greta, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We've stayed twice once as a couple and once as a family and it amazed us how differently we were treated when we took our children.
The location is a short walk to the Octagon and the rooms are very nice.
Personally I wouldn't return as the staff were not tolerant to children at all but if you are looking for a location for a nice weekend as a couple or business this is perfect

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savagesheepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Savagesheepy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read of your wonderful comments regarding location, rooms, and overall rating. I must admit we were a little surprised to read the comments about not being tolerant to children, as we actually promote ourselves within our chain as being one of the hotels that specialise in children because of our large rooms, coupled with our friendly staff - and do get lots of good comments about being family-friendly - so we are very sorry that your experience with your children with you did not meet your expectations - I will certainly pass on these comments to all staff as a reminder. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again sometime and show that we do cater for family's.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

In Dunedin for the weekend and this was a great choice. Just South of the Octagon, clean quiet rooms and outlook from the harbour side was a splendid panorama. One of the best and most comfortable hotel bed experiences I have had, could have slept for hours ... We were out and about so did not eat in-house, but the lobby staff were models of Southern hospitality. Valet parking was a good and value for money option for the car.

Room Tip: Take the harbour side for the panoramic vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Jim D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read you found your room clean and quiet, and fantastic that your bed was one of the best hotel beds you have ever slept in!! - we are proud of our beds which include goose-feather underlays and toppers, + we choose to use the triple sheeting method where we launder the top sheet covering the duvet as well as the other two sheets. Thanks also for your lovely comments about our lobby staff - they will be delighted to read these. Great also to hear that you found our valet carparking (at $12 per day) good value for money. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Enjoyed staying in this hotel right near to everything. Front desk was extremely courteous and considerate at all times. Most luxurious bed to sleep in. Spotlessly clean. Nice work area and extra large flat screen TV.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uskiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear uskiwi1,

Thanks so very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and thanks so much for all of your wonderful comments. The front desk staff will be very happy to read your complementary remarks, as will the housekeeping team regarding your spotlessly clean room. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing