We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We loved that this hotel was convenient to everything we had going on this weekend. We had a wedding to attend and I was the makeup artist and hairstylist for the bride who was staying there too. The staff was very friendly and attended to our needs so we can get the bride ready in the room, which was spacious and well lit. The beds were to die for! After being on the go all day all I wanted to do is curl up in that fluffy cloud of a bed and watch tv...and that's exactly what I did!

We had dinner once in the restaurant, which was completely empty when we came downstairs so I wasn't too sure if we should eat there. I'm so glad we did! It was past 8:30pm so we didn't want anything too heavy in our bellies. I ordered a caesar salad with chicken...loved the presentation and it was just as delish!

The only thing I have to say negatively is the street noise was out of control between 2-5 in the morning. We like sleeping with the windows slightly open to listen to the rain and allow the cool air in but it wasn't an option when the party people are dancing in the streets and being loud. Yes, we could hear them all the way up the 7th floor. I do recommend calling the front desk to ask if they can take care of the situation if this does occur when you stay there. They are more than happy to make your stay the best experience ever!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanvore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear vanvore,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found all our staff very friendly and that they helped in any way possible for the big wedding occasion. Thanks also for commenting that your room was spacious and that the beds were "to die for" - our beds have a goose-feather underlay and topper and they are certainly very popular with our guests. Also the kitchen team will be very happy to read that you found the food in our restaurant very good. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    315
    103
    22
    14
See reviews for
116
279
37
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I were very pleased with the Scenic Hotel. We were given a complimentary room upgrade to a very spacious and comfortable room with 2 giant beds. We had a drink in the bar after dining out, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a very good night at the hotel. The valet parking was really good we found. I would prefer that the rooms have a personal safe in them to store passports, iPad, camera etc. while we were out at dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Elisabeth H,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us - we really appreciate your positive comments regarding our very spacious rooms with "giant" beds, that you found valet parking very good, and especially that staff were all friendly and helpful. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Never having been to Dunedin (or NZ for that matter), it was a bit of a gamble choosing a hotel, but we were very pleased with the Scenic Hotel. We were two families traveling together, hotel gave us a complimentary room upgrade, and made sure we were near each other. Both rooms were very nice - comfortable beds, modern furnishings, very clean, well supplied with coffee, tea, extra pillows. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The location is nice - near many restaurants, train station , etc.

I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel - would stay there again, and recommend it to others!

I debated rating the hotel a "5" - but my kids say it had to be a "4": no swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalFamilyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear GalFamilyGal,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your wonderful comments regarding clean rooms with comfy beds, modern furnishings, great loaction and very friendly & helpful staff - but best of all thanks so much for saying that you would stay again and recommend to others - that is a huge compliment to us and hoepfully we can host you again soon.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We arrived in Dunedin to a motel that we had booked online that wasn't the best!

A quick search online and we found 2 Superior King rooms available for the required duration. The hotel staff managed to 'juggle' rooms around to ensure that the parent in-law was on the same floor, but not next door :)

The bed is fabulously comfortable and the room a great size.

The in room entertainment TV channels are lacking, but access HDMI port on the TV allowed us to play movies directly from a laptop.

The hotel wifi is typically what you'd expect to find, expensive and rate limited.

Dinner at the Restaurant was excellent quality and available on the room service menu as well.

Overall we found the staff to be helpful and friendly, we'd visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGrumpyEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear The Grumpy Engineer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was fantastic that we could solve your problem of needing better accommodation, and thanks so much for commenting that our beds are fabuously comfy and that our rooms are of great size. The kitchen and restaurant teams will be very happy that you made special mention that dinner was of excellent quality (including room service), and that staff were friendly and helpful. Hoepfully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed 1 night on the 16th December 2013. The Scenic Hotel Dunedin City was great. We got room 310. The room was perfect. Roomy, clean, quiet and boy the mirrors are great!. The pillows and bed are the best! I wish I could take the pillow home with me. Location is great. My two teenagers checked out the gym and they were happy. We did not get a chance to check out the other services as we were only there overnight and as soon as we got there, went to the I-site office and booked a bus tour. The regrets are 1. getting to the parking - as the parking bay was already taken when we got there and had to park a short distance from the hotel and then had to get it the back for the so called valet parking (Hopefully, they can fix this problem in the future, eg could they request a parking permit from the council for an exclusive timed parking bay). The other regret, 2. we should have stayed longer as we found that there was so much things to do in Dunedin, and it is a beautiful place and the Scenic just matches the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiwillseetheworld11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Emiwillseetheworl...

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found our room large, clean and quiet, with great bedding and pillows. Thanks also for commenting that our location is great and that there are so many great things to do in Dunedin - we hope that you will be back sometime to continue enjoying all there is to see and do in our wonderful city.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, I only wish I had been staying longer. The bed has to be one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have had. The service from the manager in printing some papers I needed for work was also no trouble either. The location was perfect for my stay as I didn't have to walk far to get anywhere I needed - perfect for travelling alone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Karyn B,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for commenting that our beds are really comfortable and that our location is great - but best of all it was wonderful to read that you wished you could have stayed longer! Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Nice hotel, well situated in Dunedin. Rooms are big and well furnished, very clean. Bathrooms are big. We stayed only one night with a group and all of us had a nice room. No bad surprises.
Service excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Grvoyage,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read all your great comments concerning our location, big well furnished and very clean rooms with big bathrooms, and that you received excellent service during your stay with us - the staff will certainly be happy to read this. Thanks again and we look forward to hopefully hosting you again some time.

Kind regards and merry Xmas.

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#14 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing