We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real beauty ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real beauty ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and wish to stay more , a great large room on the 6th floor, the room is specious and clean and the bathroom with all the great amenities ... They just think about I to spoil you.
The location is just the best .. Few min walk from all central places.
The reception guys are SO cute and so kind .
Well this is what I accept to feel at home. Thanks for keeping such a high standard hotel for us. See you soon.

The

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Sharon Z,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was fantastic to read that you found your room to be clean and spacious with great bathroom amenities. Also great that you liked our location and best of all that you felt at home. Also the reception staff will be delighted to read your comments about them. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again soon.

Kind regards.

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    319
    103
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
282
37
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times now and it is always perfect. The staff are wonderful always helpful. The rooms are huge. Beds soft as a feather. and the tea/coffee selection is incredible. Honestly don't have a bad thing to say...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Jennywag,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Your very positive comments about our wonderful staff always helpful, huge rooms, great beds and incredible tea/coffee selection are just fantastic - but best of all the fact that you keep returning to stay again and again is marvellous - we really appreciate that and look forward to hosting you for your next stay.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We arrived late without prior booking. Had variable staff quality, the trainee was good his manager not so. Rooms good with all you would expect from a mid range hotel. Car parking was good however the car had a puncture when we had it returned, to be fair they did help replace the tyre.

Room Tip: I dont think there were noise problems with any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcWeinzweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear MarcWeinzwerg,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for mentioning that our rooms are good and that you enjoyed our valet carparking service (at $12 per day). Also I am glad we were able to assist in changing your flat tyre - always a hassle! Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed one night here in a recent trip across NZ. The hotel is in a perfect location for seeing the sights of the city. You can easily walk from the hotel to see everything. The room was very clean and had a nice coffee service. We ordered room service dinner as we came in late and the restaurant had closed for the night. The food and service was good. Enjoyed the breakfast the next morning. I liked that they let you separate the buffet if you didn't want all the hot food you could have the cold items at a lesser price. The front desk staff was very helpful and they have a good variety of brochures for exploring the city. The only complaint I have is that the room was very hot (no AC) so we had to open the windows and there was a good bit of loud street noise.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear UsaJules,

Thank you for much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found our location to be perfect, that room was clean and that food and service were good, and also that front desk staff were were very helpful. We apologise that you found your room to be a little hot a times. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you another time in the future.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I cannot thank DCH enough for their hospitality during our stay, from Greg the GM, Michael and his F&B staff, reception staff, Rhonda and her housekeeping staff. All amazing! Definitely use this hotel if you travel to Dunedin!! 8th floor rooms are amazing. We were greeted with nothing but smiles and even a glass of juice!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Callum A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Callum A,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. CONGRATS on your big wedding day, and thankyou for your kind comments regading our location and the staff friendliness. We look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Location is right in the heart of the Dunedin City.. We stayed there for a night during our Drive tour of south Island. We tried the Afghani resturant bang opposite the hotel and it was good. Stay was excellent. Breakfast was good. Rooms were clean and the livery was good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGJNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear PGJNewDelhi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found us to have a great location which contributed to an excellent stay, including good breakfast and clean rooms. Hopefully we can host you again some day.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Everything you need. Guest laundry was much needed and a reasonable price ($2) compared to other hotels we visited. Free 1 hour WiFi was greatly appreciated. Only caveat, we arrived in the late afternoon and it was extremely hot in the room. As there is no a/c in the rooms, a screen would be nice to avoid any insects in the room when opening the window to get some air in. This is only a minor comment and does not in any way affect my recommendation of this hotel. As a group, we also used the restaurant for supper and everyone was satisfied with their meals. Again a small comment that the wine service was a little on the slow side requiring a number of us to go get their wine order at the bar rather than wait at the table but again this would not prevent my recommending the restaurant. Personnel was courteous.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Souriz,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our one hour of free wifi, and that you were happy with your meals during your stay. Hopefully we can host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing