We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&M Mitchell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Room clean ;tidy and spacious. Stayed in room 701; very noisey Friday. Saturday and Thursday. Had 7 nights.Staff friendly and helpful. Very central so only needed car one day.Found room to hot as only one window to open.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank maureenm466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear maureenm466,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found your room clean, tidy and spacious, and really pleased that you found all staff very friendly and helpful. We are sorry that you experienced some noise disturbance mainly on the weekend nights - this sometimes does happen on street-facing rooms and there was a big event on this weekend so my guess is that may have contributed to the noise situation. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you some other time.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

477 - 483 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We did know about the $12 per day (I think that was the cost) charge to park our car, but only because we'd read this website. It's as if you book a ticket to see a film and arrive at the cinema only to be told it will cost you a couple of dollars more to enter the auditorium and five more to sit down. We were met with an unexpected charge - not a huge sum - but it seems very sharp practice to charge an extra amount in this way, and the problem is that it annoys guests - well, certainly us - from the word go.
Why not build the cost into the room price? The hotel's income will be the same, and everyone will be happy.
We also questioned the wi-fi policy; you get 60 minutes' free internet access per day, which is pretty generous, but you have to use it in one go, which is silly. Once you sign off, you have to pay.
These moans aside, this is a good hotel in a wonderful location.


Stayed: March 2014
Thank LondonpairLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear LondonpairLondon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your great comments about us being a good hotel in a wonderful location. We are sorry that you felt our valet carparking service is not advertised - just fyi the $12 per day charge is listed on our website under Hotel Facilities where it says "Valet carparking at $12 per day". - we choose not to add this valet carparking charge to everyone's account as not everyone who stays arrives by car. Apologies also that our one hour free wifi did not meet your requirements. We hope you enjoyed our fine city and had safe travels back home.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have stayed three times at this hotel. The rooms are huge, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is well presented with cooked and continental options. All the staff are approachable and provide excellent service. If you need to stay in central Dunedin, try it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA13Or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear CA13Or,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you have stayed with us 3 times! Thanks so much for all of your great comments - we really appreciate it and look forward to hosting you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were a bit limited. There were very few Sky channels to view. We stayed in a number of hotels on the South Island of NZ and this was the only one that charged for Wi-Fi use (albeit after 1 hour). It was a little difficult getting in and out of the shower as it was in the bath which was high sided for someone with crook knees. The hotel is very well situated and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Alan F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was fantastic to read that you found our staff very friendly and helpful, our location great, and our rooms comfortable. We are sorry that our free 1 hour wifi did not meet your requirements on this occasion. Thanks again and we hope to be able to host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

When we arrived we discovered that we had been booked into a room without air con. Since it was very warm we opted not to take up the offer of fans but to upgrade to a room with air con. It was well worth it because we also got a safe and a balcony. The room was huge, beautifully decorated and the bathroom was lovely.
The staff were extremely helpful and the manager gave us complimentary desserts because we hadn't been happy with the room on arrival.
We ate bar meals on both nights, which were very good, although the bar and restaurant were a bit soulless.
The hotel offers an hour's free wifi. The location is in the heart of the city so parking is valet - for a small charge.
I would recommend this hotel for its comfort and for the helpfulness of the staff.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Maureen G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for mentioning that our staff were extremely helpful, and that we were able to offer an alternative room for a small upgrade charge that you were very happy with. I hope the rest of your travels in NZ went well and that you enjoyed your time in our great city.

Thanks again and kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed in a family room for two days, rooms were lovely and it was a great location, there is valet parking but as a family we needed the car a lot and found it a bit inconvenient that we were not allowed park or get our own car when ever we wanted with out asking not too much of a big deal I guess, there is only 1hour free wifi every 24hours, I found this ridiculous as most hostels provide free wifi let alone a 4star hotel, we had to eat out both mornings for breakfast as it was $29 pp which is crazy and $19 for continental. We also were charged $12 per night for parking. Over all it was so expensive breakfast should be included if not reduced dramatically, other people we know that stayed also ate out because of the cost. When you have kids only 1hour of free wifi is ridiculous really considering we spent a lot of time in the room as we have a toddler. Finishing on a positive note the beds are amazingly comfy and warm its a pity about all the extra costs and this is why we won't be returning

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sangeyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Sangeyb,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thank you also for all your positive comments regarding our lovely rooms, great location and "amazingly" comfy beds. We are sorry that our 1 hour free wifi did not meet your families requirements. We are also sorry that you found our breakfast prices too high - our market research shows that our pricing is well within the range of 4 Star - 4.5 Star hotels in NZ. Anyway we do hope that your travels went well.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We arrived early, really early and the Receptionist, was quite unfazed. After explaining that I understood that we probably couldn,t check in but could we make arrangement to store our bags until our room became available, She responded "well although we were fully booked last night, let's see what we can do.

She was at the time trainuing a new receptionist and explained very clearly what she was doing and why. So she was also a good on-job trainer.

Within a few minutes, for which she apologised, she had found a room which despite being a two double bedden room we took thankfully after a very early start flying from Wellington.

Tghey car was parked for us, by the porter and we accepted the receipt. Our bags were whisked away whilst I completed registration requirements.;

We thanked her for her efficient check in and headed up to the room. the bags were already in the room when we arrived.

Everything was clean and tidy. All of the lights etc were working there were sufficient bath towels for a couple, plus it had a window (more about that later) which I always like when traveling in NZ., NO problems with China Smog here!!!!!

The beds as promised was extreemly comfortable, including those beautiful duck/goose feather duvets.

We freshened up, and changed into more casual attire because it was a beautiful sunny Autumn day.

We then set off to refamiarise ourselves with Dunedin. What an interesting mix of old and new. We sat in the Quadrant and had a fine southern breakfast and coffee. We then spent the next few hours walking around the city, visiting places we had been to in the past. Sadly many lovely restaurants especially down in the train station area have long gone and there seem to be quite a few vacant buildings.

However, many of the old Pubs are still in evidence such as the Law Courts Hotel which I would recommend to all and sundry. Great beer and huge selection on tap.

Returning to the hotel we got ready for dinner which had been booked for a quite early start. We dined at "Etrusco" and what a fantastic meal. See seperate report.

Returning to the hotel we arranged for a taxi for my daughter and discovered there was a Taxi rank right outside the hotel. She was whizzed away to her student digs and we retired to our room.

Window open, air cond off and soon we were asleep. However, even being on the 4th floor early in the morning around one or two in the morning we suffered from the usual loud-mouths staggering along the main street making their way home with the boy racers. The the Taxi drivers parked ouside started conversing with loud shouts... Close window, put on air con and things much better and noise levels simply what one would expect in a busy city Thursday night environment. I', sure it would be a lot quieter in the wing off the main street.

Early start next morning. Check out was handled promptly and we were able to get a printout for the room which we had pre-paid and our incidentals and set off for Queenstown....

All in all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Rooms off the main street would I believe be quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian-R-Bray-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Ian-R-Bray-JP,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. And thanks also for all of your wonderful comments regarding one of our front desk staff members, valet carparking service (@ $12 per day), location, and great beds with our goose-feather underlays and toppers. We really appreciate everything you have said and hopefully we can host you again sometime when you come back for more reminiscing of our fine city.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#40 of 61 in Dunedin
387 reviews
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £88 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing