We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Once again every aspect of the stay was excellent. From the welcome at the front desk to a great gym with all the equipment in great order there was nothing to fault. The beds are wonderfully comfortable as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Carolyn S,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found your bed wonderfully comfortable and that your welcome and gymnasium facilities were top notch. Best of all that you are a returning guest - we thank you very much for your return business and look forward to hosting you again.

Thanks again and kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    319
    103
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
282
37
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very helpful and friendly staff, room clean and tidy.
Wi-Fi only free for one hour from when you first log on.
I checked e-mails before we went out then when I came home it had run out even though I had logged off.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxtrotter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Foxtrotter 88,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recnt stay with us. The staff are delighted about your comment that they were very helpful and friendly, and that your room was clean and tidy - we really appreciate your great feedback and hope the rest of your travels went well.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great rooms (not street side), the best beds and great service make this hotel fantastic. All a 1min walk from the octagon. Having stayed so often, this trip included a complimentary drink, chocolates, slippers and robe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear KrisBB,

Thanks so very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us - we are so happy that you really enjoy our beds and that we offered great service - and best of all that you are a returning guest - thanks so much for your custom and thanks again for the great review.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel was excellently & centrally located in the city. It's close to shopping centers, mini markets, the First Church, St. Paul Church and the Octagon. The staff were also very friendly, nice & helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean as well as the bed & bathroom. The shower was standing shower with handy moveable shower nozzle. The hotel provided also a very big screen television and a free wifi connection for an hour per day (if it's not enough, we could have a 24 hours wifi connection for only 5 dollars). The amenities in the rooms were very generous and good smell of cucumber; even the hotel provided us with detergent for small hand washing :-) The heater worked, fortunately, very well as the temperature during our visit was around 5 degree Celcius :-( The breakfast served was not great, but acceptable as there were not so many choices and no egg corner, except scramble eggs. Overall, it's a great hotel ........

Room Tip: A room at the corner seems to be more spacious :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Octovianus,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your great comments regarding our location, very friendly and helpful staff, spacious and clean rooms and great bathroom amenities - we really appreciate your positive comments and hope the rest of your travels in New Zealand went well.

Kind regards.

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed three nights here recently. The service was friendly and efficient and our room nicely decorated with sufficient lights, plugs etc. It is an easy walk to the Octagon with its selection of restaurants and bars. Room service staff were also very friendly. The only complaint we had was that our bed was a little old and saggy - they had obviously tried to remedy this with a mattress topper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaccaTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Racca TK,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your great comments about our staff giving friendly and efficient service and that room service staff were especially very friendly, and that our location is very handy. We are sorry that you found the bed not to your liking - we mostly get great comments about our beds and bedding - in fact I even had a guest asking me yesterday what type they were and where could he buy one as it was the best bed he has ever slept in - but again apologies. Thanks again and we hope the rest of your travels went well.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This modern city centre hotel is centrally located, just off the Octagon, and within walking distance of most of the centre attractions, including a local repertory theatre who put on a very good show. The hotel appears to be very much geared towards the business traveller, but was equally suited to the holiday visitor who simply wanted a convenient bas to explore the city. The restaurant provided a good quality buffet breakfast and a reasonably varied dinner menu, although the decor veered somewhat towards the functional and was less 'welcoming'.
Whilst we were fortunate to have an Executive King Suite with Harbour view - and an extensive roof top balcony - this was rarely used during our three day stay, and the view across the commercial harbour whilst extensive was hardly stunning

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear John t,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your positive comments regarding our central location and restaurant meals for breakfast and dinner. It was great to hear that you took the time to enjoy some local theatre and enjoyed it - Dunedin is well known for its local theatre productions. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ and had safe travels home.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I stay here a few times each year for work and its great. The food is excellent both for dinner and breakfast, the staff are friendly and accommodating, parking is easy and the rooms are very comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Courtney B,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were absolutely delighted to read all of your fantastic comments, and thank you for your repeat return business - we very much look forward to hosting you next time you in Dunedin.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing