We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, welcoming hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable, welcoming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just returned from spending 2 nights in this property while combining work and chasing Newcastle United to Dunedin.
The hotel worked for both our double room being clean, comfortable and contemporary.
Conveniently located on Dunedin's main street its ideal for exploring this charming and historic city.
Staff were exceptionally helpful and gave useful advice with (as well as arranging) transport.
As a business location, it could probably benefit from having a stand-alone business centre rather than the two computers adjacent to the lobby.
Also, and this is a general issue I have with mid-range and premium hotels, if adjacent backpacker hostels can offer free Wi-Fi how come hotels charge for the same service?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Nigel B,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay wirh us. Thanks also for your great comments regarding our clean and comfy rooms - but best of that our staff were exceptionally helpful - all staff are delighted to read this. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you another time in the future.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    315
    103
    22
    14
See reviews for
116
279
37
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Lovely room on the 8th floor. Extremely comfortable king size bed, great pillow selection. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is situated on the Main Street, lots of restaurants in the area and less than 5 minutes walk to the casino.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, book an executive room on the 8th floor, but ask not to be put in room 812, the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear gillgs,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate all of your fantastic comments, and all staff will be especially happy that you mentioned staff to be friendly and helpful - you have made our day! Thanks again and we look forward to hopefully hosting you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have regularly stayed at the Scenic City Dunedin, it has always been my go to hotel for Dunedin partly because, as others have noted, of the friendly and helpful staff. On this business trip i was upgraded to the new top floor with a room for me and a work room. These are a real addition for business travellers to Dunedin and for larger family groups as well. The views are wonderful there was a lovely deck(would be great in summer), the non bedroom room is really well appointed for all sorts of purposes (it has a small kitchen, a non shower bathroom) and once again I could not fault the way this hotel operates. The staff really are outstanding.

Room Tip: If you are on business and need a work space to see people this is a very good option. If you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCalvert2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sarah2708,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Also thanks very much for your great comments concerning friendly and helpful staff who were outstanding, and well appointed rooms. Hopefully we can host you again some time soon.

Kind regards. Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed with the family and booked two doubles for the room.
Place was good also walking distance to shops and movie cinemas.
Hairdresser was also in part of the building.
Car parking was available which is handy.
Only negatives was I should have booked queen size rooms as the double beds was quite small.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Michelle L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and hopefully can host you again some day.

Kindest regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Two small disadvantages, otherwise very good hotel. Didn't think the full hot breakfast was very good value for money. Have had much better. And not very sound proof rooms - noise above and beside us kept us awake. But otherwise, staff were very friendly and helpful, room was very large, clean, warm, with extra comfy beds and good facilities. Great location - walking distance to Octagon, train station etc. Room service dinner was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyRiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear TeddyRiva,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your wonderful comments regarding the staff being friendly and helpful, room being very large and clean with extra comfy beds and good facilities - also that our location was great and room service dinner very nice - we really appreciate all of these comments and hope that one day we may host you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were fortunate to stay on the top floor with fabulous views across the city and towards the harbour. The team are fantastic with a special mention to housekeeping who take particular pride in their work. Had both dinner one night in the restaurant - the Blue Cod with Crayfish sauce was a stand out!! Also recommend breakfast - we dined off the a la carte menu - fantastic eggs! The buffet selection also looked comprehensive. Great location, cheap Valet Parking and I almost forgot ..... the down mattress toppers guaranteed a blissful nights sleep! We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Jac B,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate all of your great comments especially regarding the fantastic team with stand out mention of the housekeeping team - you have made their day! Also the kitchen team will be very happy with your lovely comments regarding food - so thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I found this hotel to be well located and the reception staff friendly. The rooms were very clean and the views were indeed scenic. I was here for five nights. The two downsides were that I could hear the guests above me walking about as the building is older, and he lifts running also woke me up. I just put in my earplugs and made do. The thing that perplexed me was the policies of the restaurant. I bought a very nice bottle of local wine to share with clients, however my new clients do not drink. I did not want to waste this $75 bottle of wine and wanted to drink it before my international flight in the morning. This hotel offers room service. Their restaurant is quite good. However, I did not feel like eating alone in my room again this evening. I called to ask if it was OK to bring my glass of wine with me to eat in the restaurant. They refused to let me do this. I pointed out that if I ordered room service and had the food delivered I could happily drink my own wine, so what is the difference to them? They could not grasp the concept, so I ended up eating elsewhere this evening. Too bad they were inflexible on this matter, since I will end up spending over $100 on a celebratory meal for my last night in New Zealand at an establishment that is more accommodating.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian Head C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Brian Head C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your wonderful comments regarding our great location, friendly reception staff and that your room was very clean. We are sorry that our policy of not allowing guests to BYO their own beverage was not to your satisfaction. Thank you again and we trust you had safe travels back home.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.4 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#13 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing