We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go beyond the foyer - it's much better upstairs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2005

The location is very convenient - a short block from the Octagon, rooms are large with excellent views, and the room layout and furnishings couldn't be better. That is the plus side. I would certainly stay there again. On the downside, the decor of the foyer is cold, unfriendly, and lacks comfort. It looks what it is - a refurbished office building from the era of concrete and chrome. Fewer hard surfaces and more carpet and curtains might help. And do the Scenic Circle Group use this as a training hotel for their staff? Most were young, keen and eager to please - but unfortunately the first one we encountered at the door needed to repeat the lesson on "good manners to paying customers".

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cleophas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2005

While I was enjoying a nice slumber in the admittedly comfortable king bed, I was rudely awakened at around 1:30 AM. Incredibly, the overhead reading light on the other side of the bed was leaking water quite heavily. It was raining for most of the day and apprarently this new hotel had already developed water leaks on the roof! I complained to the front desk and since this was one of the few hotels which was not full during my New Zealand travels, I packed up and moved next door where I managed to get back to sleep two hours later. The next day the staff was checking me out without mentioning anything about my experience until I complained about it. Only then did they apologize and offer a free breakfast. The apology was qualified by statements that it was not their fault (I suppose I'm to blame for the shoddy construction of this new hotel) and that the room rate could not be changed since it was "prenegotiated" (huh?). Needless to say I did not feel that a free breakfast offered any compensation for my worst hotel experience ever. To be fair, I generally agree with the other reviewer, so if you cannot find anyplace else to stay, I would suggest avoiding the top (7th) floor and specifically room 715 and don't have any expectations for good service.

9  Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2004

The hotel looks like it is an old office building, but it has been completely refurbished inside. The rooms are all new with fashionable decor. Nice big beds, with good views out the window.

Staff were helpful. Location is great - the octagon is down the road, with plenty of shopping and restaurants.

10  Thank Andrew046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mayke_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bikerpier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 街中なので窓からの景色などはそう大差はないかも。ただ、上の階の方が明るいような気がする。シングルルームはわからないがツインタイプはかなりおすすめ。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank araara9200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey M, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: バスタブのある部屋を希望する方が良い。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midgol70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey M, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#39 of 61 in Dunedin
397 reviews
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £85 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing