We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Restaurant Basic”
Reviewed 29 October 2009

Stayed for a short break after a meeting - room accomdation not too bad, need's a flat screen TV for this star rating thow. Bed not too bad but also could do with a matress topper pad to go over the split king bed as could feel the join - reasonably common now on many hotels.
Food - went for a meal in the inhouse restaurant and was very disapointed in the food for the price. Menu selection was very basic and not up to the quality of the hotel. Main meal of fish for over $30 consisted of some lettice with some smokr\ed fish thrown on top - all cold also. Not what I considered a main meal. description in menu did not match the meal. No red meat choice despite showing it on their inhouse dvd. Much better options for dining outside the hotel.
Also - paying for the carparking is a bit ripe when the hotel has a large underground carpark, would be a great guest extra to offer free parking as is offered in many places in NZ. I can understand it wher a hotel has to rent extra carparks but when it is in their own building?
Room service good.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smalltownlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    332
    107
    22
    14
See reviews for
125
295
39
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
cork, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

we stayed here for one night on a trip around new zealand's south island. the hotel is very centrally located about 2 minutes walk form the octagon right in the heart of the city centre. the rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. breakfast next morning was a buffet which had plenty of choice and suited every taste! the staff were extremely helpful (like all kiwi staff we encountered!) and i would have no hesitation inr ecommending this hotel to any traveller!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adomurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcreggan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Situated right in the middle of Dunedin. Good quality hotel, decent rooms and nice enough bar. Well located for local amenities. No issues what so ever with this hotel.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank warren_zevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India, Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

oh breathtaking... it was suppose to be summer but mind you if you are from the tropics... its cold... i had to wear a thermal.. so dont be misguided if travel agents tell you summer... the hotel is situated in the midst of the city. a city built in the mountains with beautiful roads and structures. the worlds best Cadbury factory is just behind the hotel. the rooms are spacious enough for a family of four... with two huge beds and enough space... massage chairs were just on our floor 4 so when tired could relax in one of them... just walking in the city during evening is beautiful... indian restaurants are close by...so indians food is no problem all through new zealand. the houses and the mountains just take your breath away.. if you have time you can do Dunedin only for its natural beauty.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel7723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

This is a good place to stay for central Dunedin, though there is little traffic so if you have a car you could stay further out and not be at a disadvantage. Dunedin is a student town so be aware of young revellers on Friday/Saturday nights, though compared to any large city this is nothing to be concerned about. The room was fine and the service was excellent. Be warned that ther eis limited parking, though they will ensure you have somewhere to park.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bananaman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2009

It has everything you want, is very good value and extremely centrally located, lots of shops, bars and Restaurants around. If we were to go to Dunedin again ( we would not rush back) we would definitely stay here. Oh and access to the internet was easily available and cheap.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LlewllynBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

This hotel is well located close to the city centre and restaurants. It is possible to walk to many places of interest museums, churches etc.
The building was once the Inland Revenue building and has been well renovated with large comfortable rooms and good bathrooms.The restaurant is light and airy and serves meals all day. Our breakfasts were very good.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porepunkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing