We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Park Suites
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I recently had 3 nights at the Pacific Park. The rooms were very nice. Check in was easy and the staff friendly. Our rate included breakfast which was shocking. When you say breakfast is included I think you should explain what is available. Our party of 6 were very disappointed in this aspect. Also the price of Wi Fi connection. $6.00/hour. Pricing this high I have not seen for sometime. How can a person connect and keep in touch with business at these prices ? If you want to attract business customers and International tourists you need to take a serious look at this accesss charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificparksuites, Manager at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Pacific Park Suites changed ownership and Management in December 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    101
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
85
98
16
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Point, null, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We Stayed at Pacific Park from the 7th to the 10th of October, we cannot fault the place nice friendly staff who we found went out of their way to help out, will be back again and will be recommending this hotel to our friends and to anyone who is going in for Surgery at Mercy Hospital as its 2 mins away, and the rest of the family can take advantage of its close proximity to the pool and town.
Thankyou

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_WIlson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights at $150 a night. We have stayed in A LOT of places and this is by far the worst! The room was nice and clean, but there was no "non-slip bath mat" so had to use a towel so we wouldn't slip over in the bath shower. The room included a continental breakfast in the price. We arrived about 10 minutes after the breakfast was closed down, thinking that it finished at 9:30am not 9am. We were greeted by a man holding a tray of about 20 muffins that looked delicious. When we asked him about breakfast he told us that everything had been packed away and there was absolutely no food he could give us. Feeling rather annoyed and hungry we walked back to our room and packed our things. At about 9:45am we receive a phone call from the same person asking us "when are you leaving?" We kindly replied 10am. We then left our room and went to put our bags in the car only to be greeted by a dead drowned rat! We calmly told the man about the rat who laughed and said "oh it must be the neighbours". I would never in a million years recommend this place to anyone. The hospitality is what lets this place down. Learn to take care of your guests and treat them how you yourself would like to be treated- with respect and kindness.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fandango_Films
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificparksuites, Manager at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Pacific Park Suites changed ownership and management in December 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just had 3 nights at Pacific Park.
It was warm, quiet and comfortable. The room was large (twin doubles), spotlessly clean and had good facilities. Pricing was quite reasonable esp considering the quality!
Pacific Park is out of the main street up the hill a bit close to Moana Pool in the town green belt.
So plenty of parking. Friendly hosts and a great view from Aggies, their restaurant.
The place was very quiet whilst I was there, which was great.
I'd highly recommend it.
Only slight grumble the Wifi costs are reasonably high at $6 for 1 hour. That needs to change in todays market

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastronomicusNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarke003, General Manager at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pacific Park. We are delighted you enjoyed the peace and quiet surroundings - especially this time of year when the native birds are in full voice!
We will address your comment about WiFi - especially as our WiFi is not "capped".
Look forward to your next visit
Kind regards
Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We just had time for one night here, but loved it and would most definitely stay again.
We stayed here because it was dog friendly and in the heart of town, and we were really pleased both aspects completely lived up to our expectations.

The apartment was spotlessly clean, very well-equipped, comfortable and relaxing. Lovely people running the place and a slice of peace in the city.

Thank you!

Room Tip: We had our dog with us, and so selected the one bedroom apartment so we had a little more space - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrippers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarke003, Manager at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for your wonder review. It is really nice for our staff to have positive comments for their hard work. I will certainly pass on your comments.
We all look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just around the corner (600m) from Mercy Hospital very easy drive for everyone. Great setting amongst big trees makes you feel like your in the country. The restaurant has a lovely view over the city yet its 4 minutes drive away. Lovely rooms recently redecorated with big beds(Superior room). Will be staying here again for sure. The staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarke003, Owner at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Pacific Park. The Staff and I are really delighted you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

This hotel has had some serious renovation recently and is one of the better places in the city. The rooms are spacious (biggest hotel room I have had for a while), airy and particuarly clean. Really comfy bed and enough facilities (Microwave and bench etc) to prepare a decent snack. I would happily have the tiling in my home.

While it is only a 5 minute drive fro the Octagon, it feels like it is in a park. The only noise is bird song. The view from the dining room over the city while you have breakfast was stunning.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarke003, Owner at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. On behalf of our hard working team at Pacific Park I am delighted you enjoyed your peaceful stay at our Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in our beautiful city of Dunedin.
Kind regards
Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#6 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Park Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Park Suites

Property: Pacific Park Suites
Address: 22-24 Wallace St | Maori Hill, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Park Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark Rating. Located in the heart of Maori Hill. Stylish rooms in a stunning and peaceful setting. Walk able distance to Mercy Hospital Moana Pool, Columba College, John McGlashan, St Hildas, and Otago Boys boarding schools (please enquire about our boarding house parent rate). Rooms are serviced daily. Pool towels available for Moana Pool. A total of 22 rooms comprising a mixture of stunning newly refurbished deluxe rooms standard rooms all ensuited with showers and bathtubs. We also have 2 x 1 bedroom apartments available with can accomodate up to 5 guests. Continential Breakfast available upon request for an additional charge. Close by are: - The City Centre - Mercy Hospital - Columba College - St Hildas Collegiate - Otago Boys High School and Hostel - John McGlashan College - Olveston Manor - Moana Pool - Roslyn Village - Balmacewen Golf Course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Park Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing