We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to Mercy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Park Suites
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Handy to Mercy”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed, unfortunately, on a very cold Autumn night. We couldn't get much heat into the room as it appeared to be controlled elsewhere. Consequently, it was a very unpleasant night. The room was spacious but with a Dunedin winter, would be nice to have an electric blanket. Bathroom and kitchen were very good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The 3 nights free Wifi is actually 1 night only. No hotel "compendium" in the room to let you know about restaurants etc nor instructions on accessing the Wifi. Frustrating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificparksuites, Manager at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you Kathryn for your review. I am sorry that your room was not sufficiently heated. There is a thermostat on the wall in each room so that guests can control the temperature themselves. We also endeavour to go into each room to check the temperature before guests arrive and we apologise if this was not done in this instance. The compendium is located next to the television in each room; this includes information on accessing the WiFi and also now includes information on our new room service and restaurant options. Many thanks, Lorinda, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    102
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
87
99
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Looks a little tired from the outside, but the rooms have obviously been recently revamped to a great standard. Great value for money, we paid a special $105/night. Big room, with two queen beds, small but workable kitchenette, lovely bathroom, enjoyed a nice hot bath. Noticed a bit of noise from outside the unit (we were upstairs, so people clomping up and down the stairs and along the walkway etc), but nothing that you wouldn't get in any other hotel. Friendly service. Quite area of town, on a quite road, easy to find, five minute drive down into city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenNichol2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificparksuites, Manager at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again. Pacific Park Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After reading some of the other reviews, I was a little reluctant to try the Pacific Park (I was a huge fan of LivingSpace, which is now closed), but their special rate of $105/night and free Wifi enticed me to try it (also its location right by the Moana Pool). However, my room was beautifully redone, with a lovely bathroom, and just enough amenities to make breakfast in the room. New beds, nice, high quality linens, and a great heating system on a cold night. The high ceilings, and big picture windows were also pleasant on a cloudy and gloomy evening/morning. A great value in Dunedin..I'll definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have lovely cathedral ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclist704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificparksuites, Manager at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again. Pacific Park Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I recently had 3 nights at the Pacific Park. The rooms were very nice. Check in was easy and the staff friendly. Our rate included breakfast which was shocking. When you say breakfast is included I think you should explain what is available. Our party of 6 were very disappointed in this aspect. Also the price of Wi Fi connection. $6.00/hour. Pricing this high I have not seen for sometime. How can a person connect and keep in touch with business at these prices ? If you want to attract business customers and International tourists you need to take a serious look at this accesss charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificparksuites, Manager at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Pacific Park Suites changed ownership and Management in December 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Point, null, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We Stayed at Pacific Park from the 7th to the 10th of October, we cannot fault the place nice friendly staff who we found went out of their way to help out, will be back again and will be recommending this hotel to our friends and to anyone who is going in for Surgery at Mercy Hospital as its 2 mins away, and the rest of the family can take advantage of its close proximity to the pool and town.
Thankyou

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_WIlson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights at $150 a night. We have stayed in A LOT of places and this is by far the worst! The room was nice and clean, but there was no "non-slip bath mat" so had to use a towel so we wouldn't slip over in the bath shower. The room included a continental breakfast in the price. We arrived about 10 minutes after the breakfast was closed down, thinking that it finished at 9:30am not 9am. We were greeted by a man holding a tray of about 20 muffins that looked delicious. When we asked him about breakfast he told us that everything had been packed away and there was absolutely no food he could give us. Feeling rather annoyed and hungry we walked back to our room and packed our things. At about 9:45am we receive a phone call from the same person asking us "when are you leaving?" We kindly replied 10am. We then left our room and went to put our bags in the car only to be greeted by a dead drowned rat! We calmly told the man about the rat who laughed and said "oh it must be the neighbours". I would never in a million years recommend this place to anyone. The hospitality is what lets this place down. Learn to take care of your guests and treat them how you yourself would like to be treated- with respect and kindness.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fandango_Films
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificparksuites, Manager at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Pacific Park Suites changed ownership and management in December 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just had 3 nights at Pacific Park.
It was warm, quiet and comfortable. The room was large (twin doubles), spotlessly clean and had good facilities. Pricing was quite reasonable esp considering the quality!
Pacific Park is out of the main street up the hill a bit close to Moana Pool in the town green belt.
So plenty of parking. Friendly hosts and a great view from Aggies, their restaurant.
The place was very quiet whilst I was there, which was great.
I'd highly recommend it.
Only slight grumble the Wifi costs are reasonably high at $6 for 1 hour. That needs to change in todays market

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastronomicusNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarke003, General Manager at Pacific Park Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pacific Park. We are delighted you enjoyed the peace and quiet surroundings - especially this time of year when the native birds are in full voice!
We will address your comment about WiFi - especially as our WiFi is not "capped".
Look forward to your next visit
Kind regards
Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
744 reviews
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Park Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Park Suites

Property: Pacific Park Suites
Address: 22-24 Wallace Street | Maori Hill, Dunedin, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Park Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Qualmark Rating. Located in the heart of Maori Hill. Stylish rooms in a stunning and peaceful setting. Walk able distance to Mercy Hospital Moana Pool, Columba College, John McGlashan, St Hildas, and Otago Boys boarding schools (please enquire about our boarding house parent rate). Rooms are serviced daily. Pool towels available for Moana Pool. A total of 22 rooms comprising a mixture of stunning newly refurbished deluxe rooms standard rooms all ensuited with showers and bathtubs. We also have 2 x 1 bedroom apartments available with can accomodate up to 5 guests. Continential Breakfast available upon request for an additional charge. Close by are: - The City Centre - Mercy Hospital - Columba College - St Hildas Collegiate - Otago Boys High School and Hostel - John McGlashan College - Olveston Manor - Moana Pool - Roslyn Village - Balmacewen Golf Course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Park Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing