We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 21:00
Review Highlights
Truly terrific tour - highly recommend! A++

My husband and I booked the standard peninsula encounter. Our guide, Chris, was extremely... read more

Reviewed 20 June 2023
Tourist647607
Highly Recommended Outfit

Very impressed with these guys from start to finish. On time pick-up, great briefing & commentary... read more

Reviewed 6 May 2023
Andy F
,
Devizes, United Kingdom
Read all 971 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
971 results
Traveller rating
872
84
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
872
84
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions fur seals albatross center otago peninsula penguins coming monarch cruise boat trip saw seals guide land minibus conservation binoculars fitness bird commentary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 971 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2019

We had a great time on the boat tour, at the albatross blind, and hike down to the penguin beach. Loved seeing the albatross, penguins, seals, and birds on the cliffs and along the way. Albatross were our target bird, but watching the penguins on that beautiful beach was very special.
The guides, especially Warren, were very informative and helpful.
The only negative was that it's an eight hour tour with no real meal break. The Albatross Center serves food, but there was no time to eat there. Be sure to bring along a lunch or plenty of snacks.

Date of experience: February 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank barbd117
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2019

A well-organised operation that has been in business a long time (I used them for a similar trip almost 20 years ago). Professionally run with good, knowledgeable guides.

We did the Encounters Tour + Royal Albatross Centre Tour, about 6-7 hours long departing mid-afternoon. It is worth paying the extra to get into the Albatross Centre hide for a close-up view of the nesting birds and a good briefing on the research and management of the albatrosses.

Sharing the beach with the Hooker's Sea Lions and Yellow-eyed Penguins is a wonderful experience, as well as seeing the NZ Fur Seal colony.

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone with the slightest interest in wildlife

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2019

The trip with Elm to see the wild and endangered seal, penguin, and seal lions was an amazing experience! Close access to the wildlife in a very scenic coastal setting. Highly recommended for those that enjoy natural settings.

Date of experience: February 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2019

Our tour with Elm Wildlife Tours was the one of the best experiences we had during our trip to New Zealand. The wildlife we saw, the insightful information we received from our guides, and their passion for the animals and the Otago Peninsula made this experience unique. We can only recommend their tours.to anybody interested in experiencing the nature and wildlife in this part of the world.

Date of experience: February 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2019

My wife and I went on a tour with Elm Wildlife on the Otago Peninsula in February 2019. From the ride out to the albatross sanctuary to the end of the afternoon when we were dropped off the entire tour was great. Our guide was knowledgeable, funny, polite and a complete pleasure. As we drove around he would constantly point out different shore birds, plant and animal life, etc. We saw yellow eyed penguins "up close and personal", as well as sea lions, fur seals, and albatross. A great day!!

Date of experience: February 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Halibuthunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews