We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 21:00
Review Highlights
Highly Recommended Outfit

Very impressed with these guys from start to finish. On time pick-up, great briefing & commentary... read more

Reviewed 6 May 2023
Andy F
,
Devizes, United Kingdom
The best ! Highly recommended.

We made a reservation at Elm Wildlife tours well in advance. We were picked up at our campground in... read more

Reviewed 16 April 2023
traveladdict3500
,
Hasselt, Belgium
Read all 971 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
971 results
Traveller rating
872
84
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
872
84
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions fur seals albatross center otago peninsula penguins coming monarch cruise boat trip saw seals guide land minibus conservation binoculars fitness bird commentary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 971 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2023

Very impressed with these guys from start to finish. On time pick-up, great briefing & commentary as we roamed around the Otago Peninsular for a whole day. They showed us loads of birdlife, fur seals, sealions, blue penguins and the now-threatened yellow-eyed penguins in their small sanctuary. Then dropped us back at our hotel. Very happy, and would highly recommend this outfit.

Date of experience: May 2023
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2023

We made a reservation at Elm Wildlife tours well in advance. We were picked up at our campground in a minivan. Our group was only small and was accompanied by a driver and a guide. We went to the Albatross center and saw several albatros in flight and on their nests. We also saw baby albatrosses. After that we went to a beach to see Yellow Eyed Penguins. We were there at the exact time when they came out of the water. It was perfect ! We watched them from an observation hut. After that we drove to another place nearby where we could see a colony of seals who also had baby seals. We payed extra to get a ride by a jeep up a steep hill from the beach with the penguins back to the minivan. I can recommend that because the walk up the hill is very exhausting. The guide was wonderfull : he spoke in a loud voice and had very interesting information.

Date of experience: February 2023
Thank traveladdict3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2022 via mobile

Not quite sure how this gets rave reviews. Unless your are an avid bird voucher, this is a very expensive 7 hour excursion. Money and time can be invested better.

We travel many places with out kids, hiking several kilometers is NOT and issue for us. However, the content of this tour is NOT for children. Unless your children are avis bird watchers.

The tour starts with a drive to a public beach and you may see a sea lion or two. Again you can access the beach on your own so no real value add. On the way to this beach you pass a body of water where you can view via binoculars some local birds.

Not very captivating unless you are an avid bird watcher.

Then you visit the albatross center, again you can visit this yourself. No value add.

You then go to a penguin rehab center for a few minutes where you have to be dead silent and you see one or two penguins.

Finally you are taken to a private nature reserve and again via binoculars hope to see penguins coming out of water. We barely saw two from such a long distance.

Kids simply don't have anything to do on this tour. Even adults would find it too long for any benefit especially when considering the cost.

We did see a few seals at the nature reserve which was very nice. But again, for 7 hours with two kids and what was given, we would certainly NOT recommend it.

Other than the private nature reserve, everything can be seen on your own.

Date of experience: December 2022
Thank 390hilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2022

We took this tour several years ago and in spite of really bad weather we thoroughly enjoyed it. This time we understood that the company had changed hands, but the tour was better than ever. The tour had been lengthened with new areas added. Our guide for the land portion of the tour was excellent. He was not only congenial but he was extremely well-prepared. We saw seals, sea lions, porpoises, penguins and all manner of sea and land birds.
Don’t come to Dunedin without taking this tour!

Date of experience: November 2022
Thank AnnZ857
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2022 via mobile

Tour by small minibus ca 10 people. The driver gave an almost constant comentary on the outward bound legs. It was both informative and entertaining
He covered both aspects of the wildlife we were seeing and about to see and the vegitation.
The bus was pausped frequently to allow us to take in the views, be those vistas or animals.

Finally, his local knowledge allowed us to observe the Otago Peninnsula big three: seal, sealion and yellow eyed penguin. Also saw Blue Penguins in nesting boxes.

It was a long afternoon, returning at 9pm, but well worth it. This trip does need a degree of fitness and mobility to get the most out of it: walking in sand dunes and up steep unpaved tracks.

I would recommend including either the Boat trip or the Albatross centre in your package.

Date of experience: November 2022
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews