We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #21 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

This hotel is in a great location - close the the central downtown and Cadbury. Parking lot was tight - we got the last spot.

The room was definitely dated, but the hotel was undergoing renovations, so maybe it will be updated. The carpet and bedding were old, one small plug-in space heater, the bathroom was the worst. Toilet needed 2 flushes and still did not take everything. the bathroom just needed to be stripped down and re-done. It was all bad. The price was right and location central.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The Thirteenth Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Owner at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear The Thirteenth Traveler

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciated your comments.

Yes, we have been undergoing the hotel renovation for the past 2 years. The new lift had been installed, new hotel units being built (Kitchen Units and Penthouse), both reception and restaurant were newly renovated, and the bathrooms were upgraded. However, we have only finished two thirds of the bathrooms so far and I believe the one you had stayed would be one of the original ones. As we can only do 3 rooms at a time, we are aiming to finish all of them by early next year.

If you have the chance to come back to stay with us again, please let us know in advance and we will certainly allocate you to one of the rooms with the new bathrooms (all bathrooms may be done by then) I am sure you will be pleased by the new ones. We have also newly opened the Nandos Restaurant at the hotel site, which means you will be able to have Nandos as the room service as well throughout the day!

Kind regards
Management of The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    84
    35
    10
    2
See reviews for
64
72
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed at The Victoria for one night while passing though Dunedin, on my way to Christchurch. The location is ideal and the hotel is definitely more than meets the eye from the outside. The front desk were lovely, really nice and attentive. The food and bar were really good as well. The rooms are so big and the bed had great linens, a down comforter, and a comfy mattress.

I recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We found this hotel easy to find and in the center of the city, close to the Cadbury Factory, Octagon and the Speights Brewery, all a must see when in Dunedin!
The Hotel is not the most modern but our LARGE room had everything we required and an up to date bathroom, very nice... Also a good amount of off street parking.
Staff were friendly and we had an easy online booking through Travelbug.
We paid just under one hundred dollars for one night and would stay again...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusaBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Good location including parking. Easy walk to all the main attractions/shops in Dunedin. Rooms basic and tired around the edges but essentially comfortable, clean and functional. Heaters kept us cosy. Did the job.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Smack bang in the middle of Dunedin, this hotel is great value for money. Spacious room, balcony doors for fresh air and a bathroom with bath tub made for a little bit of luxury at a great price. Service was always friendly and helpful, and the room was immaculately clean. WiFi was expensive though.

For people of size - nice big bathroom with a big tub, and a spacious room.

Room Tip: Level 3 was very quiet, and my room was lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FatHeffalump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

The bathroom had been done up pity, you couldn't swing a cat in there.Stayed on the second floor unfortunately there was the penthouse above and all you could here were people stomping around.So won't be back to this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank downunder66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here as a part of a study abroad group the first several days of our course which took place on the South Island. The hotel is very quiet overall, which is nice! My room was spacious with a comfortable bed, bathroom and great shower. The location is fantastic as it is in the heart of downtown Dunedin and close to shopping, restaurants and "The Octagon" which has lots of cafes, restaurants and the like. It was an easy walk to the University and we were close to the historic train station and the Cadbury Factory.

Our group had a continental breakfast each morning which was delicious and their coffee was very good as well. Overall it was an excellent stay. I especially appreciated Joe, the night manager who found out I liked the paper and went the extra mile to put one outside of the door to my room. Leo and another young gal were also superb. The chef and kitchen/bar staff were great too. Super nice staff!

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors will probably be warmer in the winter as they do not have any central heating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.6 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Property: The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. This makes our Hotel the perfect base for the family getaway, the shopping spree or the corporate traveler. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. We have rooms suitable for 1- 5 people, with a range of bedding configurations and amenities, all with newly renovated bathrooms, plus a free car park per room. There is also a guest laundry facility available. We are also highly experienced in group bookings and function catering for weddings, meetings and expos. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing