We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Nearby Hotels
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexis Motor Lodge(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amross Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel on York(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Dunedin(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwis Nest(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
114
107
49
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
107
49
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscadbury factorynew wingthe penthousenando's restaurantgreat locationcadbury worldhot nightrailway stationcoffee tablegood sizeclean roomswalking distancewould stay againcomfortable hotelroad noiseper nightcity centre
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The staff at The Victoria Hotel went out of their way to make our wedding day a special one! Their prices were very reasonable and the staff were always friendly and extremely helpful.

The function room was a large room that is closed off from the rest of the hotel. Lovely lighting and marble walls. There is a bar in the function room and new, clean bathrooms. So everythng you need is right there.

The menu was customised to our budget and the food was in abundance. The Chef at the hotel, Carl Hatfield, did an amazing job. The food was delicious, we had 4 different mains to choose from and not one of our guests had any complaints, lots of compliments.

I would recommend this Hotel to any bride that is looking for a beauitful, affordable reception venue where the quality of service and food is high.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Spacious, clean rooms in a great location. Decor is quite dated but still pleasent enough.

Exceptional service from Ian (staff member) who provided and installed a DVD player in our room for us at no charge. Unfoirtunatekly the cleraning staff were not as dedicated. They never return to clean our room ince we vacted it at 11:00am.

No airconditioning in rooms and if you opened the ranch slider or windows it was very noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB_Sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Sheppard

Thank you for staying with us.
I am sorry to hear that our housekeepers did not return to your room. Our cleaning procedure so far is not to disturb the guests if they are still in the room during the cleaning time, and the housekeepers will leave a tray of the replacement amenities outside of the room for the guests to pick up later. As you have brought up this incident, we will now review our procedure and enforce the housekeepers to go back to all the occupied/unattended rooms before they finish for the day.

The car park side of the rooms are away from the street and will be quieter, and we also have electric fans available from the reception. Please let us know at the time of your booking if you wish to be on the quieter side.

Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This hotel was in a good central location and easy to find. There were some mix ups with our rooms but the staff went out of their way to fix them as quickly as they could. They were very friendly and helpful. A bonus was free wi-fi (up to $6/hour or non-existent at other places we stayed). There was a very good well priced family restaurant on the ground floor (Nandos) and we could get breakfast downstairs too. There was no problem with noise from customers at the restaurant or bar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieAdventurer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The title says it all. There is no air conditioning so we opened the slider to get fresh air on a warm night. Unfortunately, there was a lot of road noise which wasn't conducive to a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Stephanie

I am sorry to know that you were disturbed by the street noise. Our car park side rooms will have much less noise from the street, and we also have electric fans available from the reception during the hot days. Please let us know during the booking if you wish to be on the quieter side of the hotel.
Thank you and looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Fantastic location close to shops and attractions. We stayed in the Penthouse (sounds grand, but in fact a two bedroom suite on top floor with good space and facilities, including a small kitchen, dining area and lounge. The hotel is still being renovated so specify a refurbished room. This is not a modern chrome and stainless steel modern hotel, but is more than comfortable and the staff are fantastic (Ben on the front desk deserves a special mention). The beds deserve a mention as giving a great night's sleep. Plenty of off-street parking and two dining options on-site. The wireless internet was not reliable while we stayed (4 nights) but the staff quickly found us a cable and gave us complimentary wired broadband for our stay. I am sure they will sort the wireless quickly - that is the sort of place it is.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room and also away from road side, which can be a little noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloom_New_Zealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Murdoch-James

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin.
We believe that service is the most important key part of the hospitality industry and we always try our best to deliver what we can offer. We love to see the happy faces from our guests!

i am sorry to hear that you had the trouble with the wireless connection. It has been funny that some people can receive the wireless smoothly while some others have the trouble of receiving it.
We will certainly soon try to find out the problem with the wireless and fix it in order to provide a better service to our guests.

Thank you again for choosing The Victoria Hotel and I am looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Management of The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews