We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We often stay at the Victoria when we are in Dunedin. It is good value for money and is close to town with off street parking. The complex is always very clean and tidy, and the staff are always amazing! If you aren't used to road noise, the one-way roading system could be a little disruptice, but none the less we would recommend anyone staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

Central to everything - Cadbury chocolate / Speights tour, octagon, shops, supermarkets, restaurants, pubs, university, bus depot and railway station all within 10min walk. Very friendly front desk staff. Bathroom is new and nice. Room is a little dated but very clean and lots and lots of space.... plenty of car parking... Breakfast was of very generous amount. Nandos attached to hotel has great atmosphere, good food and good service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weiying_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My title sums it all up. An easy walk to the Otago University campus and located in the heart of downtown. Easy access to routes out of town and to the peninsular. On-site retaurant which we did not have a chance to sample.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlairMichele-SanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The staff at The Victoria Hotel went out of their way to make our wedding day a special one! Their prices were very reasonable and the staff were always friendly and extremely helpful.

The function room was a large room that is closed off from the rest of the hotel. Lovely lighting and marble walls. There is a bar in the function room and new, clean bathrooms. So everythng you need is right there.

The menu was customised to our budget and the food was in abundance. The Chef at the hotel, Carl Hatfield, did an amazing job. The food was delicious, we had 4 different mains to choose from and not one of our guests had any complaints, lots of compliments.

I would recommend this Hotel to any bride that is looking for a beauitful, affordable reception venue where the quality of service and food is high.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Spacious, clean rooms in a great location. Decor is quite dated but still pleasent enough.

Exceptional service from Ian (staff member) who provided and installed a DVD player in our room for us at no charge. Unfoirtunatekly the cleraning staff were not as dedicated. They never return to clean our room ince we vacted it at 11:00am.

No airconditioning in rooms and if you opened the ranch slider or windows it was very noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB_Sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Sheppard

Thank you for staying with us.
I am sorry to hear that our housekeepers did not return to your room. Our cleaning procedure so far is not to disturb the guests if they are still in the room during the cleaning time, and the housekeepers will leave a tray of the replacement amenities outside of the room for the guests to pick up later. As you have brought up this incident, we will now review our procedure and enforce the housekeepers to go back to all the occupied/unattended rooms before they finish for the day.

The car park side of the rooms are away from the street and will be quieter, and we also have electric fans available from the reception. Please let us know at the time of your booking if you wish to be on the quieter side.

Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This hotel was in a good central location and easy to find. There were some mix ups with our rooms but the staff went out of their way to fix them as quickly as they could. They were very friendly and helpful. A bonus was free wi-fi (up to $6/hour or non-existent at other places we stayed). There was a very good well priced family restaurant on the ground floor (Nandos) and we could get breakfast downstairs too. There was no problem with noise from customers at the restaurant or bar.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieAdventurer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

The title says it all. There is no air conditioning so we opened the slider to get fresh air on a warm night. Unfortunately, there was a lot of road noise which wasn't conducive to a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Stephanie

I am sorry to know that you were disturbed by the street noise. Our car park side rooms will have much less noise from the street, and we also have electric fans available from the reception during the hot days. Please let us know during the booking if you wish to be on the quieter side of the hotel.
Thank you and looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#40 of 61 in Dunedin
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.6 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £62 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing