We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stay here one night when we had to travel to Dunedin earlier than expected due to the severe weather warnings.

We got a good last minute rate on Expedia. Check in was quick and easy. The room was a standard room with a queen and single bed. The room was a little dated, but was clean and spacious. The bed was great and allowed for a good nights sleep. The bathroom was clean with a shower over the bath arrangement.

We had the continental breakfast the next morning and costs $18.00 p/p. Whilst it was okay I probably wouldn't have breakfast there again.

Car parking is complementary, but again you have to be in quick because they go rather quickly.

The hotel is centrally located and the shops, restaurant and supermarkets are only a short walk.

Overall how stay was okay and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

Had a rushed trip to Dunedin so stayed in a different place each night. This one was one of the best. Big clean room, built over a Nandos, free parking, close to shopping centre, city centre and hospital. Even got to chat to some lovely cleaners in the lifts and get some local knowledge! Nice and quiet - thought we may have been able to hear the helicopters landing at the hospital but nothing!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had doors that opened up facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_and_Trev0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Nice and close to hospital and I could leave my car there without having to worry about finding parking. Warm & clean rooms on a stormy weekend
Wifi not good in rooms and had to be connected by cable (just not used to this nowadays)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmy12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Booked through airnz in the "newly built" 2 bedroom penthouse. Not at all what was advertised. One ok bedroom and one cupboard with a bed in it. Not even room for a bedside table! Lights didn't work, mould on the doors. Staff were nice but really disappointed with the room and even when I told the staff they just said sorry, no discount nothing. Also room only had stair access which was no good for my mum how had a bad knee but nothing in the booking notes about that. If you want cheap and cheerful stear clear. If you want cheap and poor quality, make a booking now !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4youngever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Dear 4youngever

Our Penthouse was completed in 2011 while the hotel itself has the history of more than 25 years. The Penthouse is located on the very top of the hotel, which is the only one room on the 5th floor with great privacy and view. Unfortunately the lift only goes up to the 4th floor and if the guests need any help of the luggages, we will be glad to help. As for the disabled guests, we do have the disabled units on our second floor with disabled access and bathrooms.
I apologise that the light was not working and the door was mouldy. Our maintenance had immediately changed the light tube after we found the problem and we had also instructed the housekeepers to clean up the mouldy area with more care in the future.
Thank you very much for pointing out those issues and we will certainly continue to improve on both of our hotel facilities and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Appearance is a little dated. Hotel close to Octagon (city centre), although you have to walk through a little dodgy area to get there. Across the street from Cadbury Factory! Hmm chocolate. Friendly staff and a decent price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSassafrassquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights on a good deal over Easter. Large comfortable, clean room. Nicely decorated. Staff friendly & professional. Free internet in room. Laundry area spotless. Centrally located to Octagon, supermarkets and local attractions. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed with my sister in room 108 on the 12 Feb 2013.
Great water pressure, large spacey room.
Room had thick dust (several weeks worth) on top of the wall attached headboard and top of tv which caused me to have asthma attack during the night.
Complaint made to general manager on check out but know apology or reply given from him.
We also found recycled paper used in the information folder in our room, this contained information (name, date, room number and costs) on previous guests and wage details on two workers from The Victoria.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simpsond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Simpsond

Thank you for staying with The Victoria Hotel Dunedin and I am sorry to heard that the dust from the room had caused you the trouble for the night. As you mentioned that you stayed with us in the early Feb this year, we were finishing the last few rooms of our bathroom renovation during that period and that would be the caused of the extra dust in the room. However, it was totally our fault that the housekeepers did not clean up the dust on those two spots before your check in. I will definitely review this with our housekeeping department.

As for the recycled papers used in the information folder, I believe it would be the careless mistake made by our staff who print those copies, and I will immediately replace those papers with new ones. Thank you for informing us and I am looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#35 of 61 in Dunedin
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
644 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £63 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing