We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean and friendly.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room and bathroom were clean and a decent size.
Location is excellent, walking distance to Octagon and next to Cadbury factory.
Road noise and loud people leaving pubs on the St Andrew St side is a bit loud on a SAT night (and I'm a heavy sleeper) but you get that with a City hotel and is a trade-off for the convenience of central city location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side opposite St Andrew St if you are there on a FRI or SAT night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTheKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Andrew
I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.
The Friday and Saturday night street noisy is unavoidable in a city centre location, but we do have rooms on the car park side which are away from the street noise. Please do not hesitate to let us know your preference when you are making the booking with us and we will try to allocate you to the quieter side.
Thank you again for choosing The Victoria Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    84
    35
    10
    2
See reviews for
64
72
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Victoria near the Octagon in Dunedin, NZ in June 2013. The desk staff, mainly Ben, were great. We had some travel difficulties and he was extremely helpful. We had to to get a phone and Ben was right there helping us set it up.

The hotel wasn't very busy but the room was quiet. The room needed some updates but they are working on fixing the place up. The room was clean and the restroom had been updated.

It's in a decent location and the price was right. Again, Kudo's to Ben, he was the best!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

First stay in Dunedin so wanted a hotel close to shops, The Victoria could not nave been closer,
very clean room with every thing you need, good size, not to noisy, good value, and good to see door had a chain lock, I would stay again, can not fault it, well done,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Jan

Thank you very much for choosing us and we will all be looking forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Good points
- big room
- newly refurbished bathroom
- beside police station, count down, new world AND Cadbury factory
- 2 blocks from Wall street.. ( Shopping center )
- good value for money
- free wifi in the lounge area
- very accommodating staff.. ( special mention to Rachel and Ben)
- I appreciate the rubber mat for the bath tub

Not so good points
- a bit out dated
- can improve lights in the rooms
- TV is a bit small

Over all, I loved my stay! Will definitely stay again!=)

Room Tip: When booking always indicate that you want a bathtub and balcony if you want them... Asking a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aetramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Aetramos

Thank you very much for choosing The Victoria Hotel Dunedin and we definitely will continue to improve our facility and services, which has been the case for the past 3 years. For example, we have recently upgraded a few rooms with the king size beds. I am sure that you will see the differences on your next trip staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The hotel is a little bit run down and worn looking. The receptionist when we checked in was great, but the receptionist the next day was unhelpful, had no knowledge of the city and barley spoke English. We asked for directions to the settler’s museum and she didn’t know what or where it was, we asked if there was any information in the form of a brochure she said no, but we found it when we looked ourselves in the lobby, very strange to have someone who had been given no training in customer services to be left alone at the reception. No internet in rooms as advertised, it only works in the lobby. Although the bathrooms look nice the shower pressure is so low that it’s unusable. We stayed 3 nights and couldn’t wait to get home for a shower; it was more effective to wash in the sink, which is horrible. Apart from the central location and comfortable bed I don’t have much else that’s positive to say, would not go back. We told the receptionist upon leaving our complaints and the responce was- 'yeah everyone complains about those things?!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolAsneddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Carol

I am very sorry to hear about your trouble with the shower. In fact I had heard about this on your first or second day and had instructed the receptionist to swap a room with you when they had the chance to see or call you. Unfortunately it seems they had missed you. Otherwise you would be able to enjoy the good shower during your rest of the stays. There are only one or two rooms on the end of 4th floor having the weak shower pressure due to high floor. Our plumber has come up with some solutions recently and is going to try them out shortly.

As for the receptionist you had encountered during your check out, she was the part time receptionist on training and there was also a senior trainer with her. Unfortunately the senior trainer may just be away helping the restaurant at that time and therefore the service was not satisfactory. As we have been focusing on our service with a good team now, I am both disappointed and feeling sorry to hear about this service issue, and will definitely train the new staffs with more effort to make sure that the service level is up to our high standard.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing The Victoria Hotel Dunedin and we will continue to improve until all the guests are satisfied. I am looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

First impression was clean and tidy. Reception was clean and smart. Got out of lift and then saw old worn out hallway. Opened door and room was old and smelled of cigarette smoke. Room was nothing like picture on website. Bathroom was best part of stay. Could smell cigarette smoke coming into room from god knows where...
Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to view room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Dear Chris

I am sorry to hear that you had the smoke smell coming into your room. We are a non-smoking hotel and provide the smoking space outside of the rooms, but sometimes the guests, especially from overseas, still tries to smoke in the room and we try out best to stop this from happening. Please let us know if you have found any smoking smells and we would be more than happy to swap a room for you while asking the other guests not to smoke inside the building.
As for the rooms, we have already upgraded almost all of our bathrooms and planning to further refurbish our rooms in the near future.
Thank you again for staying with us and looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stay here one night when we had to travel to Dunedin earlier than expected due to the severe weather warnings.

We got a good last minute rate on Expedia. Check in was quick and easy. The room was a standard room with a queen and single bed. The room was a little dated, but was clean and spacious. The bed was great and allowed for a good nights sleep. The bathroom was clean with a shower over the bath arrangement.

We had the continental breakfast the next morning and costs $18.00 p/p. Whilst it was okay I probably wouldn't have breakfast there again.

Car parking is complementary, but again you have to be in quick because they go rather quickly.

The hotel is centrally located and the shops, restaurant and supermarkets are only a short walk.

Overall how stay was okay and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.6 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Property: The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. This makes our Hotel the perfect base for the family getaway, the shopping spree or the corporate traveler. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. We have rooms suitable for 1- 5 people, with a range of bedding configurations and amenities, all with newly renovated bathrooms, plus a free car park per room. There is also a guest laundry facility available. We are also highly experienced in group bookings and function catering for weddings, meetings and expos. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing