We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pretty good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst visiting our son who is at university. It is in a great location, close to octagon and walking distance to university, close to main street shops and supermarkets. Our room had been recently refurbished and was fine for our stay. Free parking if you have a vehicle, staff were friendly, not a luxury stay but fine for our needs. Can be a bit noisy if lots of people are coming and going, one night was this way the other was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear N51
It's great to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. As we are a centralised hotel in the town, we can get quite busy when there are big events happening in the town or tour groups coming in. However, if you can let us know that you prefer a quieter room during your booking, we will be more than happy to allocate you to a room which is as far away from the noise as possible. Thank you for choosing us and looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    85
    37
    10
    2
See reviews for
66
74
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of our Kiwiway Tour, we had one double room and one triple room for us. Front desk staff was very helpful, they help us store our luggage after we checkout, they told us what to do in Dunedin, where n how to go there, and nicely replace our lost-from-our-fridge apple cider with Speight's. Sleep was fine, no noise from outside room. Heater worked fine. Hot water, drinks, towels, iron, hairdryer was fine.
The hotel is very near to Cadbury Factory. From the hotel just turn right and then right again, the factory was just your opposite. Countdown supermarket is also very close to you, you can literally buy anything you need there. Nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titirangi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was my second stay here. The first was in a Deluxe Studio room which was spacious and very clean. This time I stayed in a Deluxe Kitchen Unit which was very roomy with 2 queen beds in it, perfect for my 20 year old daughter and me. The Victoria is an older style hotel on the corner of a busy road so there is road noise throughout the night. This time I was prepared with airline earplugs. The location is perfect: a 5 minute walk to Otago University, 2 supermarkets very close by, a minute or 2 to the shops and numerous cafes. It is a self rated 3 star hotel so don't expect upmarket decor but in terms of convenience, spacious rooms, service and location, it is excellent value and out of the 5 different places I've stayed at in Dunedin in the past year, it is my preferred accommodation.

Room Tip: The Kitchen Suite is right on the corner so some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiV55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Vicki
Thank you for staying with us and I am glad to hear that you liked our hotel and service.
In regards to the street noise, we have half of the rooms on the car park side, which are away from the street and normally are much quieter. Please let us know at the time of your booking and we will try to allocate you to the quieter side of the hotel.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. Room and bathroom were clean and a decent size.
Location is excellent, walking distance to Octagon and next to Cadbury factory.
Road noise and loud people leaving pubs on the St Andrew St side is a bit loud on a SAT night (and I'm a heavy sleeper) but you get that with a City hotel and is a trade-off for the convenience of central city location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side opposite St Andrew St if you are there on a FRI or SAT night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTheKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Andrew
I am glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us.
The Friday and Saturday night street noisy is unavoidable in a city centre location, but we do have rooms on the car park side which are away from the street noise. Please do not hesitate to let us know your preference when you are making the booking with us and we will try to allocate you to the quieter side.
Thank you again for choosing The Victoria Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Victoria near the Octagon in Dunedin, NZ in June 2013. The desk staff, mainly Ben, were great. We had some travel difficulties and he was extremely helpful. We had to to get a phone and Ben was right there helping us set it up.

The hotel wasn't very busy but the room was quiet. The room needed some updates but they are working on fixing the place up. The room was clean and the restroom had been updated.

It's in a decent location and the price was right. Again, Kudo's to Ben, he was the best!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

First stay in Dunedin so wanted a hotel close to shops, The Victoria could not nave been closer,
very clean room with every thing you need, good size, not to noisy, good value, and good to see door had a chain lock, I would stay again, can not fault it, well done,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Jan

Thank you very much for choosing us and we will all be looking forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Good points
- big room
- newly refurbished bathroom
- beside police station, count down, new world AND Cadbury factory
- 2 blocks from Wall street.. ( Shopping center )
- good value for money
- free wifi in the lounge area
- very accommodating staff.. ( special mention to Rachel and Ben)
- I appreciate the rubber mat for the bath tub

Not so good points
- a bit out dated
- can improve lights in the rooms
- TV is a bit small

Over all, I loved my stay! Will definitely stay again!=)

Room Tip: When booking always indicate that you want a bathtub and balcony if you want them... Asking a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aetramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Aetramos

Thank you very much for choosing The Victoria Hotel Dunedin and we definitely will continue to improve our facility and services, which has been the case for the past 3 years. For example, we have recently upgraded a few rooms with the king size beds. I am sure that you will see the differences on your next trip staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#43 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Property: The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. This makes our Hotel the perfect base for the family getaway, the shopping spree or the corporate traveler. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. We have rooms suitable for 1- 5 people, with a range of bedding configurations and amenities, all with newly renovated bathrooms, plus a free car park per room. There is also a guest laundry facility available. We are also highly experienced in group bookings and function catering for weddings, meetings and expos. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing