We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for 1 night. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and warm, very little noise. Breakfast was enjoyable. Great location, just a short walk to city centre and other places of interest. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waralene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Waralene, thank you for sharing your experience with the online community, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in our level of service in all areas and are constantly looking to improve the experience for our guests.

We hope to see you at the Victoria again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    84
    35
    10
    2
See reviews for
64
72
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just had a 1 night stop here. The reception staff were friendly and informative. The room was basic and dated. Toilet seat was broken.
Restaurant closed at 8pm just before we arrived. There was nothing else nearby except for Nandos which closed at 9pm. We went for breakfast at 8.55am and were the only customers until 2 other people arrived 5 minutes later, and we were finally served half raw, half charcoal bacon and eggs, swimming in grease, at 9.40am, after we complained about why it was taking so long. Glad we were too late for the restaurant the previous evening.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabingates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Sabingates
I am very sorry to hear that you had the bad experience at our breakfast service. In order to find out what happened for that morning, would you please be able to provide me your booking name or room number and also the date of check in or check out? It was obviously that the chef on duty for that morning did not pay attention to the service and I will not allow this to happen again once I could identify the problem.

I believe that service is the most important part of the hospitality industry and therefore we have been continuously training and supervising our staffs to be informative, friendly and professional as you had experienced at our hotel. We also have been improving and upgrading the hotel facilities for the past three years and we are still committed to have further improvements for many areas of the hotel. I understand that we are far from perfect but we will always endeavour to provide the best service and accommodation experience to our guests.
Thank you again for staying with us.

Kind regards
Leo Pan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Booked into the Victoria and had a lovely stay on the first floor, no noise, a short walk to the Railway Station, museums and places of interest. Good food in the restaurant and happy pleasant staff. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HokiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Hoki
I am very happy to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we will definitely looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Leo Pan
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at The Victoria Hotel at the start of a trip to New Zealand. Staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is only 10 to 15 minutes walk from city centre. Found the room to be very comfortable and was of a high standard. The only minor complaint was not all of the breakfast menu was available every day. All in all would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stepheno177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Stephen

It's our pleasure to understand that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we will continue our best effort to maintain the high standard of the service and quality.
The breakfast menu should be available for all the listed items everyday but due to the shortage of some ingredients from the suppliers for that period, some items were not available. I apologize for the inconvenience that had caused and will make sure that we can secure the ingredients from different suppliers next time.
Thank you again for choosing The Victoria Hotel Dunedin and I am looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Leo Pan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

the room was excellent and refurbished the real let down was the polyurethane matress protector
placed on the bed made sleeping uncomfortable - I brought this to the attention of the reception staff otherwise it would have been a perfect stay

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear guest

I am very sorry to hear that the polyurethane (waterproof) mattress protector had effected your sleep quality at our hotel. The reason we used this type of the mattress protector is due to a number of accidents happened in the past that some guests had wet the beds and the none waterproof mattress protectors were not able to prevent the moistures to sink into the mattresses. As for the hygienic concerns, we had to replace those damaged mattresses with considerable costs.
We will review the quality of the current polyurethane mattress protectors and try our best to find a better solution to this issue.
Thank you again for choosing The Victoria Hotel Dunedin.
Kind regards
Leo Pan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

From the minute we arrived Ben at the desk was super helpful and informative. We are travelling as a family if 5 so are in room 501 ( the penthouse) which suits our needs perfectly, and is very reasonably priced. Nandos downstairs and for room service is a huge hit with our teens! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room 501 is perfect for a family of 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Nikki
I am very glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your great comment to Ben as well. This is very encouraging to both the management and staffs of the hotel, as the happy guests are the best rewards to us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Leo Pan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked this hotel because of it's location close to the railway station. There were five of us, a family of three and a couple. The main advantage to this hotel is the free car park. The hotel foyer was gloomy and dated, which turned out to be a theme repeated throughout the hotel. The receptionist was pleasant and welcoming, which is more than can be said of the bedrooms. As with the foyer and all public areas they were decorated and furnished in dowdy dark brown and cream. For some reason all the bedroom doors opened outwards into the corridor so we often found ourselves opening the door against the door of the room opposite. What was that about? Neither of the two rooms had views, though that is hardly the fault of the hotel, although the metal ducting which went right across our window was a bit of an eyesore. We used the hotel bar in the evening, to calm nerves after someone drove into the rear of our hire car. We were the only people in there. Not surprising as it was cold and soulless. I can't say I would recommend this place to anyone, other than for its proximity to the station. To be honest I wouldn't bother returning to Dunedin. It could be renamed Dulledin, though the people we met were very friendly!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireNetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying with The Victoria Hotel Dunedin.
I feel sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay in Dunedin and found the city to be not as interesting as it should be. Actually Dunedin is an unique city in New Zealand which has many beautiful historical buildings from the old times as it was the first city in New Zealand and plenty of wildlife, such as the albatross and yellow eye penguins, to see on the peninsular nearby. It is different to Queenstown, which offers many exciting outdoor activities, or Auckland where you can enjoy the big city shopping. Dunedin is a wonderful place for you to explore and enjoy the history of New Zealand.
As for The Victoria Hotel, I understand that we are far from the best hotels in the world but we are trying our best to offer the best service and guest satisfaction to our guests. We have been upgrading and refurbishing many parts of the hotel in the past 3 years and are committed to further improvements. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards
Leo Pan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.6 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Property: The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. This makes our Hotel the perfect base for the family getaway, the shopping spree or the corporate traveler. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. We have rooms suitable for 1- 5 people, with a range of bedding configurations and amenities, all with newly renovated bathrooms, plus a free car park per room. There is also a guest laundry facility available. We are also highly experienced in group bookings and function catering for weddings, meetings and expos. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing