We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old smell but convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    91
    101
    39
    19
See reviews for
48
145
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in December.

The rooms are clean and a decent size

- No Air Con, however the window opens
- Bathroom a little small but does the job
- Breakfast was a little pricey but the restaurant was fine, nice and clean and food was good
- Street outside and pub nearby was a little noisy but got quite after 2300 or so
- Some rooms require you to climb stairs as well as using the elevator
- Bit of a walk to the main shopping area if you have elderly or kids but not a bad walk if you like to walk.
- Staff were OK
- Valet Parking $10 per night, pretty efficient and worked well, other Car Parks are 3 min walk away if you dont like valet but more expensive.

Nothing special but it was certainly fine and nothing to complain about. Comfortable, Clean and Safe.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road on a floor you don't have to take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andymitcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Park Regis Dunedin

I am very happy to hear that you found the hotel to be clean, the food was good and that your stay was comfortable. With regard to some of your comments, as the hotel is a historically listed building there are limitations to the changes we are permitted to make to the structure.
This includes the installation of double glazing and air conditioning - the lack of the latter is actually more common than not in Dunedin hotels.

If you do return to Dunedin in the future and choose to stay at Park Regis again, please be sure to state your preferences of room location when you book as we always do our very best to honour these, certainly for our valued returning guests.

Kind Regards,

Sally O’Connor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Chose this hotel because of good experiences at Park Regis Singapore. However Park Regis Dunedin did not live up to expectations. "Free" wifi at the lobby is only limited to 30mins or 50mb, which ever comes first. Additional wifi usage is very costly. Bathroom floor creaked when walked on, seems it is laid with a very thin material. Heater in the bathroom only churned out cold air. Plenty of street parking around the hotel though. Would not really recommend unless no better options available

Room Tip: Some rooms are not served directly by lifts, ask before accepting
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Park Regis Dunedin.

The hotel only recently became part of StayWell Hospitality Group and began operating as a Park Regis.

There will certainly be some differences between this property and our sister property in Singapore at this stage, however is some exciting refurbishment work planned over the next few months which includes an overhaul of our current guest WiFi situation.

Some floorboards may be slightly creaky, however the hotel is a heritage listed building dating back to 1862 and therefore unavoidable in some areas, many of our guests believe it adds to the charm! In room heaters are easily replaced and I do hope you contacted Reception when you found yours not to be working adequately as we would have happily done this for you straight away.

Thanks again,

Sally O’Connor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I read with interest the previous review re Park Regis Dunedin.. My wife and I stayed at the Hotel on the 18 and 19 November and it was still the Mercure then. We found the service excellent, rooms comfortable without being luxurious, staff extremely helpful and the food good. The bar, whilst it didn't run out of spirits, the service was a bit slow and the omelet I ordered for breakfast took for ever to arrive and certainly the fish and cips weren't served in paper, but on a plate, which I prefered. My lasting impression was a good 3 star hotel, which is all it claims to be, with the excellent staff doing the work of more than one person, in other words, they were understaffed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40nikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin, especially your kind comments about the service! Since your stay in November you will be happy to hear that all of the lovely staff from our Mercure days still work at the property and we have more employed here than ever in line with our higher occupancies. I do hope that you have the opportunity to return to stay with us and sample our new menu, we would certainly be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager, Park Regis Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#53 of 57 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wains Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wains Hotel Dunedin

Property: Wains Hotel Dunedin
Address: 310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wains Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage listed Wains Hotel Dunedin is located in the heart of Dunedin offering easy access to Dunedin's many attractions. The Octagon, Town Hall, Forsyth Barr Stadium are in walking distance. Otago University & Peninsula are also only a short drive away. Wains Dunedin offers 48 boutique-style rooms and 2 function rooms suitable for conferences, weddings and events. Facilities include broadband Internet access; secure offsite valet parking at NZD$ 15.00 per night and Relish Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wains Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing