We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 26 January 2014

While the bedding was clean the carpets were stained the sink has fine visible cracks in the porcelain and the list goes on.

It is in true need of a total restoration. Not in love with it at the moment. But could be something beautiful. Staff however were lovely.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank VitaBella10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin. It is nice to know that you felt welcomed by our staff and that you see the potential in our lovely old building. Soft refurbishments works are already underway and more are planned for this year. I do hope you return to visit soon and are perhaps even able to fall in love next time.

Kind Regards,
Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Close to city centre, a bit unique in its layout and between some busy streets(can be noisy). Rooms comfortable and well appointed although power circuit died during the night.
Breakfast was quite good and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilYass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin. I am so sorry about the power outage that you experienced during your stay, I do hope that we were able to assist you with this straight away. Please do contact us in advance next time you come to stay and we will allocate you the quietest room available.

Kind Regards,
Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was a little worried by other reviews about this hotel but it was a great deal - two nights (Thursday and Friday 10th and 11th Jan) for $95 per night in a room for one, and I thought I'd risk it. Well - this hotel was lovely from the receptionist when booking in, to the room itself and everything in between. A beautiful lobby, a bar overlooking Princes Street, a gorgeous enormous room, with enough space to house a family, never mind one customer and best of all - it was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Only a short walk to The Octagon too. I will always be using this hotel in future when stopping in Dunedin. Thanks Guys for a lovely stay in your hotel.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got one at the back, with no view but I only wanted quiet, which is exa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulip391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of Park Regis Dunedin. I am thrilled to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by your stay and will be back soon- maybe with your family to join you in the room this time! We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel the very last minute and did not regret. The hotel has great location, the room was big enough with everything you need for a smooth stay. Formerly a Mercure hotel, even though it is not operating under this brand anymore all was up to Mercure's standard. Worth to mention that the reception staff was friendly and nice. Great value for the money spent.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Mishataratysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin. It is correct that we used to operate as a Mercure until recently however very little has changed in these first few months- although exciting improvements are to come… 100% of the staff have remained and are now happily working at the hotel in its new incarnation. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and felt that your stay was great value.

Kind Regards,

Sally O’Connor
Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank skcorling
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pornthape T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in December.

The rooms are clean and a decent size

- No Air Con, however the window opens
- Bathroom a little small but does the job
- Breakfast was a little pricey but the restaurant was fine, nice and clean and food was good
- Street outside and pub nearby was a little noisy but got quite after 2300 or so
- Some rooms require you to climb stairs as well as using the elevator
- Bit of a walk to the main shopping area if you have elderly or kids but not a bad walk if you like to walk.
- Staff were OK
- Valet Parking $10 per night, pretty efficient and worked well, other Car Parks are 3 min walk away if you dont like valet but more expensive.

Nothing special but it was certainly fine and nothing to complain about. Comfortable, Clean and Safe.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road on a floor you don't have to take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andymitcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Park Regis Dunedin

I am very happy to hear that you found the hotel to be clean, the food was good and that your stay was comfortable. With regard to some of your comments, as the hotel is a historically listed building there are limitations to the changes we are permitted to make to the structure.
This includes the installation of double glazing and air conditioning - the lack of the latter is actually more common than not in Dunedin hotels.

If you do return to Dunedin in the future and choose to stay at Park Regis again, please be sure to state your preferences of room location when you book as we always do our very best to honour these, certainly for our valued returning guests.

Kind Regards,

Sally O’Connor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#36 of 61 in Dunedin
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#49 of 61 in Dunedin
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#24 of 61 in Dunedin
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wains Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wains Hotel Dunedin

Address: 310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £60 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wains Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage listed Wains Hotel Dunedin is located in the heart of Dunedin offering easy access to Dunedin's many attractions. The Octagon, Town Hall, Forsyth Barr Stadium are in walking distance. Otago University & Peninsula are also only a short drive away. Wains Dunedin offers 48 boutique-style rooms and 2 function rooms suitable for conferences, weddings and events. Facilities include broadband Internet access; secure offsite valet parking at NZD$ 15.00 per night and Relish Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wains Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing