We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accor No More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    92
    102
    39
    18
See reviews for
48
147
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aust
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

While the bedding was clean the carpets were stained the sink has fine visible cracks in the porcelain and the list goes on.

It is in true need of a total restoration. Not in love with it at the moment. But could be something beautiful. Staff however were lovely.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VitaBella10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin. It is nice to know that you felt welcomed by our staff and that you see the potential in our lovely old building. Soft refurbishments works are already underway and more are planned for this year. I do hope you return to visit soon and are perhaps even able to fall in love next time.

Kind Regards,
Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yass
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Close to city centre, a bit unique in its layout and between some busy streets(can be noisy). Rooms comfortable and well appointed although power circuit died during the night.
Breakfast was quite good and not too expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilYass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin. I am so sorry about the power outage that you experienced during your stay, I do hope that we were able to assist you with this straight away. Please do contact us in advance next time you come to stay and we will allocate you the quietest room available.

Kind Regards,
Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I was a little worried by other reviews about this hotel but it was a great deal - two nights (Thursday and Friday 10th and 11th Jan) for $95 per night in a room for one, and I thought I'd risk it. Well - this hotel was lovely from the receptionist when booking in, to the room itself and everything in between. A beautiful lobby, a bar overlooking Princes Street, a gorgeous enormous room, with enough space to house a family, never mind one customer and best of all - it was clean, quiet and very comfortable. Only a short walk to The Octagon too. I will always be using this hotel in future when stopping in Dunedin. Thanks Guys for a lovely stay in your hotel.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got one at the back, with no view but I only wanted quiet, which is exa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulip391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Park Regis Dunedin. I am thrilled to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by your stay and will be back soon- maybe with your family to join you in the room this time! We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel the very last minute and did not regret. The hotel has great location, the room was big enough with everything you need for a smooth stay. Formerly a Mercure hotel, even though it is not operating under this brand anymore all was up to Mercure's standard. Worth to mention that the reception staff was friendly and nice. Great value for the money spent.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mishataratysha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin. It is correct that we used to operate as a Mercure until recently however very little has changed in these first few months- although exciting improvements are to come… 100% of the staff have remained and are now happily working at the hotel in its new incarnation. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and felt that your stay was great value.

Kind Regards,

Sally O’Connor
Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#57 of 61 in Dunedin
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#50 of 61 in Dunedin
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#40 of 61 in Dunedin
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wains Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wains Hotel Dunedin

Property: Wains Hotel Dunedin
Address: 310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wains Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage listed Wains Hotel Dunedin is located in the heart of Dunedin offering easy access to Dunedin's many attractions. The Octagon, Town Hall, Forsyth Barr Stadium are in walking distance. Otago University & Peninsula are also only a short drive away. Wains Dunedin offers 48 boutique-style rooms and 2 function rooms suitable for conferences, weddings and events. Facilities include broadband Internet access; secure offsite valet parking at NZD$ 15.00 per night and Relish Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wains Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing