We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Park Regis - nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Park Regis - nice surprise”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is just lovely. The room was so comfortable - the shower heaven! ie great pressure! We stayed for 3 nights and really didn't want to leave. The only thing was the pen didn't work :-) It is walking distance to the Octagon, Toitu Settlers Museum, Cadburys, Railway.... A great stay, great value, and thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We were happy on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWilson908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin.

I am glad to hear that each morning of your stay started on a positive note- a great shower can really set your mood for the day! Thank you so much for your kind comments about our rates, location and the comfort of our rooms. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a lovely time. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    90
    101
    39
    19
See reviews for
47
145
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at the Park Regis in Dunedin and thoroughly enjoyed it. I loved the old fashioned look of the building- especially in the reception area- as it made the hotel quaint and cosy. Our room was clean and of a good size, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. As we hadn't been to Dunedin before and naturally had a lot of questions the receptionist gave us some great dining tips and suggestions for things to do. And because the hotel is so close to the octagon nearly everything we did was in walking distance! Unfortunately it did rain most of the time we were in Dunedin, but I suppose you can't have it all!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heroby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin.

It is excellent to hear that you liked the boutique look and feel of the hotel- it is certainly a point of differentiation from others in the area. I am proud to hear that our staff were warm and welcoming and equipped you with all the knowledge you needed to enjoy all the wonders of Dunedin- many of which are indeed on our doorstep. Apologies for the weather- despite some perceptions it is often beautiful and sunny here, fingers crossed it will be when you come to stay again!

Kind Regards,

Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at Park Regis, and our expectations were based on previous experiences with the Mercure brand, and we were highly disappointed. The lifts are old fashioned and often got stuck at other floors. Wi-Fi was not available in the rooms at all - only in the lobby area which we never got to use. The room was adequate, but not very clean. The shower water leaked into the bathroom floor. The kettle was not in a clean state. The blanket was not sewn from all sides and the feathers from one of the layers kept coming out of the blanket, and the blanket was itchy leading to very poor sleep quality. We were supplied with oil heater in the room, something we wouldn't have expected seeing how cold Dunedin gets. The guest laundry service was appreciated. Overall, we were disappointed with the stay and this hotel is not a good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin.

I appreciate your detailed feedback and am naturally disappointed to hear that your stay appears to have been somewhat of a let down.

With regard to the lack of central heating in your room, this is actually quite standard for Dunedin hotels. We do however find that our portable heaters are very efficient- we even have econo heaters in the larger rooms- and if you do return in the colder months you will see that we pre-heat our guests rooms prior to arrival so that they are nice and cosy.

Regarding your other points, we are undergoing some exciting refurbishment works this year at the hotel, which will include the extension of wifi to all areas of the hotel. We have already begun a soft refurbishment by replacing all kettles, irons and ironing boards and upgrading the bed linen. I am sorry that you were disappointed this time and hope that you will be able to return soon for a whole new experience.

Kind Regards,

Sally O’Connor
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dunedin hotels

Auckland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight before starting the Otago Rail Trail.
At first confused as had been booked "Mercure Dunedin" but shuttle staff at the airport helped and advised that it had changed.

Funny old hotel, small winding staircases leading to odd small rooms. Helpful staff overall.

Rooms were basic but clean. Overly warm. Breakfast was okay. Overall when stay again if needed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCAUCKLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin. It is interesting to hear the hotel being described as “funny” and “odd”. I suppose it is quite quaint in some aspects but certainly not without its charm! It is wonderful to know that our friends at Super Shuttle were able to assist you and our staff were helpful too.

Thank you for comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I booked this hotel as a Mercure but when I got there it was a Park Regis.. The website I booked had no mention of this but not a problem

The hotel is in a good location, close to centre and restaurants and also the port which was my main reason to go to Dunedin so this was great
The rooms are basic but functional and clean
Internet in the room never worked during my stay so I always had to go to the reception/bar area for this. If you need constant internet you might need to consider a different hotel
Breakfast is very basic and I much rather go out to the nearest bakery/cafes and have it there

Access to some rooms can be tricky (elevator + a set of stairs..) so you might need some help depending on your luggage

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruicaricas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin. It is great that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as this was the main reason for your choice of accommodation provider. It is true that there is no direct lift access to some rooms however we always offer assistance with luggage on check in and depending on the amount of luggage our guests have we often insist upon it. It is a shame that you had issues with internet access and hope that we were able to assist you.

Thanks again for your constructive feedback.

Kind Regards,
Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you are looking for somewhere just to sleep - then this is good as it's in a quiet part of town, if you don't mind the strip club opposite! Was it value for money???? No I would say that it was expensive, but we were given a room for two nights which had the smallest security windows overlooking the roof and air conditioning units and kitchen chimneys. It was clean but the bathroom did not appear to have an extraction fan, so the steam filled up the bathroom so fast and the water ran down the walls. The staff were lovely though and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghMoiraRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin. I am glad that despite our relative proximity to a few bars, you appreciated that it is in a quiet area, I apologise for the lack of view from your room and that the extractor fan (there is one in every bathroom) did not seem to be functioning adequately.

I do hope that you pointed these issues out to our friendly staff as we would have been more than happy to move you to a more appropriate room. Your comfort is our top priority.

Kind Regards,
Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
406 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Location wise the Park Regis is a short walk from the main area of Dunedin. It is also easy to find when driving in and out of town, or to the Otago Peninsula.

Its a beautiful old building and the interiors have been done in a very simple manner to make it comfortable. The hotel has really good traveller amenities, that you often have to pay for or din't find in other hotels. Simple things like iron and ironing boards, or the laundry room with washing machines and dryers (instead of an expensive laundry service) were welcome additions.

The bathrooms were clean, the shower was very good. The beds were comfortable and warm. It was a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkRegisDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your review of Park Regis Dunedin. It is lovely of you to point out the specifics of what you enjoyed during your stay. It sounds like you were comfortable and happy here, which is all we aim for. Thanks again, I hope you are able to return soon.

Kind Regards,
Sally O’Connor, Hotel Manager Park Regis Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#53 of 57 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wains Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wains Hotel Dunedin

Property: Wains Hotel Dunedin
Address: 310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wains Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage listed Wains Hotel Dunedin is located in the heart of Dunedin offering easy access to Dunedin's many attractions. The Octagon, Town Hall, Forsyth Barr Stadium are in walking distance. Otago University & Peninsula are also only a short drive away. Wains Dunedin offers 48 boutique-style rooms and 2 function rooms suitable for conferences, weddings and events. Facilities include broadband Internet access; secure offsite valet parking at NZD$ 15.00 per night and Relish Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Wains Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing