We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay in Dunedin”
Review of Adrian Motel

Adrian Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adrian Motel
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We just stumbled on this motel. It is 10 minutes drive out of Dunedin City and thta si nice. It is St Kilda beach and near St Claire's beach where there are a number of restaurants. We really enjoyed this spot and Dunedin

Room Tip: Rooms even near the main road are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great motel in a lovely location close to St Kilda beach. Excellent for families with nice big, clean rooms and great facilities. Fantastic park over the road for the kids. The motel units are kept spotless and the owners are really welcoming and friendly. Would happily stay here again, with or without the kids!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

A modern, clean, well fitted out motel. Just beginning to show the first signs of age but clearly well looked after.

Terrible weather for a couple of days highlighted the unit was rather noisy with howling wind and the office bell / phone could easily be heard through the walls at anytime. Unit next door also very noisily cleaned starting at about 9am.

Helpful friendly owners ready with a smile.

Excellent location for the beach, access to the peninsula and simple enough to drive into town.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aceadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What a great motel. We'd travelled from Wellington and chose this motel as it was close to a sporting venue we needed to play at. From the moment we entered reception to the moment we left, fantastic service! Loved the atmosphere. The owners were welcoming and friendly - fabulous people! We had a downstairs unit, spotlessly clean. Nice small kitchenette. If I could made additions, I'd vouch for a little table so you could sit and rest your wine and chippies on when lounging in the chairs. Ha, lateral thinking and we took the chairs outside and had wine and chippies in the sun. And yes, managed to get sunburnt in February in Dunedin! Best part was, Mr managed to lose the room key, and the owners didn't blow a gasket. They gave us a spare key. Next day we went back to where we thought the key was (and sure enough it was there), so a happy ending. We'd go back there again! And definitely recommend it. Plus a 2 minute stroll to minigolf, then the beach and then to restaurants and cafes @ St Clair beach. Now, for a name change to something more catchy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FleurR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Well laid out motel. Comfortable room with all necessary facilities. Friendly owners. What more do you need when touring around this beautiful area?
I have no trouble in recommending Adrian Motel to anyone using this type of establishment.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We did not plan to stay at the Adrian when we arrived in Dunedin, but when our other reservations got mixed up due to me losing track of dates, we drove aimlessly down the road to find other accommodations and ran across it. It looked quite plain to me, and right on the road, so my first impression was to keep looking. However, it was late in the evening and my partner said to stop and check it out. He was so right. The owners were super nice and helpful and offered us a 2 bedroom for a very reasonable price, and allowed us to look at it before booking (room 12). She even looked up availability at other hotels nearby! The room was spacious and clean, and we decided to take it. It was a short drive to the esplanade where there were several restaurants to choose from for dinner. We had a wonderful time, and there was no traffic noise at all from the road. Will definitely stay there again if we're in the area!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and i both loved this place! We stayed here two nights and everyone were so friendly and helpful on places to go whilst in dunedin. The room we had was exactly what we needed. A comfy bed, great tv with sooo many channels, good bathroom and enough space. Location was not far from the heart of the town but far enough to be have some peace which we liked. We would def recommend :) thanks for a great few days!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renae1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.7 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
349 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
298 reviews
1.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#16 of 61 in Dunedin
376 reviews
2.7 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
517 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrian Motel

Address: 101 Queens Drive | St Kilda, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £82 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adrian Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Adrian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing