We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place”
Review of Kiwis Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiwis Nest
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Very good place to stay. Pleasent atmosphere and very freindly and helpfull staff. Al times clean. We stayed in a double room ensuite and sleept great. The best hotel stay on our 3 week trip to NZ and one af the cheapest. So its more than excellent to the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Reception /Housekeeper at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your very nice review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
May you continue to have favourable stays in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here two nights in one of their double ensuite rooms- much cheaper than any hotels nearby and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Their upstairs kitchen is a beautiful place to cook and eat dinner that catches the evening sun. Really enjoyed our time here, would definitely choose this backpackers over others in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8, which was great but not as sunny as some other rooms on the other side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This place is like a home away from home. This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street in Dunedin. Just a 5 minute walk from the city centre but still very quiet. The first night I spent in a dorm room with Irish, German and Chinese girls as there were no private rooms left. We were in bunk beds which were very comfortable. It was great getting to know different people and have a bit of a laugh. The next day I was able to get a private room with a double bed, tv, dressing table, wardrobe, sink and small fridge. The room was basic but very clean and comfortable. I also had a door out onto the garden which was wonderful. I was situated next to the "common room" where everyone gathered for breakfast. There are 4 or 5 kitchens dotted around this huge villa so I was able to take my pick. There was tea and coffee available and the kettle was always hot. The staff were laid back and very helpful and friendly. I usually stay at more "upmarket" places but found "Kiwis Nest" so lovely that I will definately be staying there on my next visit. I thoroughly recommend this place for anyone wishing clean and cheap accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thanks for your great comments, will pass on your appreciation of the gardens to my Mum, as she has spent many hours there, pruning roses , weeding and trying to set up a fresh herb garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I travel quite frequently for work, and find this place to be really convenient, with nice modern decor (but with the comfy home feeling going on as well). Kiwi's nest is always clean and the beds are really comfy. Showers are good and the staff are really friendly -nothing is ever a bother. Its an excellent alternative to the more expensive motels nearby .
Well done Kiwisnest and keep up the good work. I'll be back again (and again!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plonky67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We only stayed here for a night in a double en-suite room. The room was quite cramp but tidy and clean. There's a TV, a fridge, coffee/tea making facilities, a writing table and an old cupboard. The size of the basin is just enough for you to wash your hands. I have to fill the kettle from the tap at the lounge. The lounge area was spacious and bright. The new kitchen at the roof top looked cool. It's located close to the universiity, walking distance to CBD and the Dunedin Botanic Garden, convenient. For a place that you could sleep well, wash yourself, relax and feel quite comfortable and private at NZD70, I think it's a good value.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qriousity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

This backpacker hostel was situated within walking distance of the city centre,but has easy parking. The person who ran it was very helpful and friendly, bed clean and comfortable, showers and the new kichen were great. This rambling Victorian villa is lovely, but it does require some decorating and updating, eg peeling wallpaper and broken lampshades, very old bedding, kitchen drawers lined with old newspaper. I stayed on a Saturday night and was kept awake by revellers shouting in the street well into the early hours. Standard backpacker prices, but I have stayed in true luxury for the same money.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LancashireTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

I think that I stayed in the exact same room as the previous reviewer, judging from their pictures. I was pleasantly suprised by this backpackers. The comforters on the beds and the artwork on the walls are quite dated, but the sheets were clean, the bathroom was modern and spotless, and the room is equipped with extras that you might expect in a motel. In our room we had a tv, a microwave, a fridge, and tea and coffee making facilities.

The property has a unique, "character" way of heating the place--there is a log burner in the middle of the house that they light in the evenings. It provides hot water to the rooms and heats the place. I was VERY skeptical about this heater (hilariously named "Gentle Ben"). I like to have some control over the temperature of the room, but this is not possible at this place. But I must say that, for my wimpy self on a pretty cold spring night, I was completely warm enough. My showers did not run out of hot water, though they were not extremely long (10-15 minutes) and once I really had to crank the handle all the way over to get it hot enough.

When I called to book, I was told that the room rate was $10 more than their website claims. Hopefully they rectify that. I still think that NZ$70 for our ensuite room was good value.

Overall, was very happy with Kiwis Nest. The location was perfect--very close (1 block) to University of Otago, near all kinds of shops and restaurants, and about 10 minutes' walk to the Otagon. Very quiet in the evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mitre10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
5.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
644 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
751 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwis Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwis Nest

Address: 597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
#7 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#9 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £14 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwis Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwisnest is like a home away from home,This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street of Dunedin . Surrounded by all the best Motels , accross the road from Otago University and Museum, a 5 min, flat walk from main shopping area, cafes , bars and restaurants. The ambiance of Kiwis Nest is suitable for a variety of guests from families to couples & singles. Rooms to suit all budgets. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. Limited Off Street Parking available at $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kiwis Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwis Nest Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing