We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained, clean and a lovely host”
Review of Kiwis Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kiwis Nest
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Well maintained, clean and a lovely host”
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

We arrived, being recommended by the Hogwarts, and were pleasantly surprised with the place. Very well maintained and clean place with an always smiling host. The place is cosy and has a beautiful fireplace which was getting ready for the Christmas season :)

The host, Steve (if we remember correctly), was very warm and really helpful with all our queries. Recommended places to shop and for the better tour options.

We had taken an en-suite room which was well lit. The kitchens were good and clean. This place has a couple of parking spot and we were lucky to get the last one. The place is just a couple of minutes away from the city center, so our car was always parked!

Overall we had a good experience at the place and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BudLuBudKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Hi there, thank you so much for your good comments, will pass them onto Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    127
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
116
142
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

After arrived Dunedin at night without any reservation, we walked in to this hotel after checking out surrounding hotel. The room is small but cozy and comfy. The staff also lovely. The kitchen is outside of main building on the 2nd floor, small not so clean. Parking is available but limited.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thanks for your comments, sorry the kitchen was not so clean when you went to use it, we try to clean up to 3 times a day, but sometimes when its busy, messes can happen in between.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I've stayed twice in Kiwis Nest, first in Nov-Dec 2010 & the second in Aug-Sep 2011. This 25th Feb 2012, I'll be there for the 3rd time with my parents, aunt & uncle (I told them that they must visit New Zealand, cause it's beautiful & this time around their tagging along). The ambiance in Kiwis Nest is suitable for families, couples & singles. I've come across many backpackers/lodges that are only suitable for young bachelors/groups. It tends to be rather noisy & sometimes smelly. Kiwis Nest on the other hand caters well for all sorts of travelers. An added plus point is the cleanliness & quietness of this place which translates to good sleep. Lastly the staff are very friendly & helpful :) Will definitely stay here whenever i make a trip to Dunedin in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlzev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Hi There, thank you very much for your positive review, we try really hard to provide a good comfy place for people to stay and have done a lot of recent upgrading on this lovely property. Responses like this make all the hard work worthwhile.
Kind Regards
Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Very good place to stay. Pleasent atmosphere and very freindly and helpfull staff. Al times clean. We stayed in a double room ensuite and sleept great. The best hotel stay on our 3 week trip to NZ and one af the cheapest. So its more than excellent to the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Reception /Housekeeper at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your very nice review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
May you continue to have favourable stays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here two nights in one of their double ensuite rooms- much cheaper than any hotels nearby and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Their upstairs kitchen is a beautiful place to cook and eat dinner that catches the evening sun. Really enjoyed our time here, would definitely choose this backpackers over others in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8, which was great but not as sunny as some other rooms on the other side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This place is like a home away from home. This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street in Dunedin. Just a 5 minute walk from the city centre but still very quiet. The first night I spent in a dorm room with Irish, German and Chinese girls as there were no private rooms left. We were in bunk beds which were very comfortable. It was great getting to know different people and have a bit of a laugh. The next day I was able to get a private room with a double bed, tv, dressing table, wardrobe, sink and small fridge. The room was basic but very clean and comfortable. I also had a door out onto the garden which was wonderful. I was situated next to the "common room" where everyone gathered for breakfast. There are 4 or 5 kitchens dotted around this huge villa so I was able to take my pick. There was tea and coffee available and the kettle was always hot. The staff were laid back and very helpful and friendly. I usually stay at more "upmarket" places but found "Kiwis Nest" so lovely that I will definately be staying there on my next visit. I thoroughly recommend this place for anyone wishing clean and cheap accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thanks for your great comments, will pass on your appreciation of the gardens to my Mum, as she has spent many hours there, pruning roses , weeding and trying to set up a fresh herb garden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch NZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I travel quite frequently for work, and find this place to be really convenient, with nice modern decor (but with the comfy home feeling going on as well). Kiwi's nest is always clean and the beds are really comfy. Showers are good and the staff are really friendly -nothing is ever a bother. Its an excellent alternative to the more expensive motels nearby .
Well done Kiwisnest and keep up the good work. I'll be back again (and again!)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plonky67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#57 of 61 in Dunedin
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
1.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwis Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwis Nest

Property: Kiwis Nest
Address: 597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
#7 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#9 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwis Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwisnest is like a home away from home,This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street of Dunedin . Surrounded by all the best Motels , accross the road from Otago University and Museum, a 5 min, flat walk from main shopping area, cafes , bars and restaurants. The ambiance of Kiwis Nest is suitable for a variety of guests from families to couples & singles. Rooms to suit all budgets. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. Limited Off Street Parking available at $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiwis Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwis Nest Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing