We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Kiwis Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kiwis Nest
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Good! That's it! Or else I won't pay a 2nd visit :) Super friendly host and relaxing environment!
There's a lady and a man who's like staying at the hostel 24/7, ready to help you out for anything!

My first visit was during the winter. The weather was cold, but the hot water shower was awesome. We stayed in a family room with a small TV inside, closets, basin, small table, mirror, and a big heater. It was a big room even for 4 persons. Good garden view. Another great thing is they really keep the place warm 24/7 even during winter time. Thumbs up for that.

Not to miss the convenience shop which is just opposite the road for the ice cream!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Having squeezed Dunedin into my tight itinerary, I only stayed for 1 night at single room (shared facilities). Wish I stayed longer. It was warm and welcoming, with super friendly host who made me felt at home; very important when you're traveling solo. My room has big windows overlooking the main street; but not noisy at all. The furniture in my room looked rather old but very clean. Toilets & showers (there are several around the house) are all very clean. Very cozy living room and pantry inside the main house; and I did enjoy the kitchen on the connecting building (but not during the rain). They got everything you need (including PC and local phone calls) and the location is perfect, near to everything and it's all flat street here, no uphill. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dhani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Hi There , thanks for your review. We have been upgrading furniture tv's etc as time and money permits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We sort of stumbled into here because we had some mistake with our booking and we took really long with the check-in but the staff was so friendly and helped us a lot. She gave us a private room with more than 4 beds I think and we had 4 person. Well located with parking(not many though). The room was so clean and nearly perfect after some unpleasant experience previously.

Will I return? yes definitely. it is almost a home and thank you so much for the hospitality

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thanks for your review, we have changed our check in since you stayed with us, to make it easier for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

In May/June 2013 I've stayed twice at Kiwis Nest, once by myself and once with my husband & 2 teenage students. The booking process was handled efficiently. The front entrance way, with leadlight windows, homely carpet and warmth from the wood fire is welcoming. Steve was the perfect host who was well-informed with local knowledge of Dunedin. The bedrooms, kitchens and bathrooms had a high standard of cleanliness and tidiness. During one of my stays, Dunedin had a heavy snow fall however it was still cosy and warm inside Kiwis Nest. Kiwis Nest is within easy walking distance to cafes, shops, university and 'studentville.' Thus it's convenient location allowed our teenage students to walk to town and my husband and I to visit our sons who are studying at uni. I had easy walking access to libraries to advance my own post-graduate study. When I visit my sons again, I'm sure to return to Kiwi's Nest, a home away from home!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaB398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you, have passed your kind review onto everyone who helps here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Fantastic place to stay, eat and be close to all Dunedin's northern attractions. We moved on from the coast and found Kiwi an ideal transition place. The fitness center is an attraction and the rooms are very nice and well kept. A great meal and restful sleep as well. Can see why it is rated widely as good value.

Room Tip: Pretty much any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thanks for your kind comments, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Lovely place to stay, with University of Otago and city centre close by.
I got an en-suite room, which was clean and spacious, with a TV, boiler, instant coffee and tea and towels included. You can also get an ironing board if you ask. There are 2 kitchens free for all customers to use, but I didn't.
You get a free wifi allowance everyday, which is enough for emails, facebook etc.
The staff is lovely and very hepful. I would recommend this place !

Room Tip: Room 1 has its own door I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zebra2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Clean, friendly and great value. As it is very close to the University campus it is an ideal place for distance students who are visiting the University. Single rooms have a desk and it is only 5 min walk to the Library. There is a comfortable heating system with water heated radiators heated by a cosy central wood fire.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
747 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
638 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwis Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwis Nest

Address: 597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
#7 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#9 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £14 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwis Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwisnest is like a home away from home,This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street of Dunedin . Surrounded by all the best Motels , accross the road from Otago University and Museum, a 5 min, flat walk from main shopping area, cafes , bars and restaurants. The ambiance of Kiwis Nest is suitable for a variety of guests from families to couples & singles. Rooms to suit all budgets. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. Limited Off Street Parking available at $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kiwis Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwis Nest Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing