We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer.”
Review of Kiwis Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiwis Nest
Ranked #8 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is one of the best backpackers/hostels that I have stayed at in New Zealand. It is a cute old style house that feels really warm and homelike inside. As soon as we arrived we were checked in and shown around by a very friendly guy who works there (I forget his name.) He seemed to nearly always be around with a friendly greeting when we were going in and out of the hostel and this really added to the "homey" feeling. We stayed in an ensuite room with two twin beds and it was really nice and comfortable, including a refrigerator of our own, and the bathroom seemed really new and clean. I was surprised at how nice the facilities were for the amount that we had paid. I would definitely stay here again and I would have loved to have been able to stay longer and explore Dunedin more.

Room Tip: totally worth it to get a room with an ensuite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Reception /Housekeeper at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope all our guests enjoy their stay and welcome all feedback that will help us to continue to provide the best service possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting Dunedin, unfortunately we didn't book so couldn't get in a dorm room however we got a decent double at the back with its own kitchenette, TV and there is free WiFi so it suited us well. Good, clean bathroom and kitchen facilities. There was a few kitchens around the house so it wasn't too busy whilst cooking. Some free parking spaces and was about a 10 minutes walk to the CBD, so this was handy. Only downside was the curtains were very see-through so it was very bright in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Reception/Housekeeper at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at Kiwis Nest with a large school group for four nights.
Rooms were comfortable and clean and there was plenty of hot water for showers .
The staff were helpful from the outset - arranging rooms to suit our needs, answering queries and taking receipt of our large grocery order.
There was someone in attendance at all times and staff went out of their way to assist in anyway possible.
Thanks Steve, Nicki,Jacqui and Jeremy for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The self contained apartment next to the kitchen is excellent if you are cooking for a large group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review, have passed on your thanks to Steve, Jacqui and Nicky.
Also well done on gaining a Silver medal in your competition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very clean and friendly, lovely atmosphere. The only drawback was groups of people walking up the street talking very loudly, very late into the night, woke up several times from that. If you are a light sleeper, look for a room that faces away from the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwikindl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thanks for you review, we have been double glazing windows as time permits. I think your stay may have coincided with student re-orientation week and the " Paint Party" at the new Stadium. Sorry for the noisy night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed for one night in a self contained room with en suite. Lots of charm, could have stayed for a week in this comfortable little place, well located withan endless array of restaurants, pubs and cafes close by. Friendly staff and very clean at a reasonable price.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glenysperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Good! That's it! Or else I won't pay a 2nd visit :) Super friendly host and relaxing environment!
There's a lady and a man who's like staying at the hostel 24/7, ready to help you out for anything!

My first visit was during the winter. The weather was cold, but the hot water shower was awesome. We stayed in a family room with a small TV inside, closets, basin, small table, mirror, and a big heater. It was a big room even for 4 persons. Good garden view. Another great thing is they really keep the place warm 24/7 even during winter time. Thumbs up for that.

Not to miss the convenience shop which is just opposite the road for the ice cream!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Having squeezed Dunedin into my tight itinerary, I only stayed for 1 night at single room (shared facilities). Wish I stayed longer. It was warm and welcoming, with super friendly host who made me felt at home; very important when you're traveling solo. My room has big windows overlooking the main street; but not noisy at all. The furniture in my room looked rather old but very clean. Toilets & showers (there are several around the house) are all very clean. Very cozy living room and pantry inside the main house; and I did enjoy the kitchen on the connecting building (but not during the rain). They got everything you need (including PC and local phone calls) and the location is perfect, near to everything and it's all flat street here, no uphill. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dhani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Owner at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Hi There , thanks for your review. We have been upgrading furniture tv's etc as time and money permits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
5.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
654 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
761 reviews
0 mi away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwis Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwis Nest

Address: 597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
#9 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £27 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwis Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwisnest is like a home away from home,This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street of Dunedin . Surrounded by all the best Motels , accross the road from Otago University and Museum, a 5 min, flat walk from main shopping area, cafes , bars and restaurants. The ambiance of Kiwis Nest is suitable for a variety of guests from families to couples & singles. Rooms to suit all budgets. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. Limited Off Street Parking available at $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kiwis Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwis Nest Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing