We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and a warm winter option”
Review of Kiwis Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kiwis Nest
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff were super friendly and helpful - could not be faulted.
The showers are powered by the fire place which goes all day and provides heating to the building. There was also a heater in the room which took a while to heat up due to it's size (we could have done with a smaller room) but got there in the end so was the warm space we needed in chilly Dunedin. Good showers and very clean. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joleema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank You Joeleema for your feed back on kiwis nest it is a beautiful old building & the fire is certainly a great feature of kiwis nest especially in our cold winter days.
Safe travels
Regards Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Our high school stayed here while in town for the Brain Bee. We had great service from start to end.

Excellent email communication and friendly face to face contact made our group of 6 feel very welcome. The hostel was safe, clean and quiet at night. It was also really nice and warm (important in July!)

Being nice and central it was a great base to explore the town and nice and close to the university. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GBloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank You Gaye for your review what a great group of young adults you bought down to stay it was a pleasure hosting the group
Regards Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Kiwis Nest is a nice hostel in central dunedin. It is clean, has multiple kitchens, bathrooms and a lounge. It is managed by Wendy, who is one of the loveliest people I met. She takes great care of the Kiwis nest and all guests, and stands up to drunkards who try to disturb the peace of this place ;)

To summarize, the Kiwis Nest is the first place I'll go to when I'm in Dunedin again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank You Robin for the lovely feedback it is very much appreciated it was lovely to meet you & your dad we did have some good laughs
safe travels
Regards Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good location, just out of town. Parking is easy and free.
Reasonable size rooms which were clean - although dated.
Good, free wifi.
Nice fire, making the place cosy.
A little noisy at night (we were towards the front of the property).
Good kitchen facilities.
Very good value for money.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ailsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback It is always a pleasure to meet such lovely guests Safe travels regards Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What a great stay, what a great time!After the originally planned 3 day stay, I decided to stay on for further 3 weeks. Wendy is a great host. it felt like a home away from home, what ever requests i came up with wendy helped me out. Not only is Kiwis Nest a nice and tidy hostel, but it has a special atmosphere i havent recieved in many hostels in the last 10 months. everything is close by and town is only a few meters away which makes it easy for people without a car to get and see stuff by foot. The kithen facilities are clean and tidy, and in general the hostel is well set up. It is great to see how much thought, love and care Wendy puts into the hostel and her work there. I loved my stay at Kiwis Nest, it was sad leaving but luckily I only moved a couple of blocks away, so I regularily check on my hostel family with a visit and some lovely chats. Thank you very much for your time and patience, every chat and cheerful word when I was upset, sick or desperate on my job search.
Much love and hugs, it makes me sad knowing I wont be able to just pop in and say hi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franziskani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much Fran for your Review it was a real pleasure to have you come & stay with us
We are certainly going to miss you when you go home for good '
Take care & safe travels
Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I received a warm welcome from Wendy who continued to make me feel as though I was the most important guest throughout my stay and I know every guest felt that way.
Really nice homely atmosphere, warm (even throughout the snow), comfy bed, quiet, great kitchen facilities with plenty of cooking pots and pans, very clean, plus plenty of hot water.
Close to the city center and within walking distance to the hospital.
Very reasonably priced making it a fantastic stay in the lovely Dunedin.
Plenty to do close by.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbellison2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Barbellison2014,

we are really happy to have received your great review!
It is great to hear that people enjoy their time in Dunedin, especially at our place Kiwis Nest.
We try our best to make it as comfortable and nice, especially warm in Winter.

We wish you safe travels and a good time in New Zealand,
hoping to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Wendy and the Kiwis Nest team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent 3 weeks in the South Island and stayed here our last night. We basically just slept here but Kiwis' Nest had the most features of any of the BBHs we stayed. Our room had a TV, a small refrigerator (with several small milk containers), hot water pot, tea and coffee and the wifi was fast and free. We only used (and saw) a small kitchen right by our room but they mentioned at least two other kitchens. The manager was very helpful. I think there were only 3 dedicated parking spots but we got a parking place on the street right next to the house. They only had one washer and dryer but it was available when we needed it and I believe I saw a sign that they had clothes lines. There were a bunch of restaurants just a few blocks away. We ended up having a great dinner at the Reef Steak and Seafood.

It's a BBH, not a 4 star hotel, but we had a clean, quiet, comfortable room with some extra little touches other BBHs didn't have.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B, Manager at Kiwis Nest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear mdod,

Thank You very much for your kind words, it was very much appreciated.

We wish you safe travels and hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards
Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwis Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwis Nest

Address: 597 George St., Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
#7 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#9 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £13 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwis Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwisnest is like a home away from home,This huge villa is set in beautiful gardens on the main street of Dunedin . Surrounded by all the best Motels , accross the road from Otago University and Museum, a 5 min, flat walk from main shopping area, cafes , bars and restaurants. The ambiance of Kiwis Nest is suitable for a variety of guests from families to couples & singles. Rooms to suit all budgets. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WiFi. Limited Off Street Parking available at $5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kiwis Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwis Nest Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing