We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice in Dunedin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin
Ranked #55 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Good Choice in Dunedin”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We had a 2 week trip around New Zealand and unfortunately only budgeted 1 day for Dunedin as we were running out of time. We drove down from Queenstown and arrived really late, however the Grandview stayed open to let us in after 11pm. Our stay was nice and the owners of this hotel are what made the stay really special. They were extremely friendly even during a short visit. Hotel has a good breakfast spread in the morning and you feel as if you are being welcomed into their home. Beds were comfortable and the only thing that made us feel bad is that arriving late at night the steps made a lot of noise which could wake up the other guests. Bathrooms and rooms were kept very clean. I would stay here again if I ever get a chance to go back to Dunedin. It is less than 10 minutes by car from the city center.

Room Tip: We had the Art Deco room when we stayed. It is close to the shared bathroom which can be good or bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingGlobal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    22
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
4
54
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Very hospitable B&B five minutes walk from the center of town. The rooms are comfortable. It's family run, and it feels bit that you are part of them. I appreciated that Simon and Trish had their breakfast with the other guests. It feels homy.
There's a little guest room and a deck outside as well.
Good advice is given about restaurants and things to do. If I do visit Dunedin again, I will definitely go back to this B&B.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiederickPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The grandview is a lovely B&B within walking distance to may of Dunedins CBD attractions. Though a work in progress to full restoration, it is obvious the owners are devoted to the Grandview. Their passion for Dunedin is extremely clear (sometimes bordering on excessive and over zealous).
Unfortunately the selling point for our 'spa' room turned out to be a non functioning spa, leaving us with a oversized bathtub in the middle of the room. When questioning the 'broken' spa bath the following morning we were informed all spas had beem disabled due to noise complaints. However, they were still happy advertising the room with a giant bathtub as a spa room.
Being used to B&Bs offering a fully cooked breakfast, we were surprised to only be offered toast and ceral. Which leads to our final irk, breakfast was like being watched. Every inch of milk or juice a guest used was prompty followed up by one of the owners refilling the jug the instant it was placed it on the table. Our recommendation, leave the guests alone to enjoy their breakfast!

All in all we left feeling a little disappointed our spa room was just an open plan bathroom, but most of all as if we had just stayed in an unaccommodating relatives place, only, we paid for the privilege.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonclausen, Owner at Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Guest was informed only their Spa Bath jets were temporarily disconnected due to a noisy motor and is under repair. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused

We advertise a good quality continental breakfast at Grandview, we are unsure why this guest expected a cooked breakfast? And we make sure we are available during breakfast for travel ideas and to make sure there are plenty of breakfast supplies, we feel this is a quality service.

Regards
Simon Clausen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We spent two nights here during the later stages of the Rugby World Cup 2011.

Grandview made a great alternative to soulless motels and hotels. It is a little odd, as previous reviewers have said, to have the "en suite" inside the room - in the Mahogany Room the toilet and bath/shower are behind opaque glass screens. As the B&B has a comfortable guest lounge area for one of the couple to retire to, it was not difficult to arrange the more delicate operations in privacy!

Good location with an easy walk to the centre of Dunedin (slightly more strenuous, uphill, return), good breakfast, nice hosts, and even remarkably cheap bottles of beer available courtesy of an honesty box system in the guest lounge make for a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at Grandview B&B at the beginning of our trip to NZ. The owners, Simon, Sarah, and Trish Clausen, were wonderful hosts and very accommodating. Our room was very lovely and cozy, we also had an ensuite bathroom, which was great to have, and the breakfast room was great - a congenial atmosphere every morning, as we also met other people in for Rugby World Cup, and the upstairs lounge area is great to relax in. We were even picked us up from the airport as well as dropped us off at the Intercity bus terminal (where we left to go to Queenstown). If there were noise at all, it didn't bother us much, as we were too tired from our daily activities to notice. Free internet a bonus too, as I needed to use it to check mail from home a bit.

We also were not too far from the Otago Stadium, where we had Rugby World Cup match tickets. And in walking distance to pretty much everything - Simon and Trish even recommended some tours for us as well. They went above and beyond the call of duty in my opinion - something you don't always get if you stay in a hotel. Plus you get a local's view on the town too.

All in all, we had a great time - and would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in Dunedin - be it for a rugby match or just vacationing.

Room Tip: I would get an ensuite room - better to have a bathroom in your room, but that's my opinion. I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Lovely old house with fabulous views over Dunedin harbour. Our hosts Simon and Trish were warm and friendly, and had lots of helpful suggestions on the best places to visit in the time we were there. They went out of their way to be helpful - Simon even gave us a ride into the city a few times - very welcome as the street isn't called High Street for nothing! The room was comfortable, though as we stayed for 12 nights we noticed the lack of a wardrobe. Our room shared a bathroom with another room, and the only inconvenience was that we were occasionally disturbed by the sound of water running in the night. The bathroom was always kept very clean, and the rooms were cleaned every day, with chocolates left for us with the clean towels.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBercilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Tip is to stay upstairs if you can afford it - if anyone upstairs flushes the toilet during the night, the pipe runs down the wall of the downstairs room and is noisy. Also if anyone checks in late the night buzzer is right outside the downstairs room. Although this accommodation is close to the city it is up a very steep hill - not for the faint hearted! Bed comfy, breakfast was good, with plenty of choices and host is very hospitable.

I was dissapointed that the bottle of spa bubbles were not replaced after first night.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackayCheetah50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#34 of 61 in Dunedin
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.4 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
1.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
725 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin

Property: Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin
Address: 360 High Street | City Rise, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandview is one of Dunedin's oldest listed Mansions dating back to the 1850's. Open to guests for a lovely Bed and Breakfast accommodation with amazing views and the charm of Dunedin's heritage. Just a short stroll to the Dunedin City Centre, Cafes, Restaurants and Bars, this makes Grandview Bed and Breakfast a convenient location for guests we are just 500 mtrs up High St from the Dunedin Casino. Grandview has many features you wont find in your average B&B from our Sports Lounge with Satellite TV to watch sporting events from around the world, Dining Room, Kitchen & Laundry facilities, Sauna, Wi-Fi, Large Deck with BBQ & Stunning Views, Internet & Office facilities, are just of what makes Grandview unique. Grandview Bed and Breakfast is owned and operated by Steve & Irene. We look forward to meeting all guests whether the occasion is holiday, business or something special, we will always try our best to give you a homely and pleasurable experience. From Luxury Spa Suites to Queen rooms we strive to meet the needs of our valued guests. We endeavour to make your stay with us enjoyable and comfortable and hope that you will leave as friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing