We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic way to finish our holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Sanctuary Bed and Breakfast

City Sanctuary Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City Sanctuary Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #45 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic way to finish our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We have just left City Sanctuary after staying 3 wonderful nights. Jenny and Jake made us extremely comfortable and welcome in their lovely home. The home made croissants along with the rest of the breakfast were delicious. We would highly recommend anyone looking for a place to stay in Dunedin to put this at the top of the list.
Looking forward to our next stay :-)
-Dave and Carlie

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank logieboo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Jenny and Jake provided an exceptionally warm welcome at the City Sanctuary. I booked 4 nights over the New Year period. Previous reviews spurred me to stay here and my stay here lived up to all expectations. The room was lovely and clean as was the shower room. A comfortable bed helped me with my jet-lag and a generous and thoughtful continental breakfast in the kitchen/ living area overlooked the wonderful gardens. Jenny could not have done anything more to make her guests comfortable; I would certainly recommend her B&B, would certainly return if I visit Dunedin again and really wish her success here as she thoroughly deserves it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We only spent one night at this wonderful B & B during our recent visit to New Zealand and we really wished we could have stayed for longer. Jenny is a wonderful host, our room was stunning and the house itself is fabulous. I couldn't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winnieb1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

What a wonderful 'find' - so tranquil, quiet in the midst of a city , very bright clean and the garden a delight.

Yes, there are 'steps' to climb to get there - 32 I think but after each time they got less and less and the awaiting welcome and view well worth it.

We are well into our 60s and think that perhaps the B & B is not for people much older......unless you want to or get fit.

Thank you for a memorable stay Jenny. .

Room Tip: Try to get the en suite ront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pippa64Oamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

A brilliant place this one. Jenny was a wonderful hostess and made us feel at home with some great homebaked goods and friendly chatter. The rooms were large and spacious and the breakfast was fantastic particularly the home-made croissants! The City Sanctuary sits in the hills about 10 minutes from Dunedin centre (it's about 25 minutes back due to the steep hill - a taxi back recommended!).

A great place to stay - well done Jenny!

Room Tip: Most rooms are en suite and the ones that aren't have a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We so loved staying here. Jenny was such a lovely hostess and she made us so welcome and comfortable. Room was large and clean - we loved the whole house anfd felt like friends as much as guests. We would certainly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Any room here would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay at City Sanctuary. At the time it was one of the few places that actually had vacancies in Dunedin due to the rugby, but I am so glad it did.
Jenny is an excellent host and makes everyone welcome. The rooms are clean and spacious. My room was not ensuite, but I had a private bathroom just across the hallway, and thoughtfully a robe is provided (not something I usualy pack whilst travelling). The continental breakfasts were excellent and plentiful. Other reviews have mentioned that it is situated at the top of a hill with 2 sets of steps to the front door, so is not ideal for those with mobility issues.
Overall a delighful B and B, excellent value for money and I would love to return

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JelmeisterCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.5 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
8.3 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
6.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#5 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Sanctuary Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Sanctuary Bed and Breakfast

Property: City Sanctuary Bed and Breakfast
Address: 165 Maitland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our attractive restored villa, in an oasis of cottage gardens and large trees, yet only 1km to the city centre. Three spacious bedrooms each have: Queen bed with fleecy electric blanket, fresh flowers, oil heater, writing desk and TV. One en-suite and two private bathrooms. Internet access is available on guest computer in lounge. Relax in the guest living room, or unwind under the eaves of the verandah. Enjoy a delicious continental breakfast of fresh breads and croissants, fruits and cereals, tea and coffee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing