We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS TOPS”
Review of 97 Motel Moray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
97 Motel Moray
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Riverton, New Zealand
1 review
“ALWAYS TOPS”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have stayed at this amazing motel about 25 times, it is always clean, perfectly appointed, but most of all the staff are amazing, helpfull and pleasant, can't do enough for you. All my friends, guests, and relations have also stayed many times, it's all good. The other "best" about it is, the Location, if you want to dine out, go to the theatre, the movies, shopping, art gallery, or explore churches all there just within walking distance, what more could you want? So don't listen to any nagativity just book in advance to make sure you don't miss out. Highly recommended by Gay @ Riverton Bed and Breakfast, 4R's B&B

Room Tip: They are all good and quiet, which is surprising for it's location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivertonbnb4Rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    64
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
62
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights during a week and a half South Island holiday. Unfortunately we left things a little late in booking so our top three accommodations had already booked out. A friend who is a local suggested this place, letting us know that it's in a good location but she'd never been inside.

Location wise, definitely central, just over a block to the octogon. Parking was a bit confusing - all over the carpark are 'no parking' signs but the motel manager tells us this is just to prevent locals parking here for free.

We arrived around 10pm after a late flight, just as the manager was leaving for the day (she puts room keys in named envelopes after shutting). We found our room ok and it's just very standard. Had an old metal heater attached to the wall (like we used to have in school) but this was obviously old and doesn't work. They had a new heater that they'd turned on before our arrival, which was great as Dunedin in winter isn't the warmest of places! Nothing in the room struck me as new, but it's clean and tidy, and at least a good dumping ground for your stuff while you're out exploring Dunedin.

Our room was actually very large, and the room and ensuite had everything you'd expect. For quite a large motel, we only ever saw other guests once during our whole stay.

While ok, I probably wouldn't come back here unless my preferred motels were fully booked - but now I know to book well in advance!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi_the_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

But the young man at reception was willing to run down to the corner convenience store to get ice for us. I know this a very American obsession, but I like my whisky with it!

Just off the Octagon, this hotel is perfectly situated for CBD walking. It also has reasonable parking. Our room has a bedroom, a bathroom, and a living room with refrigerator and microwave. The guy who checked us in gave us many suggestions for things to do. We spent the afternoon driving out to Otago Peninsula--a good decision.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

As others have stated; it's a little dated and parking was a bit of a premium. It's not a 5 star Motel, but it doesn't pretend to be. For the price it's great. Location is very handy to the Octagon. Shower was good and bed very comfortable. Service was fine. We were just in town for the one night to catch the Aerosmith concert before heading to Queenstown, so we only really used it to sleep for a night and it was perfect for that.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The extended family booked 4 rooms here for a weekend in May 2013. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the hotel is located centrally but is very quiet. Many of Dunedin's hotels are tired and dated this was a very pleasant surprise! We booked my wife's parents into 404 which is the pick of the rooms with stunning views of St Pauls Cathedral. A definite pick if you are looking for a romantic getaway. Thank you for a wonderful stay we will return.

Room Tip: The best room is 404
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

It's cheap and it's central to the Octagon which makes it a great place to stay, particularly if you are stopping a night or two. The rooms are clean, warm and the staff hospitable. The buffet breakfast is basic. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

While this is an older complex it was comfortable & clean & being near the Octagon was close to main shopping area, restaurants, cafes & the Railway station.Free off street parking was an added bonus. Hosts were extremely friendly & helpful.Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayannMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#46 of 61 in Dunedin
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#53 of 61 in Dunedin
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 97 Motel Moray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 97 Motel Moray

Property: 97 Motel Moray
Address: 97 Moray Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 97 Motel Moray 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience.....Comfort.....Affordability. 97 Motel Moray is the closest motel complex to the Octagon, the centre of Dunedin City, surrounded by great city shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your 97 Motel Moray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
97 Motel Moray Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing