We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Central Dunedin”
Review of 97 Motel Moray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
97 Motel Moray
Ranked #34 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Central Dunedin”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our first time at this motel and we enjoyed it so have it on the list of places to use in future (having discarded the 3 we stayed in before in Dunedin). It is well placed and kept with a very comfortable bed. Being a former hostel the rooms are perhaps oddly shaped and ours was long and somewhat narrow but overall very spacious. An oddity for New Zealand is that there was no hot plate but with a microwave, toaster and jug it was easy to prepare simple meals.

Chatting with the managers was fun and they made sensible suggestions for things we could do.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    64
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
62
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here while we were attending a friend's wedding. The location is fantastic, just behind the octagon. The rooms were simple but clean. My only complaint would be the shower head didn't have a whole lot of pressure. There is paid breakfast available but we didn't try it as there were many great cafes close by. The rate is reasonable for the location and size of the rooms. The hosts are very friendly and offered lots of advice on places to visit. The also let us arrange to check in early which was very much appreciated. On Saturdays I would recommend going to the market near the old train station for great food and people watching. We had a room by the road which had a nice view but if you're a light sleeper I would recommend you ask for a room further to the back. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank onelife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We loved Dunedin, and this place formed part of our great impression. It is right in the centre of town. We had a one-bedroom, and the kids loved their loft-style room with own television (not that they used it - too much else to do!). Rooms spacious, clean and modern. Private balcony. Free parking. Very friendly and efficient staff - both reception and housekeeping couldn't have been more helpful. Many thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

A group of us booked our rooms at 97 Motel Moray after reading the reviews and could not have been happier. The well-placed mid-city location, the friendly helpful staff, the VERY clean well equipped rooms and the reasonable rates combined to make our stay a very pleasant experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bar-Gird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Very happy with our stay. Room was spacious and very clean with everything you could need. Location excellent. Free parking. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Could get continental breakfast for 5.50 if you wanted. Would recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lesleyhyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Yes i agree with some other traveller's it may look a bit tired but it was so clean, the people were very friendly. We had 3 separate rooms, 2 TV's and a beautiful bathroom what more do people want. We came back on Christmas Eve and they had left some christmas pies and a little note wishing us a lovely Christmas. I was very touched by the gesture. I would definitely stay there again. Thank you for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: We had a room in the Motel itself and not a separate unit, They are bigger than the units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I've heard so many for and against reviews on this place that I firmly believe it down to which room you stay in.

The one we had, was tired looking as I'd been prep ed for, however there are enough quirks to keep you interested.
Lovely atmosphere.
Very clean which certainly helps when the place is looking tired.
A little dusty in the Kitchen and bathroom Drawers.

Super comfy bed, clean unmarked sheets and duvet.
Really not a fan of this trend of duvets between two sheets business think all hotels should spend that extra and purchase a duvet cover, however as I say the duvet in this room was unstained and look freshly laundered.

The bath, well that just made up for everything - fantastic size and depth and sparkly clean :)

Really nice friendly approachable staff.
No problems with parking
No noise issues

Great location

Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: choose one with a good bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#46 of 61 in Dunedin
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 61 in Dunedin
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel on Carroll
Motel on Carroll
#53 of 61 in Dunedin
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 97 Motel Moray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 97 Motel Moray

Property: 97 Motel Moray
Address: 97 Moray Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 97 Motel Moray 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenience.....Comfort.....Affordability. 97 Motel Moray is the closest motel complex to the Octagon, the centre of Dunedin City, surrounded by great city shopping, restaurants, cafes and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 97 Motel Moray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
97 Motel Moray Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing