We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service right by the beach!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Esplanade Motel & Apartments
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service right by the beach!!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The cracking location aside (right on stunnng St Clair Beach!). The service from the family was excellent... from the moment I arrived I felt more like a friend coming to visit than a customer. They lived up every bit to my expectation of hearty Kiwi hospitality! Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikpayten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    23
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
41
41
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Never would I stay anywhere else in Dunedin. Right on the beach, restaurant next door.
Nice clean rooms and friendly staff. Great owners.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Stayed at the beach house and I must say - I will definitely be back - I loved the location - the views - the bed - I would buy this place if they would let me!!!! Will be back in July - Service was great - staff were very friendly and helpful - especially the owner (?) and the cleaning staff. Overall - it was great!! Highly recommend!

  • Liked — Everything - view and accomodations were spectactular!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank the5webbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2008

Booked into motel - staff member was pleasant but did not appear interested in talking to me. Walked around to room over uneven ground, past washing on line and to room which was located not overlooking the beach but the road. Room was clean but very ordinary. It was like a converted house with rooms coming off in every direction. Got told we could park the car in the garage which could fit the car but unable to get out (first in, best dressed for park). Decided there and then did not want to stay and went and stayed at other accommodation in city centre. Would suit backpacker.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bab08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2007

Called to confirm booking of a specific room and motel confirmed with confirmation email of the said room and rate. However, when checking in, found the room I confirmed was occupied because the occupiers were staying for longer period that the motel management decided not to honor my confirmed booking of that room. Provided me with a smaller room with same rate without any apology. Very arrogant. Cannot be trusted even with confirmed email.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank HoamChu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2007

We stayed in the Beach House as we were a group of 6. The owners were very nice and accomodating to our needs. They opened up the second half of the beach house so that we could spead out and have an additional shower and toilet at no additional cost! The views from the Beach House are spectacular. Beds are very comfy and all rooms were well-presented.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms, Excellent Location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AusTrvlQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

We made reservations before leaving Singapore for vacation in New Zealand. Several days after confirmation was received the Esplanade sent an email saying that they had booked us for the wrong month (confirmation has correct dates) and did not have a room for us. The arrival date was only serveral days after they sent email stating they would not honor our CONFIRMED reservation. In short they ruined our vacation since other logging was booked and we had to stay further from the area we wanted to stay.

  • Liked — Did not honor confirmed reservation so, nothing
  • Disliked — Owners will Bump confirmed reservations.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singapore22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
7.5 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
285 reviews
3.0 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#17 of 61 in Dunedin
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Clair
Hotel St Clair
#26 of 61 in Dunedin
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartments at St Clair
Apartments at St Clair
#28 of 61 in Dunedin
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Motel & Apartments

Property: Esplanade Motel & Apartments
Address: 14 Esplanade | Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Motel & Apartments Hotel Dunedin
Esplanade Motel And Apartments
Esplanade Hotel And Apartments
Esplanade Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing