We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of The Bay Cafe

The Bay Cafe
Ranked #30 of 349 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The food was great, we found the place by accident and returned again for another wonderful meal. It is worth the trip

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dominic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The cafe to get away from it all”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have been here often and it ticks all our boxes.It's especially good to be able to get a table overlooking the harbour on a nice day.Its always busy so sometimes can be hard to get a lunch time casual dinning in the weekends.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire214_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An unexpected fine dinner”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the B&B just beside this place and had no choice but this place to have dinner. It turned out to be an excellent choice as the food quality was absolutely high And the service was quite good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankGUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The cafe at Glenfalloch Garden was closed due to a function being held there but they advised us to return to MacAndrew Bay to the cafe there and it was excellent advice. The seafood chowder was actually better than I'd eaten the day before at Fleur's at Moeraki and only half the price. We all (5 adults and 1 child) ordered something different and there were no disappointments. The service was terrific - very prompt and friendly. The loo was spotless as was the whole place. This well kept secret will soon be out and folk will need to book as it is not a large cafe. They served the 6 yr old first which is a big plus. Should we ever be back in Dunedin, we'll be back here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosieterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Beautiful setting outstanding value!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Visited on Easter Sunday and were pleasantly surprised by no surcharge. Meal was a very generous size and just delicious. Service top notch, they were really busy but we didn't wait long at all.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay Cafe also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to The Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing