We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended motel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
858 George Street Motel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We highly recommend this motel, both for the quality of the accommodation and the helpfulness of the staff. We arrived on the evening of February 14th without having given any thought to how difficult it might be to find somewhere enjoyable to eat on Valentine’s Day. The manager very kindly phoned about a dozen restaurants before finding one that could fit us in for an early evening meal. It was also here that we decided to use the laundry facilities and the member of staff on duty come to show us how to work the machines, as she didn’t want us to damage any of our clothes. The accommodation was spacious, as it consisted of two rooms plus an en-suite bathroom. The rooms were very clean and well-equipped.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for 858 George Street Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

858 George Street was by far the best place we stayed through our 10 day trip around the South Island....which says a lot as we stayed at many good motels and even a 5 star luxury hotel. 858 George really is a great, comfortable and neat motel and seems to be fairly new, but done in a historic townhouse style.

The rooms was very comfortable, was well appointed and had a very comfortable bed (& the best sleep for the whole trip). The staff were very helpful, accommodating and friendly. Free parking and Wifi were great and all for a very reasonable price.

The location is good, not right in the centre of the city, but maybe 1.5km away which means either about 15-20 min easy walk, a short drive or the bus goes right along George Street at the front of the motel.

By way of feedback to the owners, I wasn't a big fan of the soap provided (seemed quite grislly and not at smooth as other soap bars), however it says a lot when this was the only thing I would change.

Overall, fantastic place to stay and highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

A very pleasant, old but new villa style experience. All facilities in very good condition, very clean, everything feels brand new. My unit didn't really have a kitchen, but in my case, I didn't need one or ask for one. All I needed was a cup of tea, which was provided – although filling up the jug from the bathroom basin was a bit weird. Perhaps a flask of water sitting out on the sideboard would be a good idea. Highly recommended. Close, but not too close to the campus. Some eating places nearby, but mostly convenience and takeaway. The Thai restaurant nearby within walking distance is average, and not really Thai. And watch out for drownings of Soy sauce. So if you want access to nice eating, you'll need a car. But as a short, nice, stay-over, within walking distance to the Campus, is excellent and recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrayFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

The motel looks quite new and our unit felt like a hotel room (which was good) but it lacked cooking facilities. Whilst there was a microwave and cutlery etc the food preparation had to be done by television and there was no kitchen sink (as in all other places we have stayed) so we had to wash up etc in the bathroom basin.
Otherwise, good facilities but we were kept awake by an adjacent university hall of residence and it's a good 30 minute walk from the town centre. Free off street parking right next to your unit is a bonus in a city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

On arrival the manager pointed out that my booking was actually for the previous night, whoops on my part. He had been concerned for our well-being when we didn't arrive and (I suspect) turned down bookings that night.
Having graciously overlooked my mistake he allocated us a bigger room only slightly dearer than my on-line booking. The room was attractive, spacious, spotless and well equipped. The advice given on key sightseeing spots was very helpful, adding to our enjoyment of Dunedin.
A tip - don't trust the weather when walking out to dinner - take a brolly, even in January

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gee-Dee-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Friendly helpful hosts who went out of their way to help. The accommodation was excellent and the room was serviced each day to an amazing standard. The location is good and close to the museum and an easy walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Well located and prompt reception staff were the highlights of this hotel. The beds were comfortable and it the rooms had some character which was nice. Basic kitchen facilities so don't plan to do anything other than re-heat a pre-prepared meal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
1.4 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.0 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 858 George Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 858 George Street Motel

Address: 858 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £59 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 858 George Street Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
858 George Street Hotel Dunedin
858 George Street Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing