We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy hotel as our unit was right on the street with cars, bus traffic going by throughout the day.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
858 George Street Motel
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very noisy hotel as our unit was right on the street with cars, bus traffic going by throughout the day.”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Avoid this hotel. The owners assigned us unit 13 right on the street. The temporary manager said we could not exchange rooms as we had ordered double spa bathrrom. He said windows were double glazed. From the spa bathroom all you could hear were cars and trucks going by, forget double glazing if you are not in an inside suite away from traffic you will get no sleep. We happened to be staying during orientation week for the univesity and while music was shut off at eleven there was a steady stream of taxis, cars dropping off loud partying students until two in the morning. Units 12 and 13 should not be rented out during this week and I am disappointed that hosts who were described as friendly and helpful would do this to tourists. This was the worst hotel experience we had in New Zealand and changed my perception of Kiwi hotel managers. Even if they had to go out of town for orientation week they would have known how bad the noise was from Unit 13.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    34
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
111
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Very good city motel. Hosts are incredibly helpful and lots of fun. We stayed in two different downstairs units both of which were very well kitted out. The bed in the second felt a bit old. The only thing about the rooms that is a bit difficult is that there isn't much room for clothes. We just didn't unpack. The laundry facilities are really useful and the location is fine as long as you don't mind a bit of a walk to the centre.
We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were very happy with this accommodation and one of the nicest places we stayed on our 20 day trip of the South Island. We stayed for 2 nights in an upstairs room. If you want something where you can cook better to pay a bit extra and have a downstairs 1 bedroom room - these looked great as well. Bonus was free use of laundry - a chance to get some washing done. Comfortable bed and spacious room. Motel is in an area where there appears to be a lot of student accommodation so nearby restaurants were cheap and the area had a great vibe. Beware if visiting the Otaga peninsula (and like us not used to windy roads) - this is very windy (both upper and lower roads) with very few (if any) safety barriers - it would be very easy to drive into the sea!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Well, what an beautiful motel. I have to say that this was by far the Best Accomodation we had on our 10days South Island trip and was reasonably priced. The bed was a beautiful sleepyhead bed and was soooo comfortable. We had an upstairs bedroom, which was very spacious with ensuite.(No lift, but stairs were not a problem for us).The room didn't have a kitchenette but there was a microwave oven and kettle available (loved the complimentary choc chip cookies, nice touch).The room was bright and very clean and well presented with good quality furniture & furnishings (5star). Although the room had lovely curtains which you didn't want to close during the day we did fell a little exposed to other rooms around us, so maybe nice foil curtains on the front windows might help. The hosts were very polite and friendly and advised us on good site seeing and restaurants.If we are ever back in Dunedin we will definitely want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms directly opposite main entrance good position as set well back from main road and had car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgesTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm desert
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

After a long drive from Te Anau and a not so interesting visit to the Larnach Castle and then a hair raising drive (definitely not worth it) to the Albatross refuse at the end of Otago Peninsula we landed at 858 George Street. The Managers/Owners? were as gracious and helpful in person as they were when we e-mailed them before our trip. They explained everything we wanted to know and even pointed out things to do in the area. The room (more like a suite) was large, new, well equipped kitchen with large refrigerator and within walking distance to downtown. Free laundry facilities and WiFi were a nice touch. We could have not asked for more. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtsleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We were very happy with this accomodation choice. We had a one bedroom downstairs unit which was very spacious with a well equipped kitchen, very comfy large bed, and lovely sitting / TV area. The unit was very clean and well equipped. The hosts Sally and Michael were very welcoming and helpful with advice on restaurants and attractions. The only small complaint I have is that the noise from the people in the unit above us moving about and going up and down the stairs was quite loud. It is only a pleasant 20 minute walk into the city centre, shops and restaurants, and is close to 24 hour convenient stores on George Street.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms may suffer noise from the room above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A warm and friendly greeting and a well presented room, lots of space and a balcony. Secure free internet and a chance to re-energise. Only 20 minutes walk into the city centre past student accommodation that was interesting! Enjoyed being walking distance to the sights of Dunedin: The Otago Museum, Olverston House and the Steepest Street. We do like a 'good' walk so some might prefer to drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosebudsAunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 858 George Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 858 George Street Motel

Property: 858 George Street Motel
Address: 858 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#4 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 858 George Street Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
858 George Street Hotel Dunedin
858 George Street Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing